We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dawson Motel

Certificate of Excellence
16 Dawson Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dawson Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Dawson Motel
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    20
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
43
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
new zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night and found the rooms and location where perfect as well as the service. Their is plenty to see and do in New Plymouth so will be back to stay. and explore the many attractions and good places to est

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hello, It was wonderful to read your review on The Dawson Motel. It definitely is an honour to be referred to as 'perfect'. There is certainly lots going on in New Plymouth lucky for us they are mostly close by! Thank you for a lovely review, we hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Barb and Lloyd More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great stay, very clean and modern. Just the right amount of input from the staff, there when you needed them. Very well situated, easy to find, short walk to town and the front. The only downside for us was that the bed was a little soft, we prefer a firmer base. However this is really looking for a problem, if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hi Neill, Thank you for sharing such wonderful thoughts about The Dawson Motel. We are glad to hear you found your stay to be enjoyable. Our staff members try to help in any way possible so we are glad this was appreciated. We are sorry the bed didn't quite suit your preferences its hard to find something to suit everyone... More 

Lennox Head, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the motel for 3 nights, it is new, clean and quiet. Quite spacious and our room had a seaview. It is well located in the town and a short walk to the main street. Just enough parking for each unit but if a guest takes up two parks, you're out in the street. My main problem was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lesley, Thank you for your review of The Dawson Motel. With being so close to the CBD we do only have one carpark per room, unfortunately although we do try to monitor how many cars guests have they do sometimes bring in extra, we are sorry that if you had to park out on the street. Thank you for... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second stay at The Dawson Motel and it won't be our last. It would have to be one of the cleanest places that we have stayed and the decor is amazing. Beds are really comfortable and the management are so helpful and friendly,as well as the staff. The motel is situated within walking distance to shops, restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us at The Dawson Motel. It is fantastic to hear such wonderful things. We definitely do have a lot of guests who love the beds! We would really love for you to return, thank you for your kind words. Kind Regards, Barb and Lloyd More 

Rotorua District, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Have stayed here twice and both times great. 1st time, the people looking after the motel were awesome, owners also great & staff was friendly. Stayed in different units each time but both were spotless & had everything we needed.Air con a plus.Close to town & Beach

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hi Maureen Thank you for your feedback on The Dawson Motel, its great to hear that our guests enjoy their stays every time! Yes our guest sure love the aircon in these summer months! We hope to have you return another time soon! Kind Regards, Barb and Lloyd More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

This motel has everything we wanted. It was brilliantly clean and had good quality facilities. It is in a good location and the owners were friendly and helpful. We would definitely choose this again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Dawson Motel we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our cleaners definitely pride themselves on keeping all of our rooms the best they can be ,so thank you for that feedback!! We hope to have you again. Kind Regards, Barb and Lloyd. More 

Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We stayed there for two nights. It was great. Everything clean, charming owners and spacious room. We borrow the motel bikes for a 2h ride on the beach side and it was really nice. Then I forgot a skirt and they send it to my next hotel on the south island! I really appreciated that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review on The Dawson Motel we love to hear our guests enjoyed their stay with us! The bikes certainly have been popular lately! We know there is nothing worse than leaving something behind so we try to do what we can to get it all back to you safely. We hope you enjoyed the rest... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Three year old purpose built motel in good location. Great room - comfortable bed and exceptionally powerful shower :) Modern Panasonic Viera TV. Bit of road noise from trucks goin g to the port. We stayed three nights and found motel handy to board walk and park. We don't like air con so had the windows open. Not a quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for a wonderful review on The Dawson Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a lot of feedback about the showers they certainly are a favourite! Unfortunately there is a bit of traffic noise, the double glazing on the windows does cut it out however. Come on in and see us if... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Not easy to find a motel that fairs excellent in almost all aspects. This one is. This was our first visit I to New Plumouth and we thourighly enjoyed our stay. Wifi was working all the time, signal strong, and was free. We borrowed the bikes for a free ride by the sea (access within less than 5 min walking).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your thoughts on The Dawson Motel we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your suggestion with the Laundry, that would be very useful for our guests however because the laundry is so close to the units we do need to put a restriction on the hours as no to disturb... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Had a great 4 day stay at the Dawson Motel in New Plymouth for my nieces wedding in January 2015. The motel is within walking distance to New Plymouth's central shopping and business district and also close to the amazing foreshore walk way. Barb and Lloyd were friendly and helpful, making us feel right at home. We stayed in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ross, Thank you for such a fantastic review on The Dawson Motel, we enjoyed having you with us! The One Bedroom units are definitely great for a longer stay .We like to make it feel like a home away from home! The bikes are a real favourite with our guests and its so lovely along the foreshore at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question