We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Hotel website
390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Special Rate
D-Club Instant Discounts
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    87
    92
    47
    17
    8
See reviews for
71
87
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Hamilton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Distinction Rotorua was a pleasure to stay in, with its cool little ground ghetto hot pools, that are like walking into a cave, rooms were well appointed, however a little dated, with some drawings on the wall from a pen, and a wall heater that well didn't provide much heat! But what it lacked in warmth of room was made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel last year and I was incredibly impressed with the quality of all the rooms and the lay out of them as well. The entrance is one of the best I have seen carousel spinning door and a huge crystal chandelier in the reception. It has shops, restaurants, an amazing pool and incredible underground spas with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greeting 12Monique-nz, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you visit Rotorua More 

9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff and pool/spa/grotto area made for a very pleasant stay. No complaints about the quality of the hotel other than the left elevator repeatedly refused to open on the second floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kaylen418 thank you for staying with us recently. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and Otis have been in to fix their lift. We look forward to you visiting us again. More 

Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a most unsatisfactory happening at this hotel when the toilet bowl leaked quantity of water onto bathroom floor, staff put down soiled laundry to mop it up. 30 minutes later the water cascaded from the room above. At this point I demanded a change of room at 10,15pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora chilliwacj2011. Our apologies for the incident that occurred in your room the night of your stay. It was a pipe that burst, which caused pressure and leakage through the bowl, as I’m sure you appreciate this is something that we would not expect to occur, but unfortunately sometimes it does. It’s great to hear when you were ready... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked 3 rooms to stay 1 night for family leisure over the weekend. A child stayed in one of the room was woken up early in the morning by bug bites. We found there were 8 bites around his tummy. We called the receptionist to complain. The lady was really helpful to send a guy to check. Unfortunately the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello cheung9988, We do truly hope your child has healed and is better now. I apologise to you and your family, this situation has not been handled very professionally by the team at all. By way of communication at the time of your stay as well as handing over to Management for contact with you. I promise you we do... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A must is to have the High Tea and also Dine at Mr Yakatori. Good Spa Pool to relax in after cycling in the Redwood forest. We love coming to this Hotel & have visited every year for the last 8 yrs or so!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings Rosemarie T, thanks for your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed another visit. I hope you made use of our complimentary Bike Storage Unit we have created with individual lockers and good security. Saves worrying about your bike on the back of the car or taking up space in your room. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel as part of an all-inclusive trip package that we purchased for travel around New Zealand. The hotel is definitely classic in the sense that it looks like it was built in the early 1900's and renovated maybe in the 1950's in terms of design and architecture. It reminds of me a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Debrorah H from South Carolina, thank you for staying with our hotel recently and for taking the time to place some feedback on your stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Rotorua with all the activities and sights to see. Stay safe in your travels. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I love this hotel - older style but mostly renovated, excellent food and I love the grotto spas for a super relaxing time. The service was outstanding and the staff really friendly and helpful. Good location and a lovely big TV for a quiet night in!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings brookecd, thanks for putting up these amazing comments on our hotel & the team. Hope you can get a break away again soon and come for another visit. More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This is a very nice hotel with the location along the Fenton Street strip (motels and hotels all along the side). Has a great size pool and 3 spa pool which are beautiful and hot! Bedrooms were clean and tidy, has everything at your fingertips for a good hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora emjaye2014 thanks for coming to visit. Glad you made use of the facilities during your time here. Did you get to try our extensive buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to your liking? Or Mr Yakitori our Japanese Sake Bar? We hope you will come and visit again soon. More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Nice place for a conference or to stay. Friendly but the quality of the bathrooms was shocking (see image). Would it hurt to clean the bathrooms now and then. Looks good on the surface, But go the the bathroom and you start to wonder. All the taps in the mens toilet were like this or worse.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings Hippynz, glad you enjoyed your stay and the conference. Yes the bathroom facilities in the conference centre are not up to standard (but they are clean). The environment has taken its toll on the fixtures & fittings. That is why in the coming months, they are being completely gutted and re-furbished with all new panelling, walls, fixtures & fittings.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay