We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Rotorua hotels

New Castle Motor Lodge

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   18 Ward Ave, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New Castle Motor Lodge to your Saves list
New Castle Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
89%
Ranked #38 of 93 hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
travelb4workl Mission Viejo, California
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
38
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in March 2014 and had a very pleasant stay. The room and bathroom was big. The floor plan is open so gives you lots of room for your luggages. Internet was unlimited. And the owner is very nice. He will spend as much time with you as possible as you try to get lots of information about the area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A nice and clean room with attached huge toilet and spa facility. The pantry was equipped with the necessity utensils. Very good location to the city center and various attractions. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and knowledgeable in recommending the attractions. We will highly recommend this motel to all and would definitely stay with them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The staff were extremely helpful kindly doing 2 loads(for the price of 1) of washing late in an evening, returning it dried and folded a few hours later. Free wifi, good location for getting into town, free parking, quiet, clean and comfortable rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Easy access to the town centre but also a good location to the highways for the local attractions, staff friendly and also a lot cooler when we found the fan in the cupboard to cool the room down. Good information on the local attractions and discount vouchers in reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
South Island, New Zealand
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Staffs were very nice and helpful. We got a unit with spa and we had a good soak after our bike day out. Free wifi for us during our 2days stay. Free parking and quiet and relaxing during our stays. Comfortable bed and a kitchen for us to make our dishes. Nothing much of an issue during our stays.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We chose this motel for the award it had gained last year. it was really disappointing to see that the room service was below par. The beds were never done,no hand wash, no tissues, toilet and bath tub not cleaned,room was not vacuumed during our 3 nights stay,we came back to see the dishes never done. There are many other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boon_Sharine, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We do practice Towel replacement. (we do have a small notice pasted on the toilet door, "Leave the towels on the floor if you want them to be replaced".) Many guest would preferred their room Not to be touched during their duration of stay (and we have to respect individual's privacy and living habits), unless they... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had three nights here and were expecting more than we got for the price we paid. It's in a reasonable location, but Rotorua is small so most places are. We were 'upgraded' to a family room, it had a room with 2 single beds that you walked through to get to the room with a double bed, kitchenette, small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boon_Sharine, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We do practice Towel replacement. (we do have a small notice pasted on the toilet door, "Leave the towels on the floor if you want them to be replaced".) Many guest would preferred their room Not to be touched during their duration of stay (and we have to respect individual's privacy and living habits), unless they... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here one night on 29 December as we drove from Taupo and on our way to Auckland. This place is nothing special - we needed somewhere cheap with a bed and easy to get to. This fit the bill as a functional stay. We were upgraded to a family room and although arriving early, were able to check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Booked for 2 nights and was disappointed to find infestation of ants behind kids beds on 2nd night, too late to complain, so highly suggest you do not take a room on ground floor! Bathroom fixtures were old and worn, had to buy basics, like handsoap ourselves. White towels provided were well used and had yellow stains on them. Kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boon_Sharine, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time on writing this review. However, after detail investigation, we have found no record of such feedback/complaint filed by any of our guest. Thanks & Regards. More

Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The room was filthy. Part of the ceiling was covered in fungus and the bed spread was stained on all sides. The spa - which was one of the reasons we opted for the place - was not functional. Our attempts of resolving the problems at first, weren't successful since they locked up the reception and wouldn't answer the given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boon_Sharine, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Yes, it is indeed disgusting, your behaviour I mean. When check in, everything is ok..good. After spending a night, everything is Not ok and demanded a refund. This guest even threaten to write condemned review when they did not get a single cents on refund. Called at 11pm questioning why the Spa is not working (when its clearly stated in... More

Been to New Castle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Castle Motor Lodge

Also Known As:
New Castle Motor Hotel Rotorua
New Castle Motor Hotel
Address: 18 Ward Ave, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#38 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Castle Motor Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your New Castle Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Castle Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.