We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Hotel website
390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    80
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
64
83
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were in town for the Tarawera ultra marathon, so picked this hotel for its proximity to the hotel inn (which was sold out) and the start line. Overall the hotel is on the dated side and primarily seemed to be used by tour groups. The rooms are pretty basic and unfortunately they do not have a/c, only windows for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No air conditioning, No minibar. Tired old rooms. Bathroom basin is mostly blocked up. I didnt have high expectations of the restaurant. Only ate in house cos its been a long tiring day, but the restaurant was well overpriced and under quality

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings John L, Apologies your stay was not up to your expectations. We have different room types within the hotel, perhaps if you do visit again you could try one of our deluxe rooms, which you may consider more modern. Correct we do not do mini bar in the room, but as per the signage above the fridge in the... More 

Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in older part of hotel. Very dark and dingy room Lighting very poor. Unable to read.Just trying the key in the door and trying to get it open is a knack. Asked the server what was the food was she was serving ...reply was "I am new and don't know".. The buffet food had no labels on the hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello LeighR625, Our apologies you felt our hotel and your stay was not up to standard. We will review areas you have commented on. Thank you for coming to stay with us. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a day sight seeing it was so nice to relax in a large comfortable room. I went and used the Grotto where the spas and sunas are to be found. These were created to look like underground caves and were a real surprise, I also used the outdoor pool which was warm enough to swim in but not too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora gbjames1, thank you for your comments. Really pleased to hear you used a lot of the facilities at the hotel and the restaurant outlets, there is several to chose from, something for everyone. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked for family from Scotland 2 rooms for 12 nights, was unable to see rooms before hand so was quite disturbed when they arrived mid February in our summer. NO AIR CONDITIONING. This was a shock as I presumed all places of this standard would would be equipped with air conditioning units in all rooms. There was a ceiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings Julie A, we did have an incredible Summer this year, which took us all by surprise. I hope that whilst your family were staying they got to cool down in the outdoor pool and enjoy the garden setting around the hotel, not to mention all the activities Rotorua has to offer More 

Whistler, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here during crankworxs and highly recommend this place to cyclist traveling to rotorua . Just 5 min pedal to the forest, right on the cycle way to downtown and the best of all...individual bike locks that are in a secure room, with 24 hour video surveillance. Did I mentions bike wash station, with buckets, brushes soap and rags....this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Chantal1010, thank you so must for taking the time to comment here. The recent introduction of our purpose built bike storage room has been exciting for us all, were pleased you made such great use of it. As you said our hotel is in the perfect position with the Redwoods tracks so close. Hope well see you again... More 

gisborne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were upgraded to a suite which was a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious and nice, but most of the cushions had stains on them. The shower had no pressure and while it had an amazing looking shower head there didn't seem to be a lot of water. The temperature was hard to get right, it was either really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings gissygirl, our apologies your stay was not up to the Distinction standard that we should offer and that area’s of the hotel were not satisfactory. As you will see from other recent guests comments made we do work hard to make sure each stay is enjoyable to our clients. We shall work on areas advised so we do not... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Distinction Rotorua Hotel for 2 nights during our honeymoon trip to New Zealand and were very impressed. We arrived quite early in the morning but were immediately given a room. Very professional front desk staff. Good size room with good quality fittings. Great pool area and excellent breakfast selection - overall world class hotel facilities. Very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings steve_ph_brown, really pleased to hear your stay was just as it should have been and the hotel, services and team made for an enjoyable time with us. We hope you can come back in future and enjoy, relax all over again. More 

Lowestoft
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night whilst on a tour of New Zealand. I was very impressed with this hotel and this place was certainly the nicest accommodation I stayed in whilst there. The rooms were very spacious, the hotel staff very polite and friendly. One of the highlights of the hotel was their thermal hot pools. The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you zoeclark83 for placing your comments up. Were pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and made use of our range of hotel facilities and enjoyed our extensive buffet breakfast. We hope that in your travels you’ll come back & visit us again soon. More 

Vermillion, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here for 5 nights. Easy drive to any of the local attractions. Comfortable beds. No air conditioning, but good ventilation and breezes. Great shower. Fridge in room. Lots of parking. Supportive staff. Good tv, although it was only on for evening news.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you SDTwit for taking the time to place your feedback on our hotel. Seems you found everything to your satisfaction. We hope we can welcome you back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question