We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Princes Gate Hotel

1057 Arawa St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Princes Gate Hotel
Share an Experience

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    120
    65
    45
    29
See reviews for
71
227
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (443)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (134)
All months
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfast was very good, and the staff were all very helpful. Location was great too -- right between the park and downtown. It is an old hotel and because of that has some quirks, but we tend to like that. There were quite a few more modern hotels outside of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the newer section of this historic hotel - which meant more room. It was conveniently located: right next to the Government Gardens, and easy walking distance to the water and "Eat Streat", which has loads of restaurants. We kept our windows open all night, which, unfortunately, let in the sulphur smells and the swimming pools were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay. We particularly appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our reception team and the service & cleanliness ratings for the hotel. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment in our plunge pools and will ensure our Booking.com page clearly reflects these are plunge pools and not lap pools.... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gorgeous old fashioned gem. Friendly staff, great location. Reasonable price. Lovely bar, which is a bit undercooked by drinkers. It's a great place to drink and even lovelier to stay. Nice to stay in a hotel rather than a motel .

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the Princes Gate Hotel and its wonderful location and History. We are very proud of the history and facilities the hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in NZ. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must admit I was a little bit worried about staying here after reading some awful reviews. However i did not encounter any of the problems that others faced. I led a group of 20 people booking out 10 rooms. From the outset Kerri had us taken care of with the Dinner and Show package. We arrived to a well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your group stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history, the service our staff members provide and aim to provide a unique guest experience on every occasion. We are really pleased your group enjoyed their time with us including the dinner and show option. We... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This historic boutique hotel is beautifully kept up with lots of interesting history, including rooms named for famous historic guests. The interiors are very elegant and Victorian, and all the staff is incredibly friendly and professional. They even serve a 'high tea' which looked lovely! The location is extremely walkable to restaurants and the waterfront. The hotel is directly across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and heritage decor and try to ensure that each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era are renowned for. In terms of the sulphur, unfortunately this is out of our control,... More 

Beloit, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed here for three nights in March 2015. Despite all of the negative reviews on here we had an excellent experience. The staff were very friendly and carried our luggage to our room for us. The place is beutifully decorated and the rooms are very nice. Yes there is a sulfur smell- can they control it..no! If you don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the Hotels history and heritage decor and aim to provide a unique guest experience. We appreciate your feedback, particularly with regards to previous reviews. We would like to note that we do have additional pillows in all rooms... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a hard hotel to rate. It is an old historic hotel. Some of the rooms in the newer area are suites, some have nice views, some are air conditioned--I didn't stay in any of these. I had an inside room (I believe #20). There was one window that looked out onto a covered walkway, with people walking right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay the Princes Gate Hotel. As you note, we do have a variety of rooms available of varying sizes, decor and price points, as well as a wonderful central location. We would like to note that all of our rooms have fans which aid with circulation on what have... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment I stepped into this hotel I felt like I was stepping back in time. In a great way!! As much as I like new flash hotels this hotel enchanted me straight away because it wasn't. I was even escorted to my room which was a very nice touch! The decor was lovely throughout and I especially loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. We are very proud of the hotels heritage decor and aim to provide each guest experiences the old world hospitality that hotels of this era are renowned for. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage soon. More 

Rotorua District, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful old building and what a disappointing experience! Our room was not cleaned - it still had rubbish in it from the last guest, as well as their hair in the bathroom. The shower screen was filthy and the toilet trickled all night, keeping us awake. Our complaints to management were met with frank indifference. Indeed we found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel recently. While we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we would like to note the following; Upon being advised that the room allocated to you had not had the fridge cleaned and takeaway items removed from it( and for this there is... More 

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes the floor boards creak, but the rooms are comfortable and well maintained? The front of house staff are either inexperienced or poorly trained. I was never really made to feel welcome, nor did I feel comfortable about asking for advice or recommendations. A hotel cannot thrive on history alone, this is the 21st century!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel that our team members provided the welcoming service (and recommendations) that we would expect them to provide. We will follow this up with the Front Office Team as we pride ourselves on the high... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question