We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Amora Lake Resort

366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Amora Lake Resort to your Saves list
Amora Lake Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #38 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
lisapolica2014 Tauranga, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (87)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
45
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The grounds here are beautiful and the facilities are all clean and tidy. Having a sauna was a real treat! We also experienced a wonderful front desk person who went out of his way to return some clothing items that we accidentally left in our room! Fantastic :) Well done Amora Lake Resort. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights in July. It was very cold when we arrived and the room was cold and took a while to heat up. There was no electric blanket and the bedding was quite flimsy.We requested, and were given,an extra blanket. I decided to have a bath to warm up, but the water was only lukewarm. Having said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were fortunate to buy a voucher for a two day break which included bed and breakfast for two people. We arrived to find our beautiful room with a super king bed and a stunning view of the lake. The room was exeptionately clean and well cared for. We had a very good dinner there, although it was quiet with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay at this resort, great staff and a great view. Amazing service and friendly staff. will surly come and visit come again. Really enjoyed our stay and will tell every one about this resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I carefully chose this hotel which looked amazing due to the reviews and the facilities, especially the heated pool and two spas. Unfortunately shortly after we checked in there was a four hour power cut which left us sitting in the dark in our room with a few candles for lighting, and meant we could not use the spas as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at Amora Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kallista123: You had a deal of $189 for two adults for a night stay with $30 voucher for spending on breakfast or dinner, in addition to other coupons for Hells Gate Spa. Due to weather storm our guests had lot of inconvenience. For this we gave you discount of $20 on top of #30 voucher which you had opted... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We originally booked to stay 2 nights but loved it here so much stayed 1 more night at the special rate we paid for our first 2 nights. We had a garden room room which was very clean bed so comfy and the shower was great. The restaurant was excellent and loved the breakfasts. All staff were very welcoming and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at Amora Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sonja a: Thank you for your positive feedback. Hope to see you again. Regards More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came in winter so location not shown off to its best. Peaceful,quiet relaxing setting. Hotel adequate but starting to show its age. Reviews rated the restaurant but two breakfast experiences meant we drove back to a Rotorua to eat. The first morning the food ran out and took a while to be restocked . There was clearly not enough staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, Owner at Amora Lake Resort, responded to this review

Hi Wayne 7777: Understand your concern. Last week we have assigned restaurant affairs to a full time F&B Manager, a very smart, enthusiastic young man with loads of experience. We can assure you of our strict adherence to breakfast timings in future. Pl try our hospitality soon in future. Regards More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our great experience started from when I emailed Amora lake resort to make a booking. They were very helpful and friendly. When we arrived we were greeted by super friendly and helpful front of house. The place is beautiful and clean. The restaurant was fabulous, great service and yummy food. Our bed was really comfortable and the shower was amazing!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at Amora Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gagan_13: Thank you very much for your time to write excellent feedback and look foward to your future visit. Regards More

Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in June this year for a couple of days. A big thumbs up to the hotel staff for making our stay here a memorable one. They were very helpful & courteous. A special thank you to the GM for going out of his way to make us feel comfortable and to make our holiday a great one. Amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at Amora Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear GavinMitchel: We are overwhelmed with your excellent comments. We feel more excited and rejuvenated to provide top service to our guests. Looking forward to serve you again. Regards More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

really enjoyed the stay great people with great hospitality great food and very friendly staff. will surly visit again. heard a alot about this place from friends and family so really wanted to go and visit. also had a great lake view from our room

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivek s, General Manager at Amora Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear James r: We are glad you enjoyed. For other readers: Apart from the amazing views, there are plenty of activities to do such as, boating cruise, kayaks in Rotoiti lake, cycling within or outside the complex, play tennis during day or under flood lights, relax in outdoor spa or inside your own room, visit nearby hells gate mud bath... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Amora Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Amora Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Lake Resort

Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Amora Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua #32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The Amora Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the Amora Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
44

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer