We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Hotel deals
1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,033 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was clean and tidy, although the room it self was a little out dated, old furnishings etc. We all slept well and I would happily come back and stay and will probably return later on this year 2016.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank debl212
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The Sudima Hotel was an adequate, comfortable and clean stay. A perfect night stop on our road trip around the North Island. Very good value through a booking website. Right on the edge of lake with a lovely walk to the town and eating places. Staff were lovely and helpful. The breakfast was great too!

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Carpets were in a poor condition. Room had an odour. Noise disturbance at 1.20am in the morning. Contacted reception who mentioned he could not hear anything and no further assistance was provided.!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank raganieg
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Shower head in our room didn't work and we didn't ask to have it fixed or anything, I just had a bath. No worries. The hotel is located among the 'hotel district' of Rotorua right on the edge of Lake Rotorua. The breakfast in the morning was good, full breakfast with a lot of options of hot dishes, cereals, breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank dpcott
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was basic but comfortable, good beds, very good spa and thermal pool, a terrific and exciting Maori cultural show and great buffet food, the desserts surprised us, excellent value as a package.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Ronald Thanks for such a nice review and taking your time to write it, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel, service and cultural experience, hope to welcome you back at some stage in the near future Kind regards More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was reasonable though dated (stuck in the 60's). Food choice was poor as was availability. Resturant Staff disappeared between courses and had to wait half an hour to sort the bill. Not recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peterpiper2016
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thanks for sharing this review, I would like to apologize for the bad experience you had in our Restaurant as there is no excuses for the issues you experienced, I have addressed this situation with our F&B Manager as its not our standard. Kind regards More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great close to the lake but you have the feeling when you enter in the hotel that you are in an hospital. The room is ok, spacious but doesn't look very clean (black mould in the toilet). I had dinner and breakfast in the hotel: the quality and diversity is not good at all. I also see... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sissiburger
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to write this review, I feel disappointed that our facilities and service wasn't up to your expectations or standards, Thanks again for sharing your feedback Kind regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautifully located on the shores of Lake Rotorua, the hotel offers a comfortable old fashioned charm. The room was conveniently situated to easy parking, reception and the dining facilities. Though always busy, I found the staff and facilities always available. The room was well appointed and all needs were met. The staff maintained a friendly attitude throughout our trip. Plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank PetCow101
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for such a nice review, its always rewarding to read that our clients had a nice experience staying with us and that our facilities and location met your expectations Kind regards More 

Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Standard Room had no air conditioning, terrible bathroom facilities and a semi functioning tv (cuts in and out every few seconds). Wifi was borderline un-usable. Fan was brought to the room to substitute for a lack of air conditioning which needless to say, was not effective.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pavby
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to write this review, I have addressed the issues with the WIFI and TV with our maintenance team, thanks for bringing this up to our attention as we haven't received any comments before in regards to this, I am sorry if the lack of A/C in our standard rooms was an inconvenience though... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

a mixup in our choice of room, thought i had booked room with 2 double beds, got a room with 1 double bed, should have been 2 adults and 1 child, they found us a room with extra beds by the pool, but a lower standard, but was fine, bathroom door was off its hinge,which made door jamb a bit,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank danieljO4374NG
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Thanks for such a nice review, and I'm happy to read that we were able to provide you with a room that suited your needs, I will have the door checked by our maintenance team, thanks for bringing this up. Hope to welcome you back at some stage in the near future Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (133)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
#56 of 95 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#46 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#2 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#45 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#42 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay