We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    72
    61
    52
    96
See reviews for
74
126
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (297)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Geyserland was like staying in a hotel at hostel prices. The room had an excellent view of the Geyser, we could watch it erupt all night, and saved us paying $60 for the tour. There was also T.V. Heater, Kitchenette, and Bathroom. The free continental breakfast was great too. The staff here were also very friendly and helpful. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We received excllent service at this hotel, with the staff bringing us a continental breakfast to our room with a lovely note saying they brought it to us so we could enjoy breakfast in bed. I would highly recommend this hotel as it has the best views of the rotorua mud pools - such a great experience. The rooms was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltburn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The manager Shariffah was a darling host. I walked in the door and I was greeted with the welcome news that I had been upgraded to a geyser view room (usually costing extra) she was friendly, courteous and did everything she could to help me. I paid peanuts for the room and for a 2 and a bit room suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gisborne - East Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose to book at the SilverOaks Geyserland hotel because of its locality - we were a team of 24 senior women on a golfing trip to Rotorua Golf Course (which is located just across the road). 23 of us found the room facilities more than adequate and the only complaint was with a shower head needed attention. The beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dirty, filthy, run-down, smelly fridge, no wifi connection in our room! Carpet was stained too dirty to walk barefoot, Sofa had white stains & dirty. Beds are old, Dated furnishing. We also had a mysterious locked door in our room which was creepy!. False advertisement to the T, nothing like what it described and photos very deceiving! What did it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Sassafras, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Admittedly the hotel isn't the nicest in Rotorua, however our room directly overlooked the geyser and was just out of the main area of town which we were happy about. It was worth every cent staying here and if i ever come back i will definitely be staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

What a horrible place to stay. We found the staff friendly enough but the place is a wreak. I wish i had have read these reviews first.....we would have never stayed here. Could go on and on with the issues.....we were lucky (or unlucky) to get moved to another room. The bed was more comfy and we had a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are sorry you were not warm enough, all rooms do have central heating, there is a radiator in each room and they do keep the rooms very warm I sorry we do not have under floor heating or heated towel but I am sure you appreciate we do not advertise these, and we do... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Very outdated , poorly maintained and not central to CBD, several power points unusable ,unable to close curtains as hooks have become separated from curtain rail we climbed on chair and reattached but became unattached when opened the following morning. Very low pressure in shower with open manhole in shower ceiling. Towels supplied were extremely thin with frayed ends, these... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

The WORST Hotel I've ever been to. NEVER returning and NEVER recommending. What kind of a hotel refuses to give you a towel? or sell WIFI codes when it doesn't even work?? or tells you to go away and come back later because there is a queue behind you??? LOVED: 1. The view HATED: 1. RECEPTION: when we checked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Proper Maintenance and Management Needed! What used to be a great hotel has aged into nothing but that. Although some discolouration was expected given that it is in Rotorua, but mould wasn’t expected. The water pressure was one of the lowest we have experienced. There was no functional wifi in the room, even though advertised otherwise. One room was missing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.1 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#38 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#62 of 95 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#56 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
Four Canoes Hostel and Bar
#19 of 53 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Motor Lodge
Rotorua Motor Lodge
#60 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay