We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
56%
Ranked #62 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
AnonymousAuckland Auckland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (531)
  • Photos (102)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (108)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    202
    156
    64
    25
See reviews for
115
205
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for a 30 year reunion of a university graduating class, for 2 nights in June. We had room 336, upstairs ( no lift, but that was fine), overlooking another building with small gardens in between, and also you could see a car park. It was easy to get across a path to the main building for Reception and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Firstly booked my phone this hotel 1 month prior to arrival. On arrived (entrance beautiful) was informed there was no reservation. To their credit they found a room and with a wee water view. Room out dated bathroom so small it was impossible to have you clothes in the bathroom when you had a shower. The room was freezing so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The lobby was fine, but the room looked like a 70's Holiday Inn". The bathroom was cramped with broken tile and a badly stained toilet. The carpet was in need of replacement and the room cramped, to top it all off, the management was clueless on how to process our reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Sudima Hotel in Rotorua was the perfect escape for the kids in the holidays, great rooms, friendly team, pool table to keep teenagers happy and swimming pool for seven year old. Breakfast amazing brilliant stay thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hawera, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent four nights here in July and found the hotel adequate for our needs. With so much to do in Rotorua we spent most of our time out of the building. The room and beds were comfortable and made up each morning. The rooms and the corridors in our section looked a little tired but this did not distract from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to know that we are continuing our process of installation of more airconditioning into guest rooms in preparation for summer, with a large number of guest rooms already including this important feature. More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a cheap deal for a two night weekend stay via the internet. We were made very welcome by the reception staff and were shown to a nicely appointed if slightly dated room. The room had all that we needed for our stay. It was nice and warm as we were there in the winter so the warmth was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as the excellent value for money that our property provides. I do apologise for the issue you encountered with the wifi system, we are in the process of upgarding it to ensure that the quality is what one would expect to receive. More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sudima hotel is the right place if your looking for a cheaper stay. They do keep the rooms clean and the service is good. What you may not be aware of is the strong smell of sulfur which follows you around everywhere throughout the hotel. Overall it is a good average place to stay at and its the right price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that the rest of your trip to our country was also most enjoyable. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay rooms where clean & tidy and warm, wifi connection was poor . Good location friendly staff. Hot spa was a hit as well as the pool .Restaurant prices where expensive should be more options for family dining due to cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have already commenced a programme of upgrading our wifi system in order to ensure that it can cope with demand during the holiday periods. I am sorry that we did not make you aware of the many light meal options available here, at very competitive prices. Thank... More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was disappointed with the disable facilities. The room was 100m from the dining room via a uncovered area which linked the different areas. The dining area was not accessible because of the sunken lounge and we had to use a fire door which gave access but the coffee/tea was still in the sunken area. The disable shower was broken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for making us aware of some of the issues you encountered from a disability access perspective. The physical layout of the property is obviously not something that we are able to change but thank you for pointing out some of the issues which can be addressed. I am pleased that you enjoyed... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was relatively clean and quite spacious, however the service was slow, and the workers were not friendly. The scent of sulphur from the lake can become very prominent at times, but that is the price you pay for being close to the water. Breakfast and dinner at their restaurant was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you felt that our wonderful team was not friendly enough on this occasion, but I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant in particular. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 884, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#18 Spa Hotel in Rotorua #40 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua #62 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
250

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer