We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Rotorua accommodations

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park to your Saves list
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #36 of 50 Specialty lodging in Rotorua
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014
Billiam1982 Gosford, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (134)
  • Photos (50)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    29
    14
    17
See reviews for
62
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We unfortunately had booked our footy tour here for 3 nights and our accommodation was way below standard. The cabins they gave us were basic with a small blow heater that had to sit in the sink to reach the power point not safe but for a NZ winter not enough to heat the rooms. 3 of the cabins leaked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived in rotorua in the evening and we called rotorua thermal holiday park and informed them we were running late and we had booked a powered site for the caravan. The person at the reception very rudely said that if we did not make it by 8:30 pm we would need to go elsewhere. We traveled all over new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

HOT POOLS CLOSED TILL FURTHER NOTICE: …. Due to changes in the resource management act we cannot reinstate the bore as it was. We must now meet new, stricter guidelines. We have up to now been one of the few businesses allowed to operate within such a close proximity of Whakarewarewa – Rotorua’s leading geothermal attraction. We regret that the... More

Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice little holiday park. Very quiet did not hear a thing at night. Our powered site was right next to the amenities so we did not have to walk far at least. Bathrooms were very clean, only downside was that the thermal pool was closed (our main reason for visiting Rotorua) but we still got out and explored Rotorua and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your feed back and glad you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the pools, this is where we are at currently HOT POOLS CLOSED TILL FURTHER NOTICE: …. Due to changes in the resource management act we cannot reinstate the bore as it was. We must now meet new, stricter guidelines. We... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst passing through Rotorua, I'm not sure I would stay here again. When we got to the powered site we had been assigned( number 10) a tree had recently been cut down by the maintenance staff, and left across our space, meaning my husband had to move all of the branches/debris out of the way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are in the process of upgrading our lighting system in the park. We are very sorry that you had been allocated a site where we were in the process of prunning our trees around the park. We will endeavour that this will not happen to anyone else. We hope that you enjoyed all the... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our first stay here and our last. We found human faeces in the corner of one bedroom in Room 43, thinking it was mud my son picked it up and suddenly realised from the smell what it was! I smelt it and dry-wretched for ages afterwards! We handed this into some staff members behind the office to avoid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The customer service was not short of horrific! We were ignored for quite some time by Gladys on checking in. When she finally turned round she sighed and said "ok then" I apologised for inconveniencing her and she proceeded to moan about the hours she had worked and the fact that her colleagues never came to work on time. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dublin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Thermal pools havnt been in use in months, no sign of them being fixed from the looks of other reviews. Crap IAC WiFi signal, place is badly kept, stinks of sulphur. Staff are very slow. Facilities are average with no lighting at night. Worst campsite we stayed in in NZ.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we apologise that our thermal pools were out of order, we have been working hard to get them up and running as soon as possible. We currently have engineers working on the problem. As for the smell that would have been the sulphur, we are situated right next to a geothermal park (Te Puia). We... More

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed 10 years ago and it was nice here, so we came back. The hot pool pump has apparently been broken for months. All of the parks looked tired and unkempt, old and in need of updating. The cabins are smelly and look really uncared for. The public amenities are in desperate need of an update In a town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are currently under new management and in the process of upgrading the park, we apologise for your unpleasant experience. We hope that you enjoyed the other great parts of Rotorua. All the best for the rest of your journey. Regards Sophie More

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our family booked from Oz based on web information. Upon check in we discovered almost all of the features were unavailable. Thermal pools closed, heated pool not heated, games room non existent, playground decrepit and would be shut in Oz as hazardous, free wifi unavailable and the cafe that claims to be open 7 days hasn't opened once. Overall it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in an ensuite cabin. The beds were comfortable, the stools and table were not, a chair would have been better. It was good to have a kettle, and TV but would have appreciated more cutlery and a couple of bowls for our breakfast!! We were disappointed with the lack of hot mud pools. The site is convenient for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without visiting Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday park Rotorua's closest Holiday Park to Thermal activity, Mountain bike tracks & Rotorua International Stadium. A great place to stay, with all types of accommodation including tent sites & powered caravan/motorhome sites. Surrounded by Protected Native trees Rotorua Thermal Holiday park is the ideal place to stay. HOT POOLS CLOSED TILL FURTHER NOTICE: .... Due to changes in the resource management act we cannot reinstate the bore as it was. We must now meet new, stricter guidelines. We have up to now been one of the few businesses allowed to operate within such a close proximity of Whakarewarewa - Rotorua's leading geothermal attraction. We regret that the process of re-design, approval and implementation of the geothermal bore is taking such a long time, but will ultimately be to the benefit of the guests of Rotorua Holiday Park and the local environment if we see this process through to successful completion. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
46

See which rooms travelers prefer