We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

4.0 of 5 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    33
    16
    20
See reviews for
68
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived with the family after purchasing a nights accommodaiton on Wotif - 2 adults, 2 kids. We were super excited. When we arrived we found that the adverised pool and hot pools were closed. We also found out that although the booking said bikes included, they wanted $45 per bike in addition to the price paid for the cabin.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that you weren't aware that our thermal pools were closed. We have tried to communicate that on all of our advertising, and I have checked the wotif site and unfortunately it isn't mentioned there so I do apologise. Our pools are not far away from opening, I do... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night in the kitchen cabin, it was ok for what it is, then mattress was very thin on the bed but the doona was great and warm. Small kitchen with a kettle and 2 plate stove. The thermal pools were out of order, which was disappointing. Bathrooms were clean and the water hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. In response to your concerns, we have just invested in mattress toppers to provide more comfort to our guests. The thermal pools are still out of order but we are hopeful that this will be operational again within a week. The upgrade was necessary due to council requirements. I do hope that we have addressed... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very thin mattresses, could feel the wood beneath, and I'm not a big guy. Only one hob worked in the kitchen, and the toaster was broken. The thermal pools were closed, and the swimming pool had not been used for years judging by the large crack in the wall. The whole park seemed very tired and run down, no decent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken your feedback on board and have recently invested in mattress toppers for all beds to provide extra comfort for our guests. We are also reviewing the hobs and toasters to ensure what is not working is fixed. We are expecting our... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We asked for a log cabin, to discover on arrival how basic they were, only beds and a small heater inside. Upgraded to a cabin, very good prices! The thermal pools were 'temporarily' out of order, we weren't told this over the phone when we booked. I had checked Trip Advisor before deciding on this place and saw that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologise that the thermal pools were out of order during your stay. It is expected that they will be back up and running over the next week. Unfortunately this has been a required upgrade due to new regulations. In regards to wifi, we are quite a large park and the signal for the wifi... More

Biloela, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We spent 3 nights in a cabin. It was perfect for what we wanted, affordable, close to attractions and being off season it was quiet so we had free run of the camp kitchen and laundry. We had no problems getting picked up for the attractions we visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Look forward to seeing you next time. More

KL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights during early October in 7 people cabin. What a wonderful stay. The cabin was cute enough for my whole family. The location was perfect as it was easy to get around Rotorua. Amazing nature surrounding the place. It'd be great if theres a free wifi. Loved the cheap price!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will take your suggestion on the wifi into consideration. We look forward to your next visit. More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

When we arrived, of course after looking at the brochure, my wife and I were sorely disappointed. The pool was half empty and dirty, the Thermal pools out of order, they were doing construction, and it felt like we were in something out of a horror movie. Admittedly they said they recently changed management and were int he process of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately yes our thermal pools are closed due to required engineering works, we have been working hard to get this completed and they are due to re-open in approximately 2-3 weeks. I apologise that you weren't offered free tickets to local hot pools as we have... More

Mildura, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Our accommodation was booked a tourist flat for us. Unfortunately, this was the poorest accommodation of our 9 night stay in New Zealand. We had a cabin that was generally neat and tidy, but my son was not able to fit comfortably in the bunks and ended up pulling 2 mattresses off and sleeping on the floor. My husband was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know that we have taken your comments on board and will be investigating to see what improvements we are able to make. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This holiday is full of beautiful large trees, log cabins, hunters huts (that's what they were) campers spaces for tents & mobile campers. For. Us the pools were near finishing repair & out of use, but public pools available - our kids loved this option. We stayed in an ensuite log cabin. Very clean, bedding supplied very comfy, TV &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for providing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This holiday park is a short drive from town and has really nice spots for campervans which are all fitted with their own water supply and their own dump station. All ways to the amenity blocks are canopied which came in handy as it was raining during our stay. The staff are friendly and you can get a pick up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for providing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay