We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

VR Rotorua Lake Resort

366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    54
    34
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
81
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my partner as we had a voucher for cheap accommodation. The staff were friendly enough when we arrived but seemed a bit put out by our cheaper accommodation. We found the room to be adequate but a little cold and it took forever to heat up. Breakfast was quite good in the morning with lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Te Puke, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent one night at the hotel and that included dinner. The grounds are quite nice and the view across the lake of the Autumn trees was truly beautiful. Our room was a Lake View with a small balcony and very nice indeed. It did have a broken hinge on the wooden screen between bathroom and bedroom but was otherwise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay thank you. Beautiful room with stunning view - thanks so much for the up grade!!!! Your service was so helpful and caring. The resturant was a little busy so we did choose to drove back to town - but the breakfast was really fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing resort with stunning views, highly recommended if you heading to rotorua. Very helpfull staff who guided me a lot as it was my first visit to roturua. Awesome service with a big smile on their face all the time. Your restaurant food was fabulous and i enjoyed every second i spent in your resort. In short u just cant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the entire VR Rotorua Lake Resort team I'd like to thank you for your praise. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience here and we hope to have the opportunity to host you and your family, friends in the near future. Regards, Vivek More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are fantastic and so friendly they go out of there way to be totally friendly and helpful in every way. The reason I will not give them a five star and they are holding onto a four star is because the dinner in the restaurant in the evening was absolutely fantastic, otherwise due to the fact the offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest. Thanks for your constructive feedback and i appreciate for your kind words for my staff. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping... More 

Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 2 nights on our trip to Rotorua. The hotel grounds are beautiful but the rooms themselves could still use some updating (90s style box tv, limited wifi) and the room smelt pretty musty, which I'm assuming was from older carpet that might need replacing. Our only other complaint was noise. The walls here seemed quite thin and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff . We are in process of refurbishment and already started with our ground floor rooms. You stayed in lake view king room which are on 1st floor and we will be upgrading them all. It will be done by end of june 2015 and... More 

Hertfordshire, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and really loved the location. The hotel is 2 stories with verandas or balconies facing a lawn leading to a lake. There are herons, cormorants, swans etc on the lake and it's worth getting up early to watch the sunrise. Breakfast was adequate - not a huge range but ok and the restaurant overlooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. Our property is certainly unique, that is what we are most proud of. We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do. Your comment for reception staff had been noted and address to Front office Manager to rectify. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My self and one mate stayed there over the weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful with all the knowledge. The view to the lake was amazing. The air-con was efficient, the shower was great with good pressure. The WIFI was not too fast but was reasonably good. Not sure about the food was eating out all the time. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for the 5-star review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at VR Rotorua Lake Resort. We look forward to hosting you again during your next trip to Rotorua. Regards, Vivek More 

Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a disaster staying there. The reception guy was extremely rude towards women! He spoke to my partner and l in a total different manner! When l expressed my dissatisfaction about his service and attitude , he responded "I will only Speak to your partner, if you can just keep quite"! All our guests were shocked about the service.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am truly sorry to hear about this incident. Allow me to express my sincerest apologies first. I have investigated the matter with my front Office Manager . You checked in around 10 pm and straight away you were not happy with the car parking as it was friday night and we were full house. My staff... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had one night here and loved it.Grand sort of old fashioned feel. Great location, fabulous restaurant and such friendly service. Room was excellent, very spacious and clean. Really good value for money. The breakfast was wonderful and worth including with accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our friendly and helpful staff. We look forward to see you again in near future. Regards, Vivek More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay