We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

3.5 of 5 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    66
    55
    49
    83
See reviews for
67
111
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (266)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I think this place got decent reviews... but it just felt yucky. yellow and brown is not a good color to decorate with. There was not one bit of décor on the walls. The beds were so uncomfortable. Our carpet was actually duct taped in one place and a cheap mat thrown on top of it. The TV was from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am guessing from your review that you actually stayed a few years ago. There was a resident cat called Shadow, but it died four years ago, so I do not think that you stayed with us recently. We do not have any brown and yellow decor, the walls are painted ivory, I am guessing you stayed some... More 

Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a low cost motel and we had a great view of the geyser and mud pools, with the expected smell, however the room was basic and the cable for the TV was broken. It seemed clean but sadly a very tired hotel needing refurbishment. The breakfast was minimal. We used it as a stopover to travel on to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I know its a cheap hotel but not the cheapest in town and yes we did read the reviews before booking on this site but really just wanted the view so paid for a room overlooking the mud pools and requested as high a floor as possible.When we booked in it turned out we was on the ground floor which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do appreciate that all guests staying at the Hotel had a disturbed night as a result of the fire alarm being activated. Unfortunately a guest put the plug in the bath and turned the taps on, and then sat on the bed and fell asleep, leaving the bath running. As a result it flooded the room, and the room... More 

Vancouver. BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did not book this hotel through trip advisor, we booked the hotel on site at Hobbiton and paid $122.00 for the night. We were promised free wifi - this was not true. We were told breakfast was included and the manager tried to tell us it was not. We got to our room #844 to find it shabby and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do advise that if a reservation is cancelled on the day, then the cancellation policy does apply. We received a request that you wished to cancel your reservation as you had changed your plans, at that time we pointed our the cancellation policy, that you were advised at the time of booking Kind Reagrds More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For people who are complaining their butts off who stayed here. May I just remind you how little you paid to stay here. Not going to lie. We were not looking forward to staying here after booking a mystery deal on wotif and seeing the reviews. We even did a full bed bug check because the reviews freaked us out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We are pleased that your found the room very clean and comfortable We do have a great housekeeping team, and they do take pride in maintaining the rooms to a high standard of cleanliness. The Hotel does offer exceptional views over the Geyser and Mud Pools, and we are continuing to upgrade the Hotel More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Honestly, can't complain too much because it was quite cheap, almost the same price as staying in a backpackers.... but half of the stuff advertised had been closed for what looked like months. The receptionist was not welcoming or friendly, no enthusiasm what so ever (understandable, working in a place like that.) We booked a room for 4 people and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waipukurau, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

how can u expect people to pay over $100 for a room that is barely worth $50 , we had stained carpets we had scuffed walls WE ONLY HAD ONE TV CHANNEL no phone . there was a fire alarm at 2 in the morning and there was no staff anywhere to be seen no one checked to see if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do appreciate your your stay was disturbed by a fire alarm that went off at 2.30am I am sure you do appreciate we had to evacuate all rooms for safety, with regret another guest had put the plug in the bath and turned the taps on, and then went to bed, and forgot they had left the bath running.... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Didn't have high hopes given the price but the room was clean, tidy enough with comfortable enough beds. Hotel is VERY outdated though. We were unable to get the wifi in our room on the 3rd floor but a quick walk downstairs meant we could connect easily. Continental breakfast was basic, cheap white bread and cereal but it was free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do appreciate your feedback The views from the Hotel are amazing, the view of the Pohutu Geyser and mud pools are stunning We are pleased you found the rooms clean and great to hear you had a comfortable bed and great night sleep Thank you for staying with us More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I got a warm room, nice bed, continental breakfast. Met the manager who was very nice she knows its not perfect and has a plan to upgrade but like all things it takes time. Had a view to die for that cancelled any issues I might mention and because of that view alone the room was FANTASTIC!!! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wokingham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I will admit that I did not have high hopes about the quality of this hotel when I booked it but I decided that, in this case, I would accept what I found as the price for getting great view of the Te Puia site. I had booked the rooms months in advance and was not amused when I checked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay