We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
70%
Ranked #50 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Pat M
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    64
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
44
67
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we were greeted this hotel knew what hospitality was!!! Welcoming, giving us info we needed to know and then some and just a really welcoming hotel! My kids loved the experience! I was honestly about to pull our family out cause I wanted another place but it was fully booked so my wife booked this place which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Pat M, it is with great appreciation that I read your wonderful comments on our hotel and the team and we are so pleased that even after reading a not so positive review you still brought your family and experienced Distinction for yourself. As you know the team do look forward to welcoming you and the family back... More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Used this property to stay and for function. The star from start to finish were exceptional. They all made us feel like we were the only people staying there. Were easily, efficintly & professionally able to meet and service our every request. Japanese restaurant while small served very tasty food. The buffet breakfast was great. Eggs & bacon nicely cooked.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Robert H, Thank you for placing such wonderful comments regarding our team and the service you received whilst at the hotel during your conference / function. I will make sure the team hear. We hope you got some time out during the event to relax whilst you were here. We hope to see you again soon. More

Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is dated and could do with some updating in the rooms. However, the room was clean and comfortable. Balcony was an unexpected surprise and being able to get fresh air in the room was great. Heater was on full when I arrived and the room was overly warm. Quiet location. Stayed 3 nights and would stay here again, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings TerylC, Thank you for your recent stay with us. Were pleased you enjoyed your three nights with us and hope during that time you got to relax in the outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and private Grotto’s and dine in one of our four restaurants and bars on site, our buffet breakfast with a chef to cook. Five points for... More

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights & wish it where longer. The room was spacious,clean,comfortable. Staff where always there eager to help, friendly & informative. Every thing was done with ease & very accommodating. The facilities were good,we enjoyed a relaxing spa, in room wifi, the Mr yakitori restaurant had nice food but average price & good service.I would stay there again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello LeahEast, Thanks for taking the time to place comments and rank us from your recent stay. Seems you enjoyed your time with us and found some relaxation in your travels. We hpe you will pop back from Adelaide for another break sometime soon. More

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I stayed for four nights and found it consistently clean, comfortable and friendly. However, I didn't enjoy the Yakitori, so I didn't eat at the other restaurant, but not a problem as there are good cafes and restaurants in Rotorua. My friend and I arrived out of the blue with no booking, having been disappointed with another place that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Titoki, thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. I’m pleased the team looked after you well and got you sorted into appropriate rooms without any hassle. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy Mr Yakitori. Our other restaurants and bar offer several different menu’s and more “Kiwi Style” if that is what you were after. Hopefully you... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We stayed here for one night (30/8/14) as part of a GrabOne deal we got online and were totally blown away. Some hightlights: - Grand entrance! - Really helpful and friendly staff - Room was spacious, modern and beautifully decorated - SKY Sport & Movies - Great bars and restaurants on site. We had lunch, dinner, drinks and breakfast at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings supastarstace, Thank you were the first two words said after reading your comments placed. We are so pleased you enjoyed our refurbished rooms, outdoor pool facilities and our many restaurants and bars. There is certainly something for everyone and it’s great you made use of it all. We look forward to welcoming you back again !! More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I had 2 nights here whilst attending a travel medicine conference, for which the hotel is well organised. I had a double room on the 5th floor which was a nice size and had standard decor. One good point was being able to open the windows onto a small balcony. Breakfast was fine with the only sticking point being you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora sejonetwo, were pleased you enjoyed your recent stay, from comments made from other delegates it was a great success. Glad you enjoyed the complimentary nibbles in the bar during our happy hour by the way we run happy every night, Hope you got to relax in the heated pool or Jacuzzi after. Thanks you for taking the time... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Did a mid-week getaway. Even though it was not as luxorius as described at the time of purchase ( the hotel is a bit run down) our stay was perfect. Best part was the staff. From the time I booked the room until the checkout service was excellent. Would stay there again no doubts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello Maryam M, so glad you enjoyed your recent stay and the team was excellent. Yes the reception area is out dated, now but does still flow with the design of the building. I hope you got to enjoy our restaurant and bar outlets, all of which have been refurbished in the last few years and far from run down.... More

Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed here to attend a Conference on site. I had a Delux room that was adequate. The walls were a bit thin and had TV noise through the wall at 0200hrs on the first night! The situation was resolved for the rest of the stay. Unfortunately, the room sprung a slight leak during some heavy rain (on was on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings Jim W, I hope your conference was enjoyable and great to hear the food was so good! Our apologies for the noise from the room next door, please never hesitate to advise our team who will get volumes reduced. That storm that came through was a goodie and caused havoc all over Rotorua, We have fixed the leak so... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Brought a grabone mystery deal. Location was bit far from cbd.. too far to walk. I did'nt feel safe parking my car in their open carpark overnight. Rooms were dated and not overly clean. Beds we so soft they moved out from the wall when you sat on them. No air con. Heater in the wall was too efficient and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora travellingkiwiaboard. Were sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. The CBD is just a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel down the main road, there are also local buses that circle past every half an hour to assist with transporting people if they do not wish to use their vehicles. Just so you know our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay