We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

4.0 of 5 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    37
    16
    20
See reviews for
69
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Was a very awesome place to stay. We were in Rotorua for the National Touch Tournament and this was in a convenient location, close to the park. Cabins were comfy, nice kitchen area clean and tidy, toilets clean. My Children thoroughly enjoyed the pools. My only let down would've been the chilled lockers. They just weren't big enough for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Good location for cyclists and some newer facilities. We were in an older unit which had an ongoing musty smell that was overpowering. For both days the showers were cold which was unfortunate and they were trying to rectify. While sheets and facilities were very clean it was very dated and need some renovations, good potential.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The site is nice and family friendly but the facilities leave a lot to be desired. The bathrooms and showers were dirty but the pools were nice after a long day. If you are going to stay definitely being your own cook ware because there is almost nothing. The kitchen facilities are pretty sweet though! For the price this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The bathrooms and showers are cleaned every day, so apologise if these were not up to standard at the time of use. We will look into this issue. We advertise on our website which accommodation type require to bring their own cooking equipment. We have tried to supply cookware in... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a tent, great facilities and setting, great location (close to MTB tracks and town) and affordable. The free hot pools are fantastic too! Have also stayed in the cabins many times in the past, also had good experiences. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are so greatful for amazing help from Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park stuff, special thanks to Ms Riza. We started our holiday in New Zeland in the camp Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, when we have found out that our RV has been broken. Ms Riza immediately took the iniciative and solved the irregularity ( issue ) with the rental company.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you Anna for your review, and your thanks will be passed on to Riza. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand and your stay with us. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We realy enjoyed the week at your camp site. We will defenitelly be back. The cabins was nice and clean. The thermal pools get filled up daily. The people are all very friendly. The South african managers were very vriendly, and so were Glennys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again in future. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We spend a weekend there with a group of up to 20 friends every year. There's a range of accommodation. We had a cabin this year, which was basic but clean and suited our needs. We have stayed in larger units before and campsites. It was disappointing that the hot pools and the swimming pool were out of action this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I would like to confirm that the hot pools re-opened on the 4th of December, and the large swimming pool has also opened for summer. We apologise that we weren't able to have these open in time for your stay with us, but we look forward to seeing you again... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I arrived with the family after purchasing a nights accommodaiton on Wotif - 2 adults, 2 kids. We were super excited. When we arrived we found that the adverised pool and hot pools were closed. We also found out that although the booking said bikes included, they wanted $45 per bike in addition to the price paid for the cabin.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that you weren't aware that our thermal pools were closed. We have tried to communicate that on all of our advertising, and I have checked the wotif site and unfortunately it isn't mentioned there so I do apologise. Our pools are not far away from opening, I do... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stayed one night in the kitchen cabin, it was ok for what it is, then mattress was very thin on the bed but the doona was great and warm. Small kitchen with a kettle and 2 plate stove. The thermal pools were out of order, which was disappointing. Bathrooms were clean and the water hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In response to your concerns, we have just invested in mattress toppers to provide more comfort to our guests. The thermal pools are still out of order but we are hopeful that this will be operational again within a week. The upgrade was necessary due to council requirements. I do hope that we have addressed... More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Very thin mattresses, could feel the wood beneath, and I'm not a big guy. Only one hob worked in the kitchen, and the toaster was broken. The thermal pools were closed, and the swimming pool had not been used for years judging by the large crack in the wall. The whole park seemed very tired and run down, no decent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken your feedback on board and have recently invested in mattress toppers for all beds to provide extra comfort for our guests. We are also reviewing the hobs and toasters to ensure what is not working is fixed. We are expecting our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay