We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Four Canoes Hostel and Bar to your Saves list
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
lyndsay l Regina, Canada
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for a week and it was a great place. The staff are friendly/helpful and it is very clean. SUCH comfy beds which, as a backpacker, I appreciated very much! If we are back in rotorua again I would stay here for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Had a fun time at four canoes. Spent the time there on a school trip and it was so much fun. The pool was lovely. Rooms were great. Comfy beds which comes in handy after a hard day of being a tourist around rotorua. Diffenitly go back if I had the chance 😋

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your great review and so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Four Canoes Hostel. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Have a great day. :) More

New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed here with a group of football teams. Meals were nutritious and delicious and catered for all our teams needs. Accommodation was fantastic! Facilities were fabulous. I highly recommend this place. Staff were just so welcoming and a pleasure, very family friendly orientated atmosphere and so nice to hear staff laughing all day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Wow what fantastic feedback you have given us. We are so happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and we hope you can come back and stay with us. Hope you have a good day and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. :) More

Kloten, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I stayed with my partner for one night. It was comparably expensive, but the room was worth it. Comfortable bed and nice common rooms. The room was nice and warm. Unfortunately, none of the pools was usable when we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thanks so much for taking the time out to comment about us. We are sorry to hear that the pools were not available to use whilst you were here. Safe travels and we hope you have a good day. :) More

Waihi, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We stayed here mid July for one night with a school group of 17 students and 3 staff. Definitely met all our expectations. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Self-catering kitchen facilities are fabulous. Rooms were warm, comfortable and clean. Students were stoked that there was WiFi (which worked) and mineral pools. Excellent location, with room to park our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful review and comments. We really appreciate it. Hope to host you again here at The Four Canoes. Have a great day. Regards General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Arrived here expecting too much perhaps. Firstly I'll say the staff were really friendly and super helpful. The wifi did not reach our room, or indeed very many places. It barely worked in the kitchen, didn't work in the communal room (which seemed very odd). When I asked about it, the staff member put it down to concrete walls. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, We are so sorry that you did not have a very good stay here with us at The Four Canoes. Since we have opened we have had issues with our WIFI and this is now being rectified. It was really good to hear that you received great customer service from the crew here and we have taken on... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I visited here while on a research trip to Rotorua and i was very impressed. Other than the free Wifi, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, heated rooms, TV room with vending machines and Sky television, and swimming pools, the food was my favorite part as they supplied my group with a buffet breakfast of a variety of cereals and fruits as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, We are so happy to hear that you had a good stay with us at The Four Canoes. We strive to ensure our guests have a nice comfortable stay and that we make people feel very welcome. We hope to host you again and we wish you all the best. :) More

Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were there for a night and had a great stay! Priyash (the front desk clerk) was extremely helpful and informative. He helped us with our tours and was so friendly and welcoming! Thank you so much for a great stay Priyash and Four Canoes Hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are very lucky to have Priyash work for us. It is awesome to hear your review and we wish you safe travels for the rest of your trip. We hope to host you again in the future. Safe Travels :) Four Canoes Management More

Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at Four Canoes as part of a group tour in Rotorua. I was very impressed with the facility, provided very good value backpackers, nothing fancy but it is not designed as an upmarket accommodation.The staff were knowledgeable of the local area and extremely friendly. The thermal pool was a real highlight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate this. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back. Safe Travels :) Four Canoes Management More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends during a road trip holiday. The service we received from the reception staff was awesome, they were really friendly and helpful and went out of their way to recommend places/things to do. We had a 6 bed dorm for our group which was relatively clean and spacious - at a level you expect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have a great day. Regards Four Canoes Management More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Four Canoes Hostel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Canoes Hostel and Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Four Canoes Hostel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay