We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    70
    61
    52
    95
See reviews for
74
123
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (292)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Sassafras, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Admittedly the hotel isn't the nicest in Rotorua, however our room directly overlooked the geyser and was just out of the main area of town which we were happy about. It was worth every cent staying here and if i ever come back i will definitely be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a horrible place to stay. We found the staff friendly enough but the place is a wreak. I wish i had have read these reviews first.....we would have never stayed here. Could go on and on with the issues.....we were lucky (or unlucky) to get moved to another room. The bed was more comfy and we had a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are sorry you were not warm enough, all rooms do have central heating, there is a radiator in each room and they do keep the rooms very warm I sorry we do not have under floor heating or heated towel but I am sure you appreciate we do not advertise these, and we do... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very outdated , poorly maintained and not central to CBD, several power points unusable ,unable to close curtains as hooks have become separated from curtain rail we climbed on chair and reattached but became unattached when opened the following morning. Very low pressure in shower with open manhole in shower ceiling. Towels supplied were extremely thin with frayed ends, these... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The WORST Hotel I've ever been to. NEVER returning and NEVER recommending. What kind of a hotel refuses to give you a towel? or sell WIFI codes when it doesn't even work?? or tells you to go away and come back later because there is a queue behind you??? LOVED: 1. The view HATED: 1. RECEPTION: when we checked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Proper Maintenance and Management Needed! What used to be a great hotel has aged into nothing but that. Although some discolouration was expected given that it is in Rotorua, but mould wasn’t expected. The water pressure was one of the lowest we have experienced. There was no functional wifi in the room, even though advertised otherwise. One room was missing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

A Budget hotel a little out dated but with views you cant get any where else surprisingly Comfortable with all the needs from a hotel Bed was soft not much in the way of T.v channels to choose from and as we were there mid week breakfast was Adequate. Close to all main attractions it suited our needs for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I regret very much that I paid for three nights and didn't fight for my money back when we left the next morning, but if I'd had more courage I would have marched right back down to the nice old woman at reception and demanded my money back when we'd arrived late at night. Even if you're looking for budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do appreciate that you were under the impression your deal you purchased included free continental breakfast, and we are sorry that when we pointed out to you the deal did not include breakfast, that you got upset over this We appreciate you expected free breakfast, but as your deal did not include this, we were not able to provide... More 

Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Great view over mudpools, fridge, tea & coffee in room, roof fan, heater, lovely white linen & accommodating staff Really appreciated 2 x double beds for an extra $3, and the no charge offer even though the dvd didn't work). So if you're looking for somewhere clean to rest & if you don't get noisy people ~ drumming on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Arriving at reception, we were greeted with a nice lady who quickly set us up for a room. We booked a double room with a view, got room 824. Nice view, great vantage point over the geyser, but the room itself was a bit disappointing. The double bed was rubbish, we kept rolling into the middle, with poor springs etc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

After reading the reviews we were prepared for worst. Arriving at reception we warmly greeted - there was a bit of confusion about our booking with Wotif where our rate included continental breakfast when it wasn't supposed too. They dealt with that confusion professionally, honoured it and gave us our room key. Our room ticked all the right boxes, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
#44 of 96 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#43 of 96 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#65 of 96 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#48 of 96 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#58 of 96 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Motor Lodge
Rotorua Motor Lodge
#63 of 96 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay