We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    61
    40
    16
    21
See reviews for
73
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (169)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just OK as a camper van site, facilities OK, location OK, but not completely central, its advertised thermal pools a bit of a let down. Had the facilities you would expect at a reasonable price, but oveall a bit nderwhelming

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This holiday park is currently being renovated. Close to Redwood forest for a bike ride. Cost effective for families and clean. Families can camp, caravan and do own cooking. Restaurant onsite. We were disappointed in the hotpools which were tepid to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
240 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We spent two nights in a campervan at two different holiday parks in Rotorua. This was our second night after we decided not to stay at the other holiday park because its entry and roads were hard to navigate in our large campervan. This park was more open and park like, there was a safe place to park for registration,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We booked a cabin in this park without ensuite. The room was not very clean and there were several spiders in the bedding. The mattresses were not very comfortable and you could feel the bed underneath them. It was very cheap and the location was good but the rooms we stayed in could definitely be updated a bit. The wi-fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

If you've got a car this place is perfect. I rented a private cabin with en suite and was everything I could have asked for, clean, comfy, great base for exploring Rotorua. It's a bit out of town so you need to be able to get around, but only a few minutes from Te Puia (famous Geiger site) and no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Our room was basic, but suited our needs: the beds were comfy, and the room was clean overall. Only complaints about the room is that the "cabin" had such poor insulation, it was freezing cold during the night, and the heater did little to help (as it turns itself off after a short period of time). The hot pools were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, we are currently replacing these our un-insulated cabins with brand new ones! so hopefully next time you come and stay with us you will be able to book one of these ones instead. More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

My partner and I with a toddler and a baby stayed in one of the self-contained tourist flats - one bedroom with a double bed, a set of bunks in the hallway and a sofa bed in the lounge. It was great value for money as infants (0-2yrs) are not charged, unlike in other places. It was spotlessly clean (and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we have now put in potato peelers for your next time you are through! we are also developing a new playground so hopefully next time your kids will have some fun with this! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Good price for clean cabin in tranquil natural setting not far from town centre and other tourist attractions. Very affordable cafe menu and friendly staff. Comfortable beds and adequate kitchen facilities. The only downside is the outdoor hot pools: dirt and plant debris unfortunately turned a nice dip into an icky one. Could be improved with better filtration system, more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working on the filtration system with the pools so hopefully next time you stay this issue will be fixed. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

We had a great time here. Staff were excellent. The wood cabins are newer the old prefabs are retro. Just like camping as kids, bought back many memories of good times. The best bit was the hot pools and being so handy to everything. Clean and tidy. Unfortunately we never got to try the cafe as it seemed to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review we appreciate it, we are also putting in new value for money cabins that are lined and that one step up from camping that you might like to try next time. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We stayed for two nights while in Rotorua for the Xterra Rotorua Multi Sport Festival. Good accommodation - comfortable, clean and close to everything in Rotorua. Easy to get to Blue Lake where our Xterra trail run was. Has its own mineral pools which is a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your review we appreciate it, next time you might like to also try our onsite massage therapist after your ride! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay