We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Rotorua

4.5 of 5 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Rotorua
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rydges Rotorua
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    266
    152
    71
    60
See reviews for
241
240
22
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (724)
  • Mar-May only
    (149)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (193)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (159)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
everywhere
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars NEW

I have stayed in dozens and dozens of hotels in New zealand and what I love about Rydges in Rotorua is that the rooms are huge, the ceilings are at least ten feet high, quality furniture and large bathroom. Rydges also has an indoor pool. As far as value for money goes in Rotorua Rydges provides the best by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you juiceofchaos of your kind comments, the team and I really appreciate them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Brilliant everything We will be staying again!! Clean facility's Heated clean pool and spa Great staff Took our family this time they also loved it Great food Excellent value !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?!!!?????? B.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was very clean inside, but The balcony has lots of spider net. The wash room was very clean too but water pressure of the shower is low, and the temperature are not stable, and the toilet is leaking after flush. Staff are very kind, Overall I was enjoying the stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you ccyam for taking the time to share your experience. I would appreciate if if you could contact me so I can follow up further with the aspects your mentioned in your review. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing, More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was expecting more. The rooms are looking at little old and the bath rooms could have a really good clean, with the tiles having stains etc on them. The cost of the room didn't match the expectation. A little disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you Emily W for taking the time to share your experience. I would appreciate it if you could contact me so I could follow up further on your comments, my email address is james_billing@rydges.com. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

originally there was a mix up with our room (as we had booked through a third party) however when we got to reception they fit us into the correct room asap no fuss. The staff were nixe and extremely helpful and the room was clean and well furnished. I would definately stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you Sahu S for taking the time to share your experience. The team were proud to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel on your next trip over from Australia. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager More 

New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had not stayed here for a number of years .The room we were in smelt of chlorine and needed updating was clean and tidy otherwise .Great Beds.Breakfast was the usual spreads ,Self help coffee machine was the highlight made good coffee.For the price we paid I would deem it was just fair value

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you FreebeeNZ for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next return trip to Rotorua. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hallways of the hotel were dark and dingy. The hotel room was large but outdated. It was one of those rooms where you're afraid to know what could be growing in the old carpets. The bathroom was big, with a tub, however was dirty and old. I guess you get what you pay for...Glad we were only here for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you Amanda L for taking the time to share your experience. I would welcome the opportunity to hear from you directly so I can follow up on your comments further. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

U.K.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
78 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was enormous and equipped with beds, dining table, easy chair, spa bath in a separate room, walk in shower room and a balcony with comfy chairs and table overlooking the racecourse. It was a short drive into Rotorua where there is lots of free parking. We didn't eat at the hotel but the restaurant did look very nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you Teddy12 for taking the time to share your experience. The team were proud to read your comments and we hope you continue to have a great stay in New Zealand. We also want to wish you a safe trip back homw ot the UK. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Delux rooms are good.but no air-con.Big room with one ceiling fan..asking price was high..little bit old style.but good location. ..centre of town..Friendly front office staffs..Looks big from outside.good parking area....should upgrade..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you FJ911 for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Rotorua District, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we attended a wedding here last weekend, the service was great, we had one male that took care of us throughout the evening. He done everything he possibly could to make the night enjoyable and perfect for us all. including cleaning up spilt drinks and replacing them free of charge. also we had a set menu for all guests of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James B, General Manager at Rydges Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you emma0215 for taking the time to share your experience. It was a great wedding and the team involved were grateful for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rydges Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay