We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Gwendoline Court Motel

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gwendoline Court Motel to your Saves list
Gwendoline Court Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
30%
Ranked #93 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
  • Overview
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    7
    12
    10
See reviews for
19
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a room but when we got there and saw the state if it we decided not to stay. The lounge area had a double bed and a very shabby armchair and small stained and dirty side table. Carpet was also very thread bare, very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide your valuable feedback. The rooms are spacious with a queen and sindle bed upstairs and two single beds downstairs. We do have a project plan in place to update the lounge chairs, and we do hope we can accommodate you again in the future Kind Regards Greg More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The motel had heaps of room, the kids loved having their own upstairs area. Was a bit outdated however very comfortable and had everything you could need. Heater worked a treat as did the outdoor spa which we all enjoyed at various times. We extended our stay by an extra day and couldnt have been happier with the friendly service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback The rooms are a great size, and the central heating does keep the rooms warm and cosy at night time Thank you for your comments about the guest laundry We do look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards Greg Wilson More

new zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The unit is very spacious with an upstairs bedroom and has (almost) everything you need (no frying pan, no hairdryer and some other things missing in ours though); it has a very big spa outside and a huge bathroom. However, most of the furniture/sheets/sofas are really old and sometimes dirty or stained. If you're like us and don't normally spend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback We do service the rooms daily, and when we service the rooms the beds are made, dishes are washed and the floors cleaned. I am extremely disappointed that we did not service your room correctly during your stay, and we have addressed this at the motel level. A new staff member had not been... More

Gosford, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Disgusting - the rooms were dirty, the carpet threadbare. Broken or missing tiles around the spa and the spas filter kicks in at around 4.30 am. That combined with the general noise from other residents and the road made for a terrible night. Also, we booked (and paid for) 2 queen beds and arrived to find one queen that looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback We understand that you had requested two queen beds in the room, unfortunately we do not have this configuration in any of the rooms, the rooms have a queen and single bed upstairs and two single beds downstairs. I do appreciate the comment about the spa pool, we have found that the timer had been set... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at this property because they allow animals and they were offering a cheap rate. We were in unit 10. The positives are that the units are huge they have their own thermal pool and the reception lady is polite and willing to help. Shower had good pressure. The bad. This place is DIRTY. Kitchen was filthy and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Since your response we have moved to hired linen, all our linen now comes from Linen Apparell so the sheets are clean, fresh and pressed We are disappointed that you experienced some housekeeping issues, we have recently spring cleaned all the rooms, and I am sure you will find them extremely clean Thank you for... More

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Worst experience ever!!!!! walked in and was horrified the carpets were thread bear, the couch covers were older than I am (37) went up the stairs the bed looked as someone had been sleeping in it ( 2 pillows only positioned in middle of bed and blankets bunched up as if someone had just got out of it) ripped sheets,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to receive your comments, clearly in this instance we did not meet your expectations Since your stay in January we have moved to hired linen, we can now confidently say that we have clean/ fresh and well pressed linen. We have not ungraded the future yet, but we now have plans to upgrade some of the... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

cobwebs falling everywhere, wood broken round spa (dangerous) both my daughter and i got glass splinter in our feet!, no towels had to ask, no toilet paper renewed, massive cockroach under cushion on downstairs bed, stove filthy, no internet, no dvd which it said it had, ant explosion in kitchen, so all in all not a very pleasant 3 nights!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay It appears your room was not serviced correctly during your stay, we have now put a new system in place to ensure that daily services are checked by the supervisor. We understand that you had some housekeeping issues and we have resolved these. We do hope we can accommodate you... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I only hope someone reads this before booking this disastrous accommodation. The place was FILTHY. Carpets threadbare, toilets filthy, cigarette burns, torn curtains, infested with ants. Luxury???? What a joke. Other reviews stated this place was tatty 3 years ago, you can only imagine what it looks like now. Like a squatters den. Completely ruined our visit, and at $150... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in January We appreciate your comments, and the issues you have raised have been resolved Kind Regards More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Yes it's a bit tired and needs a make over but very clean & spacious. Everything was in order and the kitchen was well equipped, the beds were very comfortable and lovely and fresh. The spa area could do with a water blast but it was great to have a spa at the end of the night and we found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback The Gwendoline is a Great place to stay, and great to hear that you found the rooms clean and fresh We accept some of the furniture needs to be updated and we are starting to plan and start a program replacing the furniture shortly Kind Regards Greg More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A friend and myself decided that we needed to get away from all the stresses of Auckland. The temptation to soak in hot baths and unwind in Rotorua was just too good to resist so after some internet hunting I managed to purchase a really good accommodation deal thru Trade Me and Travel Bug. Well what can I say except... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments At the time you stayed we had a large netball team staying with us, and they perhaps enjoyed themselves a bit too much. I am sorry that they disturbed you, we did request that they would respect the other guests staying. I do appreciate your comments about the roof over the spa pool, this has... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gwendoline Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gwendoline Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gwendoline Court Motor Lodge is within walking distance to Puia and the Rotorua International Golf Course, the Motor Inn offers 18 spacious one bedroom apartments, each with spa pool, full kitchen facilities, central heating, wireless internet, digital TV, en-suite with shower, tea/ coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

See which rooms travelers prefer