We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Hamurana Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Hamurana Road | RD2, Rotorua 3702, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Helicopter Flight
Hamurana Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hamurana Lodge to your Saves list
98%
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Leanne C Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
187
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (288)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at Hamurana Lodge for 3 nights in a Superior Suite. I took advantage of the Complimentary Helicopter Flight Experience special running at the time which was an added bonus and very enjoyable. From the minute I arrived by car, until the minute I left, the service was fantastic. I was met outside on arrival, my bag was taken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very quite place, best service ever experienced, let me and my girlfriend felt really warm and like home, very friendly people, best place for people like quite and peace, not far from town, just kind of hard to find the gate at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

kia ora, thank you very much for sharing your experience withe other travelers. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable time at Hamurana Lodge. We have included the gate light on our maintenance list. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Warm regards. More

Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for our honeymoon. Drove around the island and stopped at hotels along the way. Had a great time. When we arrived the person greated us with drinks. They gave us the room on the left from the front door. it was big. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and the floors were heated. We had breakfast there and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora John, it's our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your Superior Suite. We are 15 minutes away from town which sets us apart from the hustle and bustle yet handy to access points of interests. Did you get a chance to say hi to our resident donkey and goat as well? Maybe Sonny our labrador will take you... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked for 2 nights. There were issues with our suite. No hot food is served. Staff were nowhere to be found. Will not recommend or stay here again. Certainly not 5 star and not the typical lodge. We've stayed in lodge accommodation all over the world. This had to be the worst.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora, I'm distraught after reading your comments and I'm so sorry that your experience wasn't satisfactory. It's puzzling to hear that you had issues with the suite as we didn't receive any comments or complaints from you during your time of stay, but I'm confident that we could have fixed the problems if you raised them to us. Two... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very quaint and comfortable country house a little outside of Rotorua; perfect location if you are driving. Excellent breakfast. The best thing about Hamurana Lodge though is the staff and service which was faultless. Thank you Tommy and Patrick for all your assistance and touring information.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora, thank you for your review and highlighting the great things about Hamurana Lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here. There's always more to see and do in Rotorua, we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip. More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view around Hamurana Lodge is so beautiful. We visited in August which is the off season in Rotorua.Howerver, we had a great experiences with good service. It was our first time staying in a Lodge.It felt like we were staying at home in our own house.Unfourtunately, tempreture of the heater in our room was been set up too high.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Vivian, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that the temperature of the heater was set too high, we could have let some crispy winter air in while you were out exploring Rotorua town. Nevertheless, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and liked the settings of the... More

China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived on a beautiful afternoon, the sun was shining and the birds were chirping, it felt like paradise in contrast to the city life back in China. We were helped with luggage and offered drinks. Patrick took care of our itinerary by making all the bookings and showed us directions to all the places we wanted to visit. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Ms. Li, it's our pleasure to have hosted you at Hamurana Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Rotorua has a lot to offer, either in the relaxed winter or in the vibrant summer, it's a must see destination in New Zealand. We look forward to welcoming you and your... More

New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We visited in the off season (August) but the staff could not have been nicer or more attentive. It a great base if you want something more upscale than the motels and chain hotels in Rotorua. And the property offers beautiful views of the lake and a tranquil hideout

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Being the low season the lodge is relatively quiet which is perfect for relaxation and a Gourmet platter in front of the fireplace, wouldn't it also sound nice to enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace in the summer... More

Hoosick Falls, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Whenever I travel, I always check out hotels on Tripadvisor. This place was #1, and now that I have stayed here 2 nights, I can see why it is so highly ranked. The staff bent over backward to do whatever was asked of them. They provided great service with a big smile. Our room had a nice view of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora, we are very pleased to read your 5 star review, thank you for sharing your experience. We are lucky to have such a good location being away from the hustle and bustle of Rotorua town yet handy for many places of interests. Many guests wouldn't want to leave because they loved our freshly baked croissants :) we wish... More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just arrived home from a very relaxing weekend away at this hotel. The staff and customer service was superb.... From the time we arrived and were met in the driveway until the time we left. Thank-you Sil....Tommy and Leonine for your wonderful service if I could clone you guys I would your hospitality was the best we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Sharon, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Hamurana Lodge. We are really grateful for our location, as you said it's away from the hustle and bustle but still handy for everything else. Sil, Tommy and Leona said hi and we look forward to hosting you... More

Do you own or manage Hamurana Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD2, Rotorua 3702, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamurana Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hamurana Lodge