We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gwendoline Court Motel

Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gwendoline Court Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very run down, lights didn't work, long black hair in a bed and on towels. People were nice but not even a fan upstairs in the bedroom to keep cool, carpet threadbare. Price was cheapish and the area was OK.

Helpful?
Thank KirstenTighe
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Cant believe an establishment of this low grade is still on the books! totally agree with previous reviewers in all aspects. Feel we have been duped and taken for a ride! Unfortunately we were unable to inspect the property as is our practice as we had booked from overseas and depended on booking sites for accurate information.As our first accommodation... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2016AnneD
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay It is disappointing that you did not raise any issues with us during your stay, that we could have resolved for you We do care about our customers, and we are happy to assist at all times Kind Regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thought the online photos looked ok when we booked this, the checkin experience was OK then we unloaded the car. The stains on the floor and light fittings made me want to spray the room with luminal to see if something terrible happened there. After finding tissues on the floor near the bed and hair in the shower we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well where do I start. The room was in very bad shape , holes in walls, most light bulbs blown,mold in the bathroom walls,threadbare carpets, no door handle on the shower door,broken light fixtures,stained carpet,rubbish overflowing into the carpark ,stunk of urine ,spa area was disgusting holes in walls , smashed roof , very unclean , no tea towels ,... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank 395neilg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

If I could give this a 0 score I would. We booked 2 rooms into the Gwendoline's 'sister motel' silveroaks heritage resort however due to some kind of hot water situation we were moved to the Gwendoline and seriously downgraded from a $130 room to something barely worth paying $40 for. The floor was sticky, the carpet was stained and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace F
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not recommended for any type of visit.not clean,no customer service...etc.Dont try any silver oks chain motels in rotarua.... They not providing what they saying before we go.need to ask for everything.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank aravindak2016
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

This was a dreadful apartment . The carpet was threadbare and dirty and so was the kitchen . We had booked for two nights and left after one and would not have stayed at all if we could have found somewhere else , the towels were dirty and well past use date. The bedroom was equally poor and the spa... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sally1809
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

The photos do not, in any way reflect the desolate state of the units. Our unit was at least 20 years past its refurbishment date. The carpets were worn through and dirty. The sofas were worn through and dirty. The kitchen was old and dirty. The aged spa bath was old and dirty. This kind of false advertising brings the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Docrob9
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

The unit we were booked in reeked of smoke and mustiness and set off family allergies. The single bed didn't fit a teenager so we thought we'd try the fold out. Behind it was a pair of lacy women's undies. The mattress was rotting with clear signs of urine staining. The unit slept 6 but there were only 2 bath... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We started for two nights, very old and dated, some lights not working, dirty, not a place I will be going back to. Sorry there is nothing nice to say about the place. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Darron L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#58 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay