We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Four Canoes Hostel and Bar to your Saves list
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
92%
Ranked #19 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Peren M Bethlehem, New Hampshire
  • Overview
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at Four Canoes as part of a group tour in Rotorua. I was very impressed with the facility, provided very good value backpackers, nothing fancy but it is not designed as an upmarket accommodation.The staff were knowledgeable of the local area and extremely friendly. The thermal pool was a real highlight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends during a road trip holiday. The service we received from the reception staff was awesome, they were really friendly and helpful and went out of their way to recommend places/things to do. We had a 6 bed dorm for our group which was relatively clean and spacious - at a level you expect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have a great day. Regards Four Canoes Management More

Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My brother and I stayed here in May 2014 and were totally blown away. The staff was super helpful and friendly, our room had a private bathroom, there was a pool, the kitchen was amazing and it was in a great location. We had a 4 person room but ended up not having to share as the hostel was pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Four Canoes. We hope that you are able to come back and visit us sometime soon. Happy and safe travels from us all here in Rotorua. More

Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great place to stay, great value for money run by great people. No... I dont know the owners nor have an interest in the business. We took a group of 10 here and chose this place based on the reports on trip advisor, we were not disappointed. Even with alot of last minute changes from my end we found the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. Yes we are very lucky to have Kat working for us, she is a gem! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back! Have a good day. Regards Justine Brown General Manager More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the 4 canoes back in February with my boyfriend and it exceeded our expectations of a hostel. Perfect location to walk to restaurants/grocery store/shops in town. Staff was friendly and a big help in booking tours with discounts and recommendations. The facilities themselves were very good. Large, clean kitchen to make meals in, a cinema room, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you come back and stay with us in the future. Have a good day. Regards Justine Brown General Manager More

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Looking at one of the poor reviews, I'm not sure what you were expecting! This is a hostel not a hotel. But then Four Canoes is in a league of its own as many motels could not offer the facilities or rooms we had on offer. Perfect for family groups or sports teams but just as perfect for a weekend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your warm words of expression, we thoroughly enjoyed hosting you all and your wonderful family. It was an absolute privilege meeting you all and we are all looking forward to meeting you all again in 2015. Thank you kindly, More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Four Canoes is a high class backpackers hostel, great facilities and friendly, helpful staff that saw nothing as a problem and just went out of there way to make your stay as pleasant as ever. I have stayed in motels that are not as good as this, tidy, welcoming facilities and great food. We had a large group so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justine B, Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora Dean, Thank you very much for your review we really appreciate this. It is always so heart warming when we receive such beautiful feedback from our customers it just reminds us all that we are some of the luckiest people having the opportunity to hosts people from all walks of life and embracing them with our utmost warmest... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for a family reunion, we found the venue perfect . It is great value for money , it has good facilities and the staff are awesome , they definitely went out of there way to make our stay a great one . The rooms are clean and spacious , the use of a seperate whare meeting room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback we all really appreciate reading positive comments. We all look forward to meeting you again in 2015/16 Thank you kindly, The Four Canoes Hostel Team More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We decided to stay here after reading all the great reviews on here and were slightly disappointed. The wi fi was pretty bad, the room didn't seem as clean as it could be but the staff were friendly and it was close enough to town. You got what you paid for but don't expect anymore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. It is such a shame that our property did not fulfill your expectations and we do hope that this does not effect you from ever coming back to stay with us. We have taken your feedback very seriously and have been working extremely hard to... More

Slavyanka, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I really enjoyed my time here at Four Canoes, the great facility's were just outstanding and the awesome lady with the big laugh was really funny and helpful. Free wifi is great and also the hot pools, Overall great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Four Canoes. Safe travels and we hope to see you again in Rotorua. Regards Four Canoes Managment More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Four Canoes Hostel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Canoes Hostel and Bar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Four Canoes Hostel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua #18 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Rotorua's biggest and friendliest hostel. Here at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, we celebrate our Maori Heritage with the spirit of Manaakitanga (hospitality), incorporating a range of room types, 5 Hot Pools and an on-site Wharenui (large meeting house), which provides interactive activities throughout the day. Our friendly reception staff are here 24/7 to help you with any enquires you may have throughout your stay.We have captured the culture of New Zealand in our facilities with carvings throughout the property, the Wharenui and many paintings around our hostel which show our Tipuna(ancestors). Here you can learn the local knowledge of the four waka (Canoes, this is where our name originated) which came into Rotorua and formed the local Iwi (tribes)Our Travel centre is open daily and fully equipped with everything you need to know about Rotorua, what there is to do, and the best places to see. We can also help you plan your trip around the rest of New Zealand, Australia and Fiji.We are just a 10 minute walk from the CBD, with a public transport stop right outside our front gate. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
55

See which rooms travelers prefer