We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Gwendoline Court Motel

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Gwendoline Court Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gwendoline Court Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #93 of 94 Hotels in Rotorua
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    6
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Gwandalan, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my wife stayed one night that was enough .The carpet was very badly stained looked if someone was sick and they just wiped the carpet it stunk .They had a spa out the back it was stained.It looked like broken espestoss fibro walls at the spar no good at all .What a rip off .Dirty plates .The floors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Gwendoline is past her prime. It was rated three stars on the website but looked better online than in real life. I found it tired, worn and grubby. The furniture was scrappy and dirty and the carpet equally poor.Not even the glasses and plates in the kitchen were clean. The heating was broken too. A clear case of you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

As an ex Motel Cleaner, This Motel needs to have the health and Safety Inspectors out to see what I have witnessed and taken photos of. It's the most Unhygenic, disgustinley place I have ever had to endure, the rooms are filthy, broken handles on some of the Windows, the shower head was black, as well other appliances, Glasses weren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SophieAuckland, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback There are certainly no heath and safefty issues. All our linen is fresh hired linen and is of an extremely good quality. We have recently painted the interior of all the rooms, which are now all freshly painted. We do appreciate you found one of the window security stays brocken, and we have now replaced... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Located within a minute's drive or a 10 minute walk from the town's famous boiling mud and steaming geysers, this motel offered us a spacious suite (two huge bedrooms, a lounge and a full bathroom with bath and stand-alone shower) for an astonishing bargain-basement price for two nights. It would suit a large family or two couples. Although there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SophieAuckland, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comments, we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Management More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had booked a room but when we got there and saw the state if it we decided not to stay. The lounge area had a double bed and a very shabby armchair and small stained and dirty side table. Carpet was also very thread bare, very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide your valuable feedback. The rooms are spacious with a queen and sindle bed upstairs and two single beds downstairs. We do have a project plan in place to update the lounge chairs, and we do hope we can accommodate you again in the future Kind Regards Greg More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The motel had heaps of room, the kids loved having their own upstairs area. Was a bit outdated however very comfortable and had everything you could need. Heater worked a treat as did the outdoor spa which we all enjoyed at various times. We extended our stay by an extra day and couldnt have been happier with the friendly service.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback The rooms are a great size, and the central heating does keep the rooms warm and cosy at night time Thank you for your comments about the guest laundry We do look forward to seeing you again in the future Kind Regards Greg Wilson More 

new zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The unit is very spacious with an upstairs bedroom and has (almost) everything you need (no frying pan, no hairdryer and some other things missing in ours though); it has a very big spa outside and a huge bathroom. However, most of the furniture/sheets/sofas are really old and sometimes dirty or stained. If you're like us and don't normally spend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback We do service the rooms daily, and when we service the rooms the beds are made, dishes are washed and the floors cleaned. I am extremely disappointed that we did not service your room correctly during your stay, and we have addressed this at the motel level. A new staff member had not been... More 

Gosford, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Disgusting - the rooms were dirty, the carpet threadbare. Broken or missing tiles around the spa and the spas filter kicks in at around 4.30 am. That combined with the general noise from other residents and the road made for a terrible night. Also, we booked (and paid for) 2 queen beds and arrived to find one queen that looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback We understand that you had requested two queen beds in the room, unfortunately we do not have this configuration in any of the rooms, the rooms have a queen and single bed upstairs and two single beds downstairs. I do appreciate the comment about the spa pool, we have found that the timer had been set... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at this property because they allow animals and they were offering a cheap rate. We were in unit 10. The positives are that the units are huge they have their own thermal pool and the reception lady is polite and willing to help. Shower had good pressure. The bad. This place is DIRTY. Kitchen was filthy and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Since your response we have moved to hired linen, all our linen now comes from Linen Apparell so the sheets are clean, fresh and pressed We are disappointed that you experienced some housekeeping issues, we have recently spring cleaned all the rooms, and I am sure you will find them extremely clean Thank you for... More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Worst experience ever!!!!! walked in and was horrified the carpets were thread bear, the couch covers were older than I am (37) went up the stairs the bed looked as someone had been sleeping in it ( 2 pillows only positioned in middle of bed and blankets bunched up as if someone had just got out of it) ripped sheets,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SophieAuckland, Owner at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to receive your comments, clearly in this instance we did not meet your expectations Since your stay in January we have moved to hired linen, we can now confidently say that we have clean/ fresh and well pressed linen. We have not ungraded the future yet, but we now have plans to upgrade some of the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gwendoline Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwendoline Court Motel

Address: Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwendoline Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gwendoline Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay