We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gwendoline Court Motel

3.0 of 5
Cnr. Fenton & Gwendoline Streets, Rotorua 3200, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Gwendoline Court Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #94 of 96 Hotels in Rotorua
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    7
    15
    21
See reviews for
27
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We would recommend staying here. Just make sure the fridge is working and you know when there are going to be people in the office. There are 3 channels on their TV... And Internet keeps disconnecting for no reason. Internet is pretty fast when it works though. There was a hot tub in the back which made it pretty cool.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, and we really appreciate your recommendation of our property. We look forward to you staying with us again Kind Regards More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was not happy with the hotel. We walked into the room with flies everywhere. One towel one face cloth one tea towel. The bedspreads need updating. The spa area was dirty with moss growing . I would not recommend this motel. I prefer to support local businesses but after this experience I will stick with the big hotel chains.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate your feedback We do normally just put one tea towel in the room, as we do service daily, and change the tea towel each day, from your review you appear to have wanted an extra tea towel, and these are certainly available at reception. If you do require an extra tea towel, please do ask us for... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

He stayed at this motel (because it is pet friendly) on our way to Hastings. We had our 4 month old labrador puppy. The motel is just great - clean, tidy etc but not really ideal if you have a dog. Especially if it needs to go toilet! There were two "grass" areas you could use as toilet areas... 1.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hard to know where to start as there are so many negatives. We used 700 of our Fly Buys points to stay one night here and were booked into Unit 1. Our first impression was one of disappointment at the state of the carpet that has a large number of big stains. Then, there was the sofa covered in food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mooloolah Valley, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Get your act together or close it down. The spa room in my room was disgusting. The unit tired and does not feel clean. I never do reviews but this place is so bad for a $ 125 per night stay that I am motivated to write this.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay We are not sure what was the issue with your spa, all spa pools are located in a private courtyard off the room, they are self filling spa pools, so you just need to turn the taps on and they will quickly full with hot water, which we have ample,... More 

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

So there we were, looking forward to our night at the Tamaki Maori Village – two superannuitants from Taupo and two from Wales (having their first night’s experience in a New Zealand motel/resort). We check in at the Silver Oaks Resort Heritage. They are overbooked. We have been shifted to a sister establishment. Down the road we go to Gwendoline... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback We appreciate your comments and we ahve taken your comments on board and have taken the nessessary steps to resolve the issue your have raised Kind Regards More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

arrived quite late on a friday night , suite only had 2 light bulbs that worked and the tv had 6 channels but 3 doubled up , bed head had holes in it , lights were hanging out of the sockets , turned on outside light to spa area and all fuses blew leaving us in darkness , asked manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I don't normally write reviews but this motel has been the worst Customers Services ever. My husband and I planned our first family trip with our 2kids to Rotorua and we booked this motel untill we saw the reviews from other customers,so we cancelled this booking 3weeks earlier and rebook elsewhere. We got the phone call from this motel (a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate your email On the day you were expected to arrive we contacted you to confirm with you what time you were arriving. At that point you then advised us that you had changed your plans and were not staying now, we advised you, as per the terms of your reservation that we would be charging 100% of... More 

Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

This place is disgusting. Stained carpet. Sheets and duvets stained. The spa area was filthy and had cigarette buts everywhere. When filled the spa there was brown floaties looked like poo. When trying to sleep there is a street light shining through the kitchen window and no curtain! ! Either renovate it or shut the place down. It has so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide a review. All our linen is hired linen from Linen Apparel and it is fresh and well pressed, there are certainly no stains on any of the linen The spa pools are self filling, so to say that something was floating in the spa is somewhat strange. When a guest... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015 via mobile

I was looking for the thrifty option in Rotorua for four nights in peak school holiday season. My expectations were not high, lucky!! Cons- TV had one channel, SKY?!?! No way, and that channel disappeared constantly. Only one element on stove worked. One light in upstairs worked. Kitchen cookware where such an odd assortment, one pot one fry pan, lid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greg W, Manager at Gwendoline Court Motel, responded to this review

Thnak you for providing your valuable feedback More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question