We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    67
    56
    50
    89
See reviews for
71
115
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (276)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
ramsgate
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If anyone was thinking of staying here Don't , its grim,we arrived and had already booked for 2 nights,we had booked 2 rooms with Balconies, which we didn't get, however after inspecting our rooms, which were dirty stained carpets musty smell chipped paintwork, and my brothers bathroom had about 8 large tiles missing from the bathroom wall. Grubby shower curtain,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thames, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival staff very friendly and tried hard to get us a room with a view. Hence put us on the 3rd floor where we had the most magnificent view over the mud pools and wonderful geysers. The TV only has 3 channels. Prime has no sound. But we read instead. The BATH to die for. Huge and comfortable. Clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel. The hotel does offer some amazing views over the Geyser and mud pools, great to hear you had a great night sleep and had time to relax in the room Thank you once again Kind Regards Management More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

absolutely loved the views from the hotel room there is no other place in rotorua I would stay, quite central to everything, wake up take in views of the geysers erupting, the steaming thermal areas and mud pools. the room was very cosy too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments We look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards More 

New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked our accommodation via Booking.com and received confirmation from the hotel that the booking was accepted. On arrival, the staff didn't acknowledge us until I said "hello". They then spent about 5 minutes trying to decipher the computer system, making comments like, "no, someone's in that room", "yes, but she booked a room with a view". I asked if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the hotel is a little tired and run down our room was large and clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable and although the fixtures were dated and a little worn they were all serviceable.We had a ground floor room but the view of the geyser was great and there were tables and chairs outside the room that enabled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

This place was 90% disaster from the minute we arrived. Check in took ages. The room was run down. The carpets were stained. The bathroom had mould on the mould around the window. We didn't even use the shower! (We showered at the hot pools). The swimming pool heating wasn't working. The spout pools were not working. We could hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We booked two rooms side by side in advance. On arrival one room looked like someone had just tried out the bed, the other had a half full can of coke left on the bench. Another room had to be arranged. Decor is rundown, towels were old and scratchie. Mattress was coming apart. Tiles missing off the bathroom wall. Curtains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I booked to stay here for 5 nights night's while I was down here for some work. I stayed only 1 night! 1st: The hotel is severely run down, the décor is old, smelly & dusty (Not good for any one who may have asthma), broken legs on the 1920's table, Draw handles came off when I tried to put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Dear Karen You are correct you booked a 5 night stay through wotif, on a special deal that was a non refundable booking, there was the option to pay more and if you needed to change your plans it would have been refundable On the morning of the third night stay you came to reception and advised you had been... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I booked into this hotel for a 3 night stay, was totally disgusted with the condition of the hotel and the cleanliness. First night was so shocking that we moved out the very next morning. Ask the Manager for a refund but was told that Greg Wilson (son of the owner) refuses to give refunds. My stay in New Zealand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Dear Hayley As you are aware you booked a deal with Agoda that was stay two nights and get the third night free. You advised that you had changed your plans and would not be staying the third night, and asked for a refund for the third night, as we explained the third night was free and hence you were... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I think this place got decent reviews... but it just felt yucky. yellow and brown is not a good color to decorate with. There was not one bit of décor on the walls. The beds were so uncomfortable. Our carpet was actually duct taped in one place and a cheap mat thrown on top of it. The TV was from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am guessing from your review that you actually stayed a few years ago. There was a resident cat called Shadow, but it died four years ago, so I do not think that you stayed with us recently. We do not have any brown and yellow decor, the walls are painted ivory, I am guessing you stayed some... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question