We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Rotorua hotels

Red Rock Thermal Motel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Rock Thermal Motel to your Saves list
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
91%
Ranked #19 of 93 hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
TravellingKiw1
  • Reviews (164)
  • Photos (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    46
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
56
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Since the price was cheap I wasn't expecting much but I was very pleasantly surprised! The room was fantastic, very clean and modern. Great bathroom, everything you could need in a kitchen and the beds were great too. To top it off, wifi was free, which you don't get everyday in hotels. The highlight was definitely the free mineral spa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our extended family stayed in 2 of the motel's studio units, these were great; lovely and clean, spacious with well equipped kitchens. We enjoyed the lovely heated pool and mineral spa. We would definitely stay again if in Rotorua and recommend them to others. Karen R

Was this review helpful? Yes
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

KarenR21Hinton - Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Perhaps next time our Cottage will be free for you and can accommodate all of you together. Until next time, travel safely. More

Auckland
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay in the motel, the owners Sue and Quentin really looked after us. The studio was spacious and clean with wifi, tv and a well equipped kitchenette. Close to all activities in Rotorua. Would highly recommend makes a great base to see around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

Rebtop - thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are happy to enjoyed our lovely unit with free Wifi, geothermal mineral pool and swimming pool. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, until then, travel safely. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

we stayed for two nights in the delux one bedroom unit with 4 adults and one teen. The beds were really comfortable and the unit has everything you need. The pool is awesome. Have stayed here three times now and always recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

Maree F - Thank you for your lovely review and it is so nice to have guests who come and see us regularly. We are glad you enjoy our newly renovated units and our swimming pool. Watch this space as we have plans to upgrade the swimming pool and give it a face lift in the next few months. We... More

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in the cottage and it was a great size for our family of 5, with extra beds for more. The heaters were on and it was lovely and warm. The geothermal spa is great. Sue was the best, even tracking us down after we had checked out and left some items behind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

Wendy M - Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is so heart warming to know that our guests appreciate Sue, our wonderful manager who is so friendly and helpful. We are also glad you enjoyed our warm cosy cottage with all the comforts of home and our mineral pool. We look forward to seeing you again in... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The studio room was great value for money being clean, recently upgraded with new furniture and a very comfortable bed. The kitchen is fully equipped. The bathroom has all new fittings and a very powerful shower. The geothermal pool was great to relax in at the end of the day although upgrading the pool room would be advantageous. Sue was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

Roz M - Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our lovely studio unit, our geothermal mineral pool and swimming pool. We will be renovating the swimming pool in the next few months and hope to give it a bit of a face lift. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Red Rock Thermal Motel is a bit out of the main part of town, well beyond walking distance for most, and it’s not really near anything in particular in terms of attractions, etc. I was greeted by a quite friendly and helpful lady at reception on check-in. The whole place is composed of a main section of half-a-dozen or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

Gosh - thank you for your lengthy in-depth review. Unfortunately, I feel the need to point out a couple of things about the innacuracies in your review. We do not advertise that unit 7 has a stove in the kitchen, nor do we say anywhere that we have air conditioning in any of the units. We find it hard to... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We've pre-booked the motel cottage for 2 nights for a group of 5 people. When we arrived on a cold and windy evening, we're received by a rather unfriendly and curt male owner. Next morning at breakfast, we discovered that the milk provided by him the night before was 2 weeks after the expiry date. When we complained and asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

RE-TAN55 - thank you for your review. We are surprised and dismayed that you had an issue with Quentin - he is a lovely manager and we are sorry you didn't see this side of him. We are glad you enjoyed our clean motel in a good location and glad that Sue was much more friendly for you. More

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, the rooms were warm as soon as we walked in, it was clean, tidy and plenty of room. The price was so good, that I expected more from the room than I thought I would get. The owners of the motel, husband and wife were so sweet and lovely, and didn't mind about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

A1Andrews - thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our clean, good value and warm rooms. We also agree that the managers are lovely and sweet and try their hardest to make all of our guests have a great experience in Rotorua. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at this property after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were very surprised on arrival to see the small complex looking rather tired, especially the surroundings which were very shabby. We were greeted by Sue who proudly showed off the mineral pool. Our unit was quite adequate and good value for what we paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were happy with our hospitality, good value and comfy beds. We are sorry that you felt that the place looked shabby, but would advise that the swimming pool is being renovated this winter and our second to last unit (unit 2) is being fully renovated next month (June). We are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Rock Thermal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rotorua with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#12 Family Hotel in Rotorua #18 Business Hotel in Rotorua #24 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Rock Thermal Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer