We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Rotorua hotels

Gwendoline Court Motel

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Gwendoline Court Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gwendoline Court Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #94 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    7
    15
    16
See reviews for
24
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but this motel has been the worst Customers Services ever. My husband and I planned our first family trip with our 2kids to Rotorua and we booked this motel untill we saw the reviews from other customers,so we cancelled this booking 3weeks earlier and rebook elsewhere. We got the phone call from this motel (a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate your email On the day you were expected to arrive we contacted you to confirm with you what time you were arriving. At that point you then advised us that you had changed your plans and were not staying now, we advised you, as per the terms of your reservation that we would be charging 100% of... More 

Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is disgusting. Stained carpet. Sheets and duvets stained. The spa area was filthy and had cigarette buts everywhere. When filled the spa there was brown floaties looked like poo. When trying to sleep there is a street light shining through the kitchen window and no curtain! ! Either renovate it or shut the place down. It has so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide a review. All our linen is hired linen from Linen Apparel and it is fresh and well pressed, there are certainly no stains on any of the linen The spa pools are self filling, so to say that something was floating in the spa is somewhat strange. When a guest... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for the thrifty option in Rotorua for four nights in peak school holiday season. My expectations were not high, lucky!! Cons- TV had one channel, SKY?!?! No way, and that channel disappeared constantly. Only one element on stove worked. One light in upstairs worked. Kitchen cookware where such an odd assortment, one pot one fry pan, lid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thnak you for providing your valuable feedback More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is a disgrace and not recommended you pay good money to stay here. Easily the worst NZ motel I've ever stayed in and embarrassed to think overseas tourists are staying here. Tired and broken furniture, no cooking facilities or kitchenware. Just a bed, old stained table and a broken chair. Even the TV didn't have a remote. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The carpet was worn right through and the TV didn't have any channels working. After getting a new cable we managed to get some channels but the pictures weren't clear. The cups and glasses in the kitchen were dirty. One of the glasses even had lipstick still on it. There were four of us staying at the motel for five... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback We appreciate the concerns you have raised in relation to the kitchen, and we have now addressed all your concerns, we will certainly be paying high attention to detail in the cleanliness of the kitchens Kind Regards More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

The state of the rooms is a poling! There is nothing clean about this place !!! Awful state of anything you see! Dirt!dirt! Dirt!!!!! Nothing else to say! And smell of animal urine, I understand that lodge is pet friendly but this is not acceptable! Stayed over 2night could not wait to leave that sack of dirt! It was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate your comments and feedback We do agree the tap is tarnished, but this is a result of Sulphur, you will find anywhere in Rotorua that metal objects will be tarnished from the Sulphur We do understand that you found the spa pool very clean, but just felt the tap should not be tarnished, and we do appreciate... More 

Gwandalan, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Me and my wife stayed one night that was enough .The carpet was very badly stained looked if someone was sick and they just wiped the carpet it stunk .They had a spa out the back it was stained.It looked like broken espestoss fibro walls at the spar no good at all .What a rip off .Dirty plates .The floors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

The Gwendoline is past her prime. It was rated three stars on the website but looked better online than in real life. I found it tired, worn and grubby. The furniture was scrappy and dirty and the carpet equally poor.Not even the glasses and plates in the kitchen were clean. The heating was broken too. A clear case of you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

As an ex Motel Cleaner, This Motel needs to have the health and Safety Inspectors out to see what I have witnessed and taken photos of. It's the most Unhygenic, disgustinley place I have ever had to endure, the rooms are filthy, broken handles on some of the Windows, the shower head was black, as well other appliances, Glasses weren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SophieAuckland, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback There are certainly no heath and safefty issues. All our linen is fresh hired linen and is of an extremely good quality. We have recently painted the interior of all the rooms, which are now all freshly painted. We do appreciate you found one of the window security stays brocken, and we have now replaced... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Located within a minute's drive or a 10 minute walk from the town's famous boiling mud and steaming geysers, this motel offered us a spacious suite (two huge bedrooms, a lounge and a full bathroom with bath and stand-alone shower) for an astonishing bargain-basement price for two nights. It would suit a large family or two couples. Although there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SophieAuckland, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comments, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gwendoline Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay