We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Rotorua

1130 Pukuatua Street | Rotorua CBD, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Rotorua
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    23
    15
    17
    13
See reviews for
11
32
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If all you want is a bed and a hot shower, and don't want to share with a group of others (backpackers) then this cheap motel may just be for you. It is not flash, it is outdated, cold and lacks any real character. The room was clean but very cold. It did however have an oil heater and electric... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When I walked into the room I couldn't help think it reminded me of a backpackers or lodge rather than a 'Grand Hotel'. I have stayed in a few places for business and this hotel definitely is not the place for business. Cons: Electric blanket didn't work on one side of the bed Fan in bathroom didn't work Bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

The most depressing time we have ever spent on holidays. Yes booking a budget room essentially means "you get what you pay for" but we spent nights in a hostel room cleaner than the one we stayed in at Grand Hotel. Avoided the bathroom at all costs! Bathroom had mould all along the walls and the shower head (not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

As you were aware their are several types of rooms available at the Hotel. You chose a Budget room which is $55 per night for 2 people and does represent good value for those who only want a bed for the night and do not wish to be in a dormitory. Regarding your comments on cleanliness and mould I have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Bed was great, took a nice lil nap. Good value for the price. Bathroom sink was in the middle of the room which was pretty chill. Feng shui. The laundry room was to die for. Long hallway to get to the room a bit like the tunnel you wait in to board the airplane. All and all it was beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Albans
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Room was very spacious (double + single) and included a desk. Rooms clean and good bathroom Lots of power sockets and tea/coffee making facilities. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. WiFi was free, fast and easy to use (single password). Simple breakfast available. Very quiet area, so good sleeping. The only negatives are the rooms are rather old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We spent two nights at this hotel and have absolutely nothing negative to say about it!Our room was surprisingly large and bright,very clean,the bed was perfect,with crispy white linen and comfortable pillows.Very good central location,helpful staff and not at all expensive.Keep the good work Grand Hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The very rude woman behind the counter needs some lessons in customer care and in the manner she uses. She is very unprofessional. Twice bitten by her now... never again (I gave her the benefit of the doubt first time - we all have a bad day) The hotel itself is ok for what you pay, tired and older. First... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stayed at this hotel in late Feb 2015 for two nights. We paid $55 per night for a twin room. The rooms were a bit dated but clean & tidy. We had an ensuite and the beds were very comfy. This place is by no means flash but good value if you're on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Great central location, easy walking to shops, restaurants and attractions. Continental Breakfast included in reasonable price hotel. Free parking on-site. However, there is no restaurant or bar on-site. Wi-Fi is not accessible in rooms. No community kitchen for economy travelers, but a fridge and kettle in the room. No phones in room. Air conditioning and fans in rooms. Showers are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments. We have 38 rooms covering 3 different budgets. Many of the rooms are of different configurations. We provide tea and coffee in the rooms and a Free Continental breakfast in our dining room. We are in close proximity to numerous restaurants, cafes and eating houses and unfortunately we were forced to close the restaurant down due... More 

Flemingsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Photos look good but this hotel is terrible. Booked for two nights but left as early as we could. No ground floor built above shops including a very odorous asian restaurant. The place is filthy. Torn dirty carpet.We had no soap. Just awful we havw found a clean nice place for less money.Our advice is to avoid this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

I apologise that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We try to make it clear to anyone booking with us that all our rooms are on the first floor and up a single flight of stairs. There is one wing of rooms above several retail shops and the restaurant you refer to is a Korean Supermarket. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#38 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#45 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#2 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#4 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#1 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay