We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Canoes Hostel

273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Four Canoes Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is so helpful to ensure all tours are booked for all guests. They really go out of their way to make sure we got the best deals and the options we wanted. The location is great - walking distance to many options. There are 2 pools working - one cool and one hot. Free wifi in the lobby... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JIBuchholz
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review. We completely understand that the WIFI system is not suitable and we are working on an upgrade solution right now. We wish you safe travels back to the US and we hope the rest of your time in NZ was a good one. :) More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pools are nice. Room tidy but no sound proofing what so ever, kept awake till 3am one morning & 5am the other. One French staff member didn't even know of Paradise Valley Springs when we wanted to find out more info. Quite old & dated, pool table & lounge furniture ripped. We got a reasonably good price but would never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Waitakere168
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it. Every issue that you mentioned we completely agree on, and we are working through an upgrade schedule that we plan on rolling out this year. Thanks once again for your review and we hope you have a great day. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Some great amenities. And the place looks great! The room was tidy and affordable. But they struggled to find out details initially and the walls are paper thin. Literally could follow next doors conversation. Oh and no power for the shower. But yeah I'm nitpicking. For what we paid we couldn't ask for better. One of the better budget options... More 

Helpful?
Thank CanadianJames
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it. I hope you have a great rest of your stay in NZ. Safe travels :) More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Definitely a value stay. Equipped with nice common kitchen area and TV lounge (though we didn't use it at all) The rooms need to be renovated over the year though, the bottom of the sink is substandard, and there's a "weird" stain on our duvet which we avoided the area like plague and kept our contact to the sheets only.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allen H
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Firstly I am extremely shocked to hear about the condition of your duvet. This is completely not acceptable and we will be investigating further to see how this could have happened and what we can do to ensure this does not happen again. I am deeply sorry that you did not have a great experience at our property and... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

As cheap as chips! For what we paid I was impressed by the quality of facilities. What was great on the two days we were there was that it seemed to attract a high caliber international backpacker. Very respectable. I've done a lot worse for a lot more money!

Helpful?
Thank drdfc
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback we really appreciate it. We hope you have a great rest of your stay in New Zealand. Safe travels. :) More 

İzmir, Türkiye
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I stayed there with a very good price in September. It is 10 min walk from city centre. Rooms are clean. Staff is very friendly. There is an open pool at the back which children like a lot. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Cuneyt360
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it :) More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Great hostel near the centre of town. Rooms are clean and spacious and the communal areas (kitchen, lounge) are well stocked even thought they could do with a furniture upgrade. Wifi is not the best - really only works at the reception area but it is for free which is a nice gesture.

Helpful?
Thank SydneyTravelalot
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI which means everyone can get WIFI in their rooms which we cannot wait for. Thanks very much and safe travels :) More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

Awesome place to stay. Easy access to mtb park. Parking outside our rooms. Great staff and facilities. Will Def come back. Boulevard cafe next door had fantastic breakfast too! Thanks to the manager JB she was friendly and more than happy to help :)

Helpful?
Thank Bodhi V
Justine B, General Manager at Four Canoes Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great feedback, we really appreciate it! More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

The staff were great and really helpfull (especially marsha). We didny pay a lot to stay at all but it still werent that good, the kitchen was pretty useless with broken ovens,fridges and drawers and the wifi for the 3 days we where there was useless the whole time. When we got our first room on the first night we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben M
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

The receptionist was a lovely lady. But...... the wifi only works at reception, the beds were 'clean' (with black hairs and blood in the pillow), the bathroom was lame and had a hole in the wall. Take your own hand towel as they charge you $5 extra for one and whatever you do don't lose the key, another one is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cecilia V
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#5 of 54 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#8 of 54 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#14 of 54 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astray
Astray
#18 of 54 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay