We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SilverOaks Resort Heritage

349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    48
    39
    36
    76
See reviews for
100
50
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were double charged (so over charged) when we stayed one night at Silver Oaks in Feb 2015. Rate was 86.00 per night. The motel charged us $86 on our debit card when we checked out, but also $86 later on our credit card which we had provided when we made the booking. Total of $172. I contacted the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ohope
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

General Manager John Chetty was superb . The heated pool was great way to relax . Value for money was good. hopefully the upgrade keeps happening as john deserves to be very busy and being an example to other managers in the Hospitality industry

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly the hotel manager was lovely. From the moment we walked in he was delightful, warm and welcoming. He is the best thing about this hotel. I'd be back if he was running a different more up to standard hotel. The rooms are awful. They look like they were built 30 years ago and nothing done to them since. Carpets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, and for the price I paid it was worth every cent. The general manager, John Chetty was absolutely amazing, was very helpful from the moment I stepped into his office! And because the hotel was at its quietest peak, he allowed us to stay in the room which included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I stayed over the Easter Weekend. Being a busy time we understood That Jon the Manager would be also, however, he still had time to arrange another room for us when the first wasn't big enough (at no extra charge). I found management to be polite, accommodating and generous. We enjoyed our spa (in room) and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked without checking reviews, big mistake. Advertised as having wifi, Sky tv, air conditioning & mini bar, among other things. Unfortunately, our room had none of these. In fact, the decor in our room was as I remembered it in the 80's when I was last there. Not sure about the state of the other rooms, but in our unit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. The resort does have wi-fi available in all rooms, and the access codes can be obtained from reception. You are correct we do not have air conditioning in the rooms, but we do not advertise air conditioning in any advertisement, nor we do advertise mini bars. All rooms have central heating,... More 

Waikoloa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This to the worst place to stay, don't waste your time and money. Besides having to smell the sulfuric acid air, the room was falling apart with multiple things not working(no air conditioning, curtain rod fell off the wall, bed hard as rock etc). We had booked for 2 nights not knowing that this smell existed and my husband became... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review

Rotorua is a fantastic venue, and it is an incredible City to explore, offering cultural attractions, amazing views, adventure activities, and great people When you visit Rotorua you must see the Redwood Forest, The Buried Village, Te Puia home of the Pohutu Geyser, Wai-O-Tapu, Waimangu Valley, Polynesian Baths, Musuem, Government Gardens, Hells Gate, Mitai, Tamaki Village, Rainbow Springs, Paradise Valley,... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

think of the worst motel experience and triple it. the first room they gave us had a lamp broken in half with all the wires exposed, the tv had no leads!, and all the lights, the ones that were working that is were fizzing and flickering. the bathroom was disgusting, and i would only have stayed in that room if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to receive your comments We are constantly trying to improve the property, and we do regularly undertake upgrading projects. In the past there have been a number of comments about the condition of the pool, we have taken these on board, and we have started a program to refurbish the pool. just last Friday the pool... More 

Maketu, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We had a family of 35 booked into this hotel from Friday to Monday during the Easter weekend period. Firstly, the room i was given was not the room i had viewed and booked. It was also grotty with carpet worn away, slime in the toilets and felt dark and gloomy, However, with a complaint, i was shifted to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review

We do appreciate your feedback We wish to remind you that your room was not actually brocken into, and this is confirmed by the signed note that you provided to us, as you pointed out to us your son went for a swim after 11pm, and left the door to your room open and unlocked, and after his swim he... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

very bad experience! Please read Google review before u book this motel. Everything is dirty and disgusting. I would rather sleep in my car than in this motel. Lightings looks like gonna fall apart; spa bath with thick yellowish scum; shower box drainage not work. When I check in at the counter, heard the other customers complaining overcharge on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities