We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Rotorua hotels

Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Four Canoes Hostel and Bar to your Saves list
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
90%
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jen_Aotearoa Waihi, New Zealand
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Waihi, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here mid July for one night with a school group of 17 students and 3 staff. Definitely met all our expectations. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Self-catering kitchen facilities are fabulous. Rooms were warm, comfortable and clean. Students were stoked that there was WiFi (which worked) and mineral pools. Excellent location, with room to park our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Arrived here expecting too much perhaps. Firstly I'll say the staff were really friendly and super helpful. The wifi did not reach our room, or indeed very many places. It barely worked in the kitchen, didn't work in the communal room (which seemed very odd). When I asked about it, the staff member put it down to concrete walls. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I visited here while on a research trip to Rotorua and i was very impressed. Other than the free Wifi, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, heated rooms, TV room with vending machines and Sky television, and swimming pools, the food was my favorite part as they supplied my group with a buffet breakfast of a variety of cereals and fruits as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were there for a night and had a great stay! Priyash (the front desk clerk) was extremely helpful and informative. He helped us with our tours and was so friendly and welcoming! Thank you so much for a great stay Priyash and Four Canoes Hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are very lucky to have Priyash work for us. It is awesome to hear your review and we wish you safe travels for the rest of your trip. We hope to host you again in the future. Safe Travels :) Four Canoes Management More

Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at Four Canoes as part of a group tour in Rotorua. I was very impressed with the facility, provided very good value backpackers, nothing fancy but it is not designed as an upmarket accommodation.The staff were knowledgeable of the local area and extremely friendly. The thermal pool was a real highlight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate this. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back. Safe Travels :) Four Canoes Management More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends during a road trip holiday. The service we received from the reception staff was awesome, they were really friendly and helpful and went out of their way to recommend places/things to do. We had a 6 bed dorm for our group which was relatively clean and spacious - at a level you expect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have a great day. Regards Four Canoes Management More

Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My brother and I stayed here in May 2014 and were totally blown away. The staff was super helpful and friendly, our room had a private bathroom, there was a pool, the kitchen was amazing and it was in a great location. We had a 4 person room but ended up not having to share as the hostel was pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Four Canoes. We hope that you are able to come back and visit us sometime soon. Happy and safe travels from us all here in Rotorua. More

Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great place to stay, great value for money run by great people. No... I dont know the owners nor have an interest in the business. We took a group of 10 here and chose this place based on the reports on trip advisor, we were not disappointed. Even with alot of last minute changes from my end we found the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. Yes we are very lucky to have Kat working for us, she is a gem! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back! Have a good day. Regards Justine Brown General Manager More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at the 4 canoes back in February with my boyfriend and it exceeded our expectations of a hostel. Perfect location to walk to restaurants/grocery store/shops in town. Staff was friendly and a big help in booking tours with discounts and recommendations. The facilities themselves were very good. Large, clean kitchen to make meals in, a cinema room, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you come back and stay with us in the future. Have a good day. Regards Justine Brown General Manager More

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Looking at one of the poor reviews, I'm not sure what you were expecting! This is a hostel not a hotel. But then Four Canoes is in a league of its own as many motels could not offer the facilities or rooms we had on offer. Perfect for family groups or sports teams but just as perfect for a weekend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your warm words of expression, we thoroughly enjoyed hosting you all and your wonderful family. It was an absolute privilege meeting you all and we are all looking forward to meeting you all again in 2015. Thank you kindly, More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Four Canoes Hostel and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Four Canoes Hostel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hostel and Bar

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Canoes Hostel and Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Four Canoes Hostel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay