We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Gateway International Motel

263 Fenton St | Glenholme, Rotorua 1310, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gateway International Motel to your Saves list
Gateway International Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #70 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014
christ w Hong Kong, China
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
13
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

One of the few times I didnt check trip advisor reviews before booking. ..what a mistake! Our prepaid room was filthy..carpets look though they have never been cleaned...dust on skirting boards..everything looked dowdy and old..tiles broken..no sign of any repairs or maintenance for a very long time...would not recommend this place. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Yes good location, but stay somewhere else!!!! This place lacks in cleanliness, the furniture is old and rooms need a lot of attention to bring them up the spec..... Very disappointed with the motel. For what you get it's terrible value for money!!! There are plenty of other motels in Rotorua choose one of them seriously!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selina Z, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

It is not surprise that see your review here. You came to the office and asked me for a money refund. I asked you the reason and you said you didn't happy what you get from the room. So I said you could let me know when you checked in, or few hours later or even in the night. You've... More

Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed in Gateway Motel for 5 nights visiting my friend studying there in Rotorua. Great experience, was offered a room beyound my expection. Great communication with the staff, they are friendly and helpful. Will recommand to my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selina Z, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

Hi Christ, so happy to see you put good review for us! It's my pleasure to have you at our motel. Hope to see you next time! More

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We chose to stay here because of the location - in walking distance of where we wanted to be around Rotorua , and it very reasonably priced. Most of the power points in the room didnt work - had to unplug the fridge to boil the jug. Also the cooktop on the stove did not work ( an extra 2... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was with much anticipation that we arrived in Rotorua & booked into the Gateway International Motel. On entering the unit I just about cried. The carpet was filthy - obviously not vaccuumed for awhile. The bathroom & toilet obviously had mould problems that was not able to be covered by a coat of paint. Dishes in the cupboard were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Western, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We went there because they are on special. We thought they are just on special, didn't really expect their quality to be poor. Very old furniture, the duvet was a bit smelly. Have to drag the sheet up close to face otherwise cannot sleep. Very disappointing. We thought we would stay for 2 night, but we only stayed 1. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a great stay at the Gateway International Motel. The service was great and very friendly. Everything worked and was very clean but it was a little old and run down. The free wifi was great and worked really well. I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morrinsville, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Good location we had unit with private spa which was great had everything you need will stay here again.Also has mineral plunge pool housekeeping staff nice and friendly. Oppies the best takeaway food shop in Rotorua just across the road.Walking distance to good range of bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selina Z, Owner at Gateway International Motel, responded to this review

Hi, we are really appreciate your time staying with us and giving us good feedback! All the best to you! More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

came down from auckland for a relaxing weekend only to find no hot water for the spa in the unit,was really disappointed and asked the staff why no hot water only to be told another unit had used their spa all night using up all available water,was offered late leaving as our unit was being cleaned. WON'T BE GOING BACK

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We booked for a night in a studio room, after traveling some distance and arriving late afternoon we looked forward to relaxing in the spa only to be disappointed that there was no more hot water left. However the disappointments continued, the bathroom vanity was not only rotten but also uncleaned from the previous occupiers shaved hairs all around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gateway International Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gateway International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway International Motel

Address: 263 Fenton St | Glenholme, Rotorua 1310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gateway International Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Gateway International Motel. Now UNDER NEW MANAGEMENTOffering clean, comfortable and affordable studio and family units. Our concrete built motel is three levels north-facing. Elevator reaches to the top floor. Radiator heater and hot water thermally heated for all rooms. All studio units come with a spa bath or hot tub. The Motel has two private mineral pools for customer and a trampoline for children to play.Gateway International Motel located only 1minute drive from Rotorua city centre. 15 minutes’ drive from the Rotorua Airport; 3 minutes’ drive from the Lake side, 5 minutes’ drive from Redwood forest, Te Puia Maori village and golf club. Top one Fish ‘n’ chip takeaway shop in New Zealand directly opposite the motel.Gateway International Motel offers 15 self-contained accommodation units with at least one LCD TV for ALL units, offering kitchen facilities and full kitchen for some units. A refrigerator, microwave and cutlery are standard in all rooms. Each room is serviced daily. Owner on-site and on-call 24/7Laundry facilities, BBQ facilities, wireless internet and children’s cot are free of charge. Guest have free pick up from Rotorua Airport. Free off-road parking. Lockable garage for bikes, motorbikes etc. Ironing facilities, DVD player and newspaper are available from reception. Units 1 – 5 (Ground floor) Units 6 – 10 (First floor) Units 11 – 16 (Top floor) ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer