We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Rotorua

1130 Pukuatua Street | Rotorua CBD, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Grand Hotel Rotorua
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #39 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Mckennie
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    23
    14
    17
    13
See reviews for
11
32
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When I walked into the room I couldn't help think it reminded me of a backpackers or lodge rather than a 'Grand Hotel'. I have stayed in a few places for business and this hotel definitely is not the place for business. Cons: Electric blanket didn't work on one side of the bed Fan in bathroom didn't work Bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most depressing time we have ever spent on holidays. Yes booking a budget room essentially means "you get what you pay for" but we spent nights in a hostel room cleaner than the one we stayed in at Grand Hotel. Avoided the bathroom at all costs! Bathroom had mould all along the walls and the shower head (not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

As you were aware their are several types of rooms available at the Hotel. You chose a Budget room which is $55 per night for 2 people and does represent good value for those who only want a bed for the night and do not wish to be in a dormitory. Regarding your comments on cleanliness and mould I have... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bed was great, took a nice lil nap. Good value for the price. Bathroom sink was in the middle of the room which was pretty chill. Feng shui. The laundry room was to die for. Long hallway to get to the room a bit like the tunnel you wait in to board the airplane. All and all it was beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Albans
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Room was very spacious (double + single) and included a desk. Rooms clean and good bathroom Lots of power sockets and tea/coffee making facilities. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. WiFi was free, fast and easy to use (single password). Simple breakfast available. Very quiet area, so good sleeping. The only negatives are the rooms are rather old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We spent two nights at this hotel and have absolutely nothing negative to say about it!Our room was surprisingly large and bright,very clean,the bed was perfect,with crispy white linen and comfortable pillows.Very good central location,helpful staff and not at all expensive.Keep the good work Grand Hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The very rude woman behind the counter needs some lessons in customer care and in the manner she uses. She is very unprofessional. Twice bitten by her now... never again (I gave her the benefit of the doubt first time - we all have a bad day) The hotel itself is ok for what you pay, tired and older. First... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stayed at this hotel in late Feb 2015 for two nights. We paid $55 per night for a twin room. The rooms were a bit dated but clean & tidy. We had an ensuite and the beds were very comfy. This place is by no means flash but good value if you're on a tight budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Great central location, easy walking to shops, restaurants and attractions. Continental Breakfast included in reasonable price hotel. Free parking on-site. However, there is no restaurant or bar on-site. Wi-Fi is not accessible in rooms. No community kitchen for economy travelers, but a fridge and kettle in the room. No phones in room. Air conditioning and fans in rooms. Showers are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments. We have 38 rooms covering 3 different budgets. Many of the rooms are of different configurations. We provide tea and coffee in the rooms and a Free Continental breakfast in our dining room. We are in close proximity to numerous restaurants, cafes and eating houses and unfortunately we were forced to close the restaurant down due... More 

Flemingsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Photos look good but this hotel is terrible. Booked for two nights but left as early as we could. No ground floor built above shops including a very odorous asian restaurant. The place is filthy. Torn dirty carpet.We had no soap. Just awful we havw found a clean nice place for less money.Our advice is to avoid this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

I apologise that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We try to make it clear to anyone booking with us that all our rooms are on the first floor and up a single flight of stairs. There is one wing of rooms above several retail shops and the restaurant you refer to is a Korean Supermarket. I... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed here for two nights. The room was clean and had a double and two single beds. It was handy to Eat Street and easy walking to other tourist attractions. There was complimentary continental breakfast. The senior staff woman was friendly and helpful when it came to what tourist attractions to see. Now the downside. We were in room 140... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Our location is extremely good and being in the central city we are not immune from the noise. It is unfortunate that your stay was during a particularly busy time in Rotorua. While local activities attract crowds of people and varying amounts of noise, this is not an everyday occurrence. I apologise for the pillows, we have been waiting for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
#44 of 96 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#42 of 96 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#2 of 96 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#41 of 96 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#3 of 96 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay