We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Rotorua accommodations

Rock Solid Backpackers

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1140 Hinemoa Street | Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Unlimited WIFI...!
Save Saved
You added Rock Solid Backpackers to your Saves list
Rock Solid Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
91%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Chelsea T Helston, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
6
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I believe we had the same roomie as the guy below.. Been staying in hostels for months now and never come across someone so rude. Obviously this isn't the hostels fault, we just got unlucky. Anyway other than that we had a really nice stay here. Having a free pool table and unlimited free wifi is amazing.. All areas including... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very disappointed. Worst night ever all because of the inconsiderate selfish person in the single bed next to me. Approximately just past midnight he came in made a lot noise then disappeared, only to return at 04.20 putting on the light, moved his belongings around. Then expected everybody else to get sleep. Drip drip sound all night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ian. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Feedback from our guests is extremely important to us and assists us in our continuous improvement. We are sorry that you had a room mate that made noise and woke you. Unfortunately some things are out of our control. Please come visit us again and we will do... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hostel! Located in a great spot near everything and is very secure, with 3 access points at night. They have unlimited wifi access in the main areas of the hostel (which works great and can run Skype!), as well as table tennis, a pool table, xbox, as well as movies. Room was very clean and so... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Amanda We appreciate you taking the time to place your great comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and everything we had to offer! We wish you more fantastic experiences and safe travels! More

Borken, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was recommended from other backpackers we met in Christchurch - and it was the best recommendation ever! The rooms were great, the kitchen was huge and clean. There was free tabletennis, billiard and i think XBox (or Playstation). It was a really comfy stay right in the center of the town! Thanks to the staff for everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Marvin We appreciate you taking the time to place the excellent comments, and we are so pleased you enjoyed everything we have to offer we do appreciate including our centre of town location, great staff and loads of FREE stuff! Its guests like you that make our hostel all worthwhile! We wish you more amazing experiences and safe... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed out time here! It was cleaned everyday immaculately, you got free unlimited wifi and free tea,coffee and herbs for cooking! We have been travelling for 6months from Asia to Australia to NZ and this has by far been out best hostel! It is a family run hostel so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Andy/Beth Thank you for the awesome comments - you both were a real pleasure to host and the kind of guests that make it so much fun working in our hostel! We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and everything we have to offer and if you ever return to Rotorua/NZ we would love to catch up with... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything was brilliant: staff, rooms, location can't recommend highly enough! Special mention for the awesome staff though they're so friendly and helpful :) it's in a really good location for everything in town and out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Laura Thank you for taking the time to place your 'brilliant' comments. We are so pleased you appreciated everything we have to offer especially the great team we have here and our central location and great hostel! Wish you more brilliant experiences and safe travels! More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

!Central location, but noisy at night and early a.m. Fun to watch climbers of all ages climbing. The Wall while relaxing in the lobby of the hostel. Great helpful staff! Need more characters?...?? Good grief!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Lizzie Thank you for taking the time to place your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and helpful staff and amazing Rock Climbing Wall which can be viewed from our main reception lounge!. We wish you more amazing experiences and safe travels and hope you stay with us again if you ever return to Rotorua! More

England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in a private room and enjoyed our stay. It's only a 5 minute walk from the I-site and shops and also 5 minutes to pak n save which is always handy. Our room was spacious and clean and the kitchen is always pretty clean. It's also nice and big with lots of room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for taking the time to place your great comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and everything we have to offer especially our free table tennis, pool table, DVDs and Xbox and UNLIMITED wifi which is available in our main reception lounge and also in our 2nd level lounge area 24/7. We... More

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is well located but the common area (living room, kitchen) don't have any window. My room was just above a night club and I found some insects in the bathroom. After 11 pm the living room is closed so everybody move to the kitchen which is very close to the bedrooms... it resonnated a lot. But the staff... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Alice Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you appreciated our helpful staff. In response to your comments: 1. As our kitchen-dining room is located in the centre of our building it does not have external windows however most guests still find it a bright, spacious and well equipped area and appreciate the tea, coffee and... More

Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cheap rooms, great internet! Good location, friendly staff! all in all really great stay! there was no swimming pool or fitness area, that is why I put it terrible. but u don't need it ... you can just go to lake a put your feeds in it if you want.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa M, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you taking the time to place your comments we do appreciate all the feedback and are very pleased you enjoyed our affordable rates, free unlimited wifi, central location and friendly staff! Sorry you were expecting a swimming pool and fitness area but we have never had these amenities in our hostel so perhaps you have confused these... More

Been to Rock Solid Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Solid Backpackers

Address: 1140 Hinemoa Street | Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Solid Backpackers 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE UNLIMITED WiFiBIG BOLD & BRIGHT!Rock Solid Backpackers recently refurbishing provides a clean, modern and inviting hostel for the intrepid traveller!Located in downtown Rotorua a short walk to all shopping, restaurants, cafes and Rotorua Visitors Centre.We have a large lounge for guests, and a 17m Rock Climbing wall and Art Cinema in our basement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Rock Solid Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Solid Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.