We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Geneva Motor Lodge

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   297-299 Fenton St.,, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Geneva Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Geneva Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #23 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
TerryTeo1 Auckland Region, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (70)
  • Photos (25)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
24
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff were fabulous (no grumpy ones here) and very obliging - room was heated before we arrived from the cold trip and the room was tidied everyday. Will definitely stay again. Simple accomodation but at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very reliable, considerate and knowledgeable, The hosts are wonderful, really go out of their way to make recommendations that work out well for me. LIttle things like turning the heater on so the unit is warm when I arrive. Units are very comfortable. Like the spa too (one in each room). Will always stay here when I visit Rotorua.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Brae for your comments, these are always appreciated. as we don't have the luxury of Thermal Heating like some of the other Motels & Hotels in Rotorua, we try to do our best to make our Guests feel comfortable and warm particularly during these cold winter days by ensuring we turn on heaters early and also give you... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tidy place to stay but very dated and hasn't seen a lot of love. A bit noisy and on a main road but close to most things in Rotorua so in a handy location. Was one of the only places we could find to sleep 5 people

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am not sure what room you were in but if there was 5 of you it would probably have been our 2brm unit which is close to the road or unit 4 which is back a bit. Many of the Motels in Rotorua are situated on Fenton which I... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were booked in for four days, had a lovely sunny unit and then my husband had to return to Auckland after one night. We felt a bit awful after booking for 4 nights but Bill and Sheryl were totally understanding. They had also very good knowledge on the tramping areas we asked about and had booklets to help our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was a shame you had to return home after only one night and didn't get to do the new walk you both so wanted do at Lake Tawawera as from feedback we have had it is very good. But perhaps we can see you again sometime soon More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had an excellent stay, room was more than satisfactory very spacious for a studio unit and the spa as wonderful. Host was lovely and very helpful. I would recommend Geneva Motor Lodge to anyone and definitely will stay again, if we have the same hosts. Only 2 minute drive into town.10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Tracy for your lovely comments we would love to see you again sometime soon More

Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

excellent stay, rooms are very spacious, the hosts are lovely very friendly and happy to help I would recommend the Geneva to all, great to have an electric blanket, the room was very warm and cozy 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments and look forward to hopefully seeing you again sometime More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed two nights in the 2 bedroom unit and we just loved it. The spa was really nice. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. Nice value for money. We will definitely recommend friends who will travel to Rototua.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, these are always appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would look forward to seeing you again sometime More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The staff here are warm welcoming and friendly. Room was tidy and very large for a studio! with its own private courtyard with jet spa. The Location is perfect, room serviced daily at your choice :) will definitely stay with yous again when we venture back down to rotorua :) Highly recommend for anyone who may be heading those ways... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments these are always appreciated, and would look forward to having you come and stay with us again More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed two nights in the studio spa pool room and we loved it. Studio was spacious and warm with a huge tv - including sky sports much to my partners delight. Had a kitchenette which was well equipped - we cooked our own meals without any problems. Loved having our own courtyard with a private spa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. And once again we sincererly apologise for the problem in your room when you first arrived and very much appreciated you understanding. Would love to see you both again should you decide to get away for another weekend More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was clean & tidy. Was great to full up your own spa after a day of activities for a soak. Room rate is not over the top. Would stay again if visiting Rotorua.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review these are always appreciated.Our mission is always to give a Friendly & Helpful service and present Clean and comfortable rooms to all our guests. Would love to host you again should your travels bring you back this way More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Geneva Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Geneva Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Motor Lodge

Address: 297-299 Fenton St.,, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Geneva Motor Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Geneva Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Amenities

Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua #16 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua #20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua #31 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bill & Sheryll welcome you to come & stay with us at Geneva Motor Lodge where you will receive that genuine Kiwi HospitalityGeneva Motor Lodge a modern well presented motel complex and impeccably clean has 14 self contained units each with their own Spa Pool or Spa Bath.Conveniently situated on Fenton Street,Rotorua.Handy to all local attractions and city centre makes it the perfect place to come,stay & relax after a busy day visiting some of our amazing sites and attractions that Rotorua is famous forSo please don't be disappointed and allow yourself enough time to explore our Beautiful City and surrounds ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

See which rooms travelers prefer