We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Rotorua

272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Rotorua
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    295
    164
    77
    65
See reviews for
267
265
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (789)
  • Mar-May only
    (213)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We heard about this hotel from a friend who recommended it to us. It is within easy walking distance of the main eateries in this city. Our room was cleaned to a high standard and spotless. The attitude of relaxed helpfulness runs through the entire establishment, with everyone dedicated to making sure the guests are well looked after. Breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, disability friendly. Three of us stayed and we were all impressed. Ordered room service and the food was amazing. We all really enjoyed our stay and plan on going back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you lizhB1253PS for taking the time to share your feedback, The team and I were proud to read your comments about room service and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Above all I would recommend Rydges to any family members or friends. Service provided was very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Thank you Rydges, I will be back again with the family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you NTapeli for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a pleasant stay at the Rydges, Rotorua but found it a little dated. The rooms were noisy due to water cluncking in pipes and the Internet does not work in a number of the rooms in the front of the motel. They were kind enough to move us to another room in order to get coverage as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you Jennifer T for taking the time to share your experience. Please accept my appologies for the lack of WIFI coverage in your room this was due to failed access point which has since been replaced. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Hamilton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an enjoyable 2 nights stay to celebrate my birthday. The foyer was very welcoming, the staff friendly & efficient. Our room was spacious, clean & had a nice view out over the race-course. The bed was very comfortable with lots of soft pillows to choose from. The bathroom was sparkling clean with fluffy, large, white towels. Unfortunately the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you Susan S for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us. The team and I were thrilled to read your comments and we have followed up on the shower head and soap holder. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am not sure there is a lot to chose from in Rotorua in terms of great hotels so I suppose you could do much worse. That said, I would rate this hotel as average at best. Yes, the rooms are huge but feature mainly empty space. Good if you are planning on dancing or exercising in your room perhaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you bobolan92 for taking the time to share your experience. I would appreciate it if you could contact me further so I can follow up on your comments. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Mornington, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a bit of a rough start to our say at this Rydges but once I sent an email to the Manager, we changed rooms and it completely changed my opinion! What a difference a room makes.... We really appreciated this. Our (2nd) room overlooked the racecourse and was very comfortable and warm. No mistaking the extremely comfortable Rydges... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you 2muchfinefoodandwine for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure to catch up with you during your stay and that we were able to move you to a higher floor following your arrival. I will follow up further on your comments around Breakfast, usually we get great reviews on our Rise Breakfast. We look forward... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We definitely recommend staying here and found the Deluxe Twin Room we stayed in to be the most spacious room we've ever stayed in and it had the most comfortable beds. The room was in need of a slight refurbishment but overall we were very happy with it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you ollisa for taking the time to share your experience. It was great to learn you enjoyed our Dream beds, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An ok hotel in Rotorua. Smallish room with dual double beds - not ideal for a young family, the room was smaller than a friend's who wasn't staying without kids. Food in restaurant was good. The pool was nice. Service was ok. Decor was a little dated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you Conrad L for taking the time to share your experience. We have the largest rooms in Rotorua so I was surprised by your comments around size of the room, did your colleague perhaps reserve a deluxe room type which is larger than our lead in superior room type ? I do hope that you and your family will... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, three-year-old daughter stayed for a weekend at the Rydges Hotel in Rotorua recently. The room looked out on to the race course. It was a lovely big room (one of the biggest I've stayed in in NZ), and we had no complaints about it at all, except when the people in the room next to us used their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kcw1980 for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I were proud to learn that overall you had a great stay with us. The team in the restaurant were especially proud of your comments around our Rise Breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay