We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked online and thought we had got a bargain but....having now read some of these reviews, we sadly have a similar story. Peeling wallpaper, noisy room, cockroaches in the bed and to cap it all a faulty fire alarm that woke us twice in the night. Feel sorry for the staff, who tried their best to help us, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia R
Howick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was dated and furnished minimally. Room was basically a bed a a small tv that had seen better days. Bathroom was dated and not really clean. We only booked here as we planned a last minute overnight stay and Rotorua was booked out due to Un40 concert

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMere2014

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Te Aroha, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We paid $140 on line and firstly got put into Gwendoline Court in Fenton street, the spa didn't work, holes in the wallpaper, carpet was threadbare, no couch in the lounge, cockroaches, rotten holes in the wooden spa deck, grubby, we aked for money back and was offered a unit at SilverOcks also owned by them, at first a better... More 

Helpful?
Thank shaneaaaaaaaaa
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The motel seems to be run to the end of its life and we had to wonder when it's bring retired. Falling door knobs, Windows that no longer work, not the cleanest facilities etc. However! It's our second time there in ten years and I feel blessed to have discovered it. For that price, the views offered are majestic. Soon... More 

Helpful?
Thank BudgiesLondon
Moranbah, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival was greeted by kind staff the hotel itself needs a face lift but has the best view of Geyserland right next door. You would need a vehicle or would need to order a taxi to get to the main shops unless yr up for a long walk. Would advise that you ask if you could have room looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1600088Terry
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on the property The Hotel does offer incredible views over the Pohutu Geyser More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The price was cheap so I wasn't expecting anything flash but what we got was not worth the price we paid. The pool was yellow so I decided not to go for a swim. They advertised a sauna and a spa pool but both were broken. They advertised a gym which a had a non working tread mill and two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ally_1903
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Dear Guest whilst we thank you for your feedback, we are unable to accept your feedback, the pool is cleaned every day, and is certainly blue, the spa is open and available to guests, but is closed for 2 hours per day for cleaning. The rooms are hotel rooms, advertised with tea and coffee facilities, the rooms do bot have... More 

North Shore City, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Now normally I wouldn't complain too much about a hotel/motel seeing as it's never as good as home but this place takes the cake! Nothing that they advertise on their site is available for use... No heated pool and tho it's summer it was freezing and not overly clean, spa pool though working was an extra $10 for 30 mins... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwen F
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback The outdoor pool is not a heated pool, and we do not advertise it as a heated pool, it is a popular pool during summer. The televisions all offer 30 plus channels, we are a little surprised by your comment in relation to the carpet, as the carpet in... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I begin!? First of all we booked two rooms for the Silver oaks-heritage hotel. One was a family apartment with a kitchen and the other was a one bedroom for a couple. When we arrived at the heritage to check in, the first clerk passed us off after five minutes. Then the manager waited on us but he... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rrdino2003
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Stayed here the night, very basic. the complex so needs an update and paint. FOr the price they charged the sauna and spa didn't work and was not going at the time yet they advertised this on booking.com. Wifi was put at times, and should be free like most other places offered. was surprised they didn't have milk for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AaronNZW
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback The spa is fully operational, but we do close it for two hours per day to be cleaned We have just recently changed from UHT milk to the creamer, as we had feedback the guests did not like the UHT milk, and preferred the creamer, we are perhaps best to keep some of both Thank... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

The hotel itself is shabby and everything that other visitors have said about missing tiles, jammed doors and towels that get taken away in the morning and returned in the afternoon is true. The manager is very friendly. We came here with a large group and she upgraded our rooms so that we can have a view of the geyser.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mytreehut
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback We do change the towels everyday, and they are colected by the housekeeping staff and are sent to a commercial laundry, the towels are delivered to us normally at 1pm, when they are placed in the rooms, if a guest checks in before 2pm, the check in time, the housekeeping staff will still deliver the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (159)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#45 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#46 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#57 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#67 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay