We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Cleveland

#20 of 95 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Cleveland Motel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Cleveland
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed one night, arriving later in the day and leaving early in the morning. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel management is very friendly, helping us without hesitation at the last minute to ensure we got picked up for our dinner show. They picked up the phone an made a call for us!

Helpful?
Thank Steve O
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Large room, clean. Very good sense of welcoming and service. If you assume it's a motel (in : on Highway), the cost/quality ratio is good. On our part, we had thought it was an hostel ("econo Lodge Cleveland " didn't let us think it would be a motel) so we were a bit stressed by the road noise we would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Come D
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

Yes, the name Econo Lodge does not tell the true story of who or what we really are. We will have a name change back to Cleveland Motel (which is what we have been known as for over 50 years) by the end of this year. We are delighted you found the room to be quiet and comfortable. Rotorua is... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's a very awesome motel to stay as a family or with a bunch of friends. The room size is reasonable with nice front yard. There is a playground in the yard with swings, trampolines and heaps of space for chilling out. Also, there are two private spring pool and one sharing swimming pool (The water are heated). And the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry Z
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

It is obvious you had a good stay at the Cleveland; we are delighted you enjoyed using our pools and the kids had good use of the playground. We have just installed a new swing that is already being well used by older kids. Can't wait to welcome you back. Thanks for your feedback. More 

Ao Nang, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 5 nights and had everything we needed. The location is good, just a five minute drive to town, and near food shops. The manager and his staff were charming and extremely helpful, especially in advising on places to go, etc.

Helpful?
Thank DaveinAsia
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

You had the perfect holiday in Rotorua; staying 5 nights gave you a chance to see and do everything in and around Rotorua. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cleveland and found our suggestions useful. Look forward to your next visit. Thanks for helping make the Cleveland the best place to stay in Rotorua. More 

Warkworth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a weekend stay with the kids and grandparents at this motel and it was perfectly fine for our purpose. Unfortunately the pool was not working which was a real bummer for the kids but cannot be helped. The owners were very accommodating in offering vouchers for the local aquatic centre instead. It is definitely an older motel-style accommodation... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nickij836
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

We are delighted with your feedback and hope others find it useful; especially about the location of the Cleveland. You are right; the Cleveland is pretty central to everything. The swimming pool is back to normal and we currently have lots of families enjoying a dip. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for helping make the Cleveland... More 

Dardanup, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

would have liked to stay longer bed was so comfortable .so much to see .would stay there again lovely warm pool reception was very help full.great that it had a small kitchen i had not thought of that at other places we booked.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jsteel_573952
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

We are truly delighted you found our beds comfortable. These are new beds and were replaced just 2 days before Christmas. All our 2-bedroom units and studios have individual pocket-spring mattresses normally found in 4.5 to 5 star properties. Our background is in the furniture business; we have always preferred to provide better than expected beds. Sleep is so important.... More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked 1 bedroom unit very kindly upgraded to a 2 bedroom unit 😊 given welcome chocolates and towels for use in the mineral pools (can't use the units ones). Wonderful friendly staff so obliging! Mineral pool was clean and tidy... lovely way to start the day. The rooms are basic and the only thing missing is air conditioning... however rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Biffee63
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your prompt feedback and for the time you spent chatting with us; we learn a lot from listening to our guests. We are happy you had a good stay and found the beds comfortable. We are now planning to upgrade the bathrooms in the 2-bedroom units and fingers crossed, can have some of them done by Easter.... More 

Mackay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location and management were great. Internet access was the best experienced in NZ during our 14 day holiday. Hot baths were the reason for booking this property but they really require some attention. One suggestion being a clear indication that the bath is occupied.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank pcmand19
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Cleveland and found our location to be ideal. Thanks for the comments about the hot baths (geothermal mineral pools). You will be pleased to know we do have plans to upgrade them this year. Thank you for helping make the Cleveland the best place to stay in Rotorua. More 

Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Summary- ok budget hotel. Staff great rooms were ok Pros: Nice location Great kitchen Clean bedding and floors Good price Wonderful owners Cons Bathrooms looked beat up and worn not necessary dirty but it made them appear like they might be Our room had some spiders Noisy outside rooms and right next to road loud We didn't like how the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have an on-going re-furbishment programme in place and yes, the bathrooms are next on the "to do" list. Our studio block which you were in is positioned perpendicular to the road hence the road noise is reduced considerably. Once again, thank you for helping us make the Cleveland the best place to stay in... More 

North Bay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent two nights here. It was booked solid so we had to change rooms partway through. The rooms are very basic, but do the job. The kitchen was handy. It was walking distance to the bakery, and the free Rotorua thermal park. The pool was nice and warm. The hot pools were ok.

Helpful?
Thank Poo71
BrijGurm, Owner at Econo Lodge Cleveland, responded to this review

We are glad you found our pools were to your satisfaction. Yes, the location is very handy to most attractions and the town centre. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit and for helping make the Cleveland the best place to stay in Rotorua. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#2 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 95 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#58 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#1 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay