We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Rotorua hotels

Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
70%
Ranked #49 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
LeahEast Adelaide, Australia
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    63
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
44
67
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights & wish it where longer. The room was spacious,clean,comfortable. Staff where always there eager to help, friendly & informative. Every thing was done with ease & very accommodating. The facilities were good,we enjoyed a relaxing spa, in room wifi, the Mr yakitori restaurant had nice food but average price & good service.I would stay there again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello LeahEast, Thanks for taking the time to place comments and rank us from your recent stay. Seems you enjoyed your time with us and found some relaxation in your travels. We hpe you will pop back from Adelaide for another break sometime soon. More

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for four nights and found it consistently clean, comfortable and friendly. However, I didn't enjoy the Yakitori, so I didn't eat at the other restaurant, but not a problem as there are good cafes and restaurants in Rotorua. My friend and I arrived out of the blue with no booking, having been disappointed with another place that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Titoki, thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. I’m pleased the team looked after you well and got you sorted into appropriate rooms without any hassle. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy Mr Yakitori. Our other restaurants and bar offer several different menu’s and more “Kiwi Style” if that is what you were after. Hopefully you... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night (30/8/14) as part of a GrabOne deal we got online and were totally blown away. Some hightlights: - Grand entrance! - Really helpful and friendly staff - Room was spacious, modern and beautifully decorated - SKY Sport & Movies - Great bars and restaurants on site. We had lunch, dinner, drinks and breakfast at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings supastarstace, Thank you were the first two words said after reading your comments placed. We are so pleased you enjoyed our refurbished rooms, outdoor pool facilities and our many restaurants and bars. There is certainly something for everyone and it’s great you made use of it all. We look forward to welcoming you back again !! More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had 2 nights here whilst attending a travel medicine conference, for which the hotel is well organised. I had a double room on the 5th floor which was a nice size and had standard decor. One good point was being able to open the windows onto a small balcony. Breakfast was fine with the only sticking point being you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora sejonetwo, were pleased you enjoyed your recent stay, from comments made from other delegates it was a great success. Glad you enjoyed the complimentary nibbles in the bar during our happy hour by the way we run happy every night, Hope you got to relax in the heated pool or Jacuzzi after. Thanks you for taking the time... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Did a mid-week getaway. Even though it was not as luxorius as described at the time of purchase ( the hotel is a bit run down) our stay was perfect. Best part was the staff. From the time I booked the room until the checkout service was excellent. Would stay there again no doubts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello Maryam M, so glad you enjoyed your recent stay and the team was excellent. Yes the reception area is out dated, now but does still flow with the design of the building. I hope you got to enjoy our restaurant and bar outlets, all of which have been refurbished in the last few years and far from run down.... More

Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here to attend a Conference on site. I had a Delux room that was adequate. The walls were a bit thin and had TV noise through the wall at 0200hrs on the first night! The situation was resolved for the rest of the stay. Unfortunately, the room sprung a slight leak during some heavy rain (on was on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings Jim W, I hope your conference was enjoyable and great to hear the food was so good! Our apologies for the noise from the room next door, please never hesitate to advise our team who will get volumes reduced. That storm that came through was a goodie and caused havoc all over Rotorua, We have fixed the leak so... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brought a grabone mystery deal. Location was bit far from cbd.. too far to walk. I did'nt feel safe parking my car in their open carpark overnight. Rooms were dated and not overly clean. Beds we so soft they moved out from the wall when you sat on them. No air con. Heater in the wall was too efficient and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora travellingkiwiaboard. Were sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. The CBD is just a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel down the main road, there are also local buses that circle past every half an hour to assist with transporting people if they do not wish to use their vehicles. Just so you know our... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed in winter at the Distinction. We got a great price/special and it suited us perfectly. We ate at Mr Yakitori and had a lovely meal. The room was perfect for a couple and our 4 year old. We went into the hot pools and loved the little grotto spa pools. Our room was clean, warm and cosy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Susan H, thank you for your recent stay at Distinction Rotorua with your family. Even in the middle of winter our outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi can still entertain and the private grotto spas some with waterfalls can provide get relaxation. Glad you enjoyed Mr Yakitori and I trust you enjoyed the Extensive buffet breakfast in our Kowhai... More

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I recently stayed here for our 2nd time and stayed 3 nights in one of the deluxe super king rooms. The room had a lot of space and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were amazingly friendly and went out of their way to help. We ate at Mr Yakitori, had high tea at The Pavillion... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings Kate2626, Wonderful that you could visit us again. And pleasing to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you got to enjoy just about every restaurant plus the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. Fantastic that the staff were there to assist where ever needed. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rotorua. More

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I had two nights at Rotorua Distinction as I had a conference to attend. The room was very disappointing with no heating, only a little ancient fan heater- quite unacceptable in the middle of winter! I did complain and was kindly offered an upgrade; this room had modern wall paneled heaters which worked properly. Surely all rooms should have adequate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Iaibale you are correct and yes all rooms should a have adequate heating ,the unit in the room your were first assigned was fixed the next day. In regards to the gym equipment, again we have had our maintenance team go over the items. You are correct we do not have the most up to date equipment, but... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rotorua with
any amenities