We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Rotorua hotels

Rotorua Motor Lodge

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   418 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rotorua Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Rotorua Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #61 of 93 hotels in Rotorua
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014
T0urist7 Warsaw, Poland
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Motel is owned and managed by Tim, 100% Englishman. He is very nice gentelman and he helped us a lot to plan our time in Rotorua. We rented a clean, large studio units witch a kitchenette with fridge, toaster, microwave, sink. Studio has a nice bathroom with shower. There is one pretty big size bed. Location of the motel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nukz, Owner at Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review

The motel's family owners are very pleased to have sensible and reasonable reviews. We act on any comments wherever practicable. Economic circumstances have slowed the pace of change but we are still moving the motel forward with the object of providing the best budget motel rooms in the city. More

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked in for 1 night. Tim at the front deck was helpful. Studio Room was basic, Lacked enough power points in Living/sleeping area. and also lacked table/Cabinet units for you to put things on. The Bathroom/Toilet was just passable with the floor appearing to have not been cleaned properly under the Hand basin area, as with the shower unit, Orange... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nukz, Owner at Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review

The reviewer makes some good points and we have already acted upon them. The uneven surface of the tiles does slowly accumulate material in spite of the rooms being thoroughly cleaned after every occupation. We do this whilst charging very cheap rates by the way, but we are glad to be reminded that a deep steam clean is required of... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

There are miles of nothing but motels in Rotorua. Do yourself a favor and pick another one. I wasn't expecting or needing much, just a budget place for one night but I wasn't expecting to feel like I was in prison for a night. Not only was the motel aged, run down and dirty, but the cinder block room felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nukz, Owner at Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review

The motel is very sorry our american visitor found the cool Rotorua evening difficult to bear even with the use of the 2KW heater. We will not be expecting him back for the winter! Quite why our modest motel,with even more modest rates-(this guest paid $80NZ) has attracted such venom, we can only hazard a guess. Once this traveler has... More

Huntly
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Once again we have stayed at Rotorua Motor Lodge. We always find Tim and Faith most obliging. The rooms have had a change of colour and they look GREAT! Nice, clean and fresh. Pool is awesome and spas are very nice too....had a wonderful time...look forward to our next stay. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
nukz, Owner at Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review

It is very gratifying to know so many of our guests understand what we are trying to do here. We are a work in progress, but it's still nice to be patted on the back occasionally. More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

For a small family of 4, the ensuite unit was very suitable, the tariff was very reasonable, location was good being right next to BP petrol station, but most importantly, Tim was generous, friendly and extremely helpful when we stayed there, taking the trouble to stay up late and waited for us to return from a Hangi dinner, on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I booked a room for 5 and the price is very reasonable. Based on the design, I would say the motel has not been renovated for quite some time. Looking at it at another angel, the motel gives off a vintage atmosphere which I pretty much enjoyed. The facilities are still well managed and usable. The room is spacious as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nukz, Owner at Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for what is a thoughtful and astute review. There is a way to go before we have finished the upgrade, but in the meanwhile we try to give value for money. More

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is advertised as a budget motel and that is what it is. It was great value for the $70 for the night. Very clean with crisp linen and comfortable bed. A small, basic bathroom with a good shower. Very nice new flat screen TV that could be angled so it could be seen form any part of the room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is an older motel but suited us just fine for the night. It's across the road from the golf course and across a field from the Pohutu geyser which host Tim informed us would go off every 15 minutes approx. Comfortable bed, free wi-fi and kitchen for our breakfast Tim helped us book the Tamaki Maori evening event which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

First thing: this is a very basic, budget accommodation. For what you pay you get a good sized room, basic but clean bathroom, minifridge, flat screen TV and an OK bed. Plenty of parking too. Location is not downtown, but not too out of the way either. Owner is quite friendly. If a high-end place is what you're looking for,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We did read the reviews for this Lodge before we booked it but it really was a lot noisier than we expected. A clue as to the fact that there is a noise problem... earplugs are provided. The room itself was fine. Spacious bright and clean. IT was fine for limited self catering. It advertised free wi fi but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nukz, Owner at Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and frankness. We ourselves have been disturbed when staying in motels/hotels by other guests and traffic and would have 'killed' for a pair of earplugs at those times. It was those experiences which prompted us to provide them for all guests here. We are sorry if your stay was marred by noise. We are pleased to... More

Been to Rotorua Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Motor Lodge

Address: 418 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rotorua Motor Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This motel has 26 rooms and benefits from a position opposite a unique geothermal golf course. It is a short walk and in sight of the main geysers of this fascinating area, and all other attractions are short drives away. CBD is five minutes, airport fifteen, and Taupo or Tauranga 50 minutes.Rooms are spacious and clean. Prices put his motel in the budget category, but facilities are closer to four star, and these include large 32 inch LCD TVs with Free View in all rooms, direct dial phones and FREE wireless internet.There is a seasonal pool, hot pools and laundry for guest use, and DVD players and movies to hire for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Rotorua Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotorua Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.