We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emerald Spa Resort

4.0 of 5 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Emerald Spa Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Emerald Spa Resort
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    45
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
45
120
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We flew in from Perth and searched for accommodation in Rotorua at the last minute.. Excellent location, facilities and very friendly and helpful staff, extremely happy. I highly recommend this motel if your looking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

We really appreciate your feedback, thank you for choosing to stay with us and your recommendation. More

Moraira
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Four friends spent 3 nights here in November. Everything was up to standard, it.was clean, warm and comfy and the owners are really nice. On the same road as many other motels. It is a good choice for Rororua and I liked it a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great getting reviews like yours as our "team" work hard to keep the standard high. Thank you More

Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our clean, comfortable room and gigantic spa, as well as the welcome package we got when we arrived. Just a short walk (or drive) from town, with staff that will help you book anything, this place is a great choice for Rotorua.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time and giving us a grand review. We are pleased to hear that Emerald Spa treated you well, we all work as a team and do our best to keep our guests happy. Thanks again More

Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a great idea to have a flat screen tv that is adjustable so it faces a huge round spa bath next to the bed! They've thought about it all here! Would have been top marks but the pillows were very hard sorry. Fab place to stay though :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, Awesome is Awesome. We are looking forward to seeing you all back in Rotorua again soon. More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked Emerald Spa because of recommendation from family and reviews i'd read online. I now completely understand why Emerald spa has such fantastic reviews. We arrived late, and rather tired; from first entering the driveway, the lighting is warm and comforting. Robyn was lovely and so easy to deal with. This place is perfect because of the small details;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

WOW, this is the type of review everyone loves to receive, thank you so much, can't wait to print out your message and show all the staff, and also hope lots and lots of people read it and take note. We really do try our best to make your stay special. More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently had two nights here. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The small kitchenette was adequate for a short stay. The bathroom was clean and supplied with plent of thick towels and bath gel and shampoo. The bed was very comfortable. The spa in the room was an enjoyable bonus. The staff were very kind and honest. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

We are really pleased with the positive feedback you have provided. This is of immense assistance to other potential guests when they are making accommodation choices. More

Kaneohe, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed 1 night, but had a very pleasant experience. The husband and wife who run the resort are very nice people. He even walked us up to our room and showed us the amenities. The room was clean and everything was well-kept. We really enjoyed the large spa tub since it was a cold night. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

All of the reviews we receive are really important to us and our business. Thank you for the positive response that you have provided and I hope we can host you again in the future. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment we drove in we felt this was a lovely place - and it just got better. The reception we received was lovely and we received a little basket of goodies along with fresh milk - very thoughtful. The room we had was lovely - clean, spacious and modern - it smelt beautiful - I know that's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Emerald Spa Motor Inn. More and more of our guests rely on comments such as yours before they make a reservation. This is especially important for our International guests who have not visit us before, and many of them are first time visitors to New Zealand. Your comments are fantastic and we... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Modern well appointed motel run by very friendly & helpful staff. Large rooms and well appointed bathroom with spa bath & separate shower - good water pressure. Sufficient car parking but quite tight to manoeuvre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. This sort of information is so valuable to others searching for the right place to suit their needs. More

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and the shower was great. A good sized room with the spa tub a bonus. We quite enjoyed the tub with a glass of wine after a day sightseeing. The hosts were extremely helpful I booking events and providing travel advice. Highly recommend staying at the Emerald Spa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Emerald Spa Motor Inn. More and more of our guests rely on comments such as yours before they make a reservation. This is especially important for our International guests who have not visit us before, and many of them are first time visitors to New Zealand. Your comments are fantastic and we... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Emerald Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Resort

Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerald Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay