We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Rotorua accommodations

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park to your Saves list
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
56%
Ranked #35 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Lfamily4 Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    30
    15
    18
See reviews for
64
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our accommodation was booked a tourist flat for us. Unfortunately, this was the poorest accommodation of our 9 night stay in New Zealand. We had a cabin that was generally neat and tidy, but my son was not able to fit comfortably in the bunks and ended up pulling 2 mattresses off and sleeping on the floor. My husband was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know that we have taken your comments on board and will be investigating to see what improvements we are able to make. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This holiday is full of beautiful large trees, log cabins, hunters huts (that's what they were) campers spaces for tents & mobile campers. For. Us the pools were near finishing repair & out of use, but public pools available - our kids loved this option. We stayed in an ensuite log cabin. Very clean, bedding supplied very comfy, TV &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for providing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This holiday park is a short drive from town and has really nice spots for campervans which are all fitted with their own water supply and their own dump station. All ways to the amenity blocks are canopied which came in handy as it was raining during our stay. The staff are friendly and you can get a pick up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for providing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Dont stay here the buildings are falling down. there is logging going on onsite and even though they are a thermal park (as the sign says) they actually have no hot pools they are closed until further notice but i did notice that they are still charging full price for a powered Camper-van site .We paid $50 for a night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. There is currently logging onsite as this is required to be completed during our off-peak season. Unfortunately the pool closure has been out of our control, and we are trying to notify customers of this prior to booking. The closure is due to changes in the resource management act. We cannot operate the thermal bore... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We unfortunately had booked our footy tour here for 3 nights and our accommodation was way below standard. The cabins they gave us were basic with a small blow heater that had to sit in the sink to reach the power point not safe but for a NZ winter not enough to heat the rooms. 3 of the cabins leaked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologise that you did not have a good experience staying with us. We are currently in the process of ordering wall mounted heaters for the cabins that do not currently have them and hope to have these installed soon. We apologise that these were not in place prior to your stay or... More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived in rotorua in the evening and we called rotorua thermal holiday park and informed them we were running late and we had booked a powered site for the caravan. The person at the reception very rudely said that if we did not make it by 8:30 pm we would need to go elsewhere. We traveled all over new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

HOT POOLS CLOSED TILL FURTHER NOTICE: …. Due to changes in the resource management act we cannot reinstate the bore as it was. We must now meet new, stricter guidelines. We have up to now been one of the few businesses allowed to operate within such a close proximity of Whakarewarewa – Rotorua’s leading geothermal attraction. We regret that the... More

Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice little holiday park. Very quiet did not hear a thing at night. Our powered site was right next to the amenities so we did not have to walk far at least. Bathrooms were very clean, only downside was that the thermal pool was closed (our main reason for visiting Rotorua) but we still got out and explored Rotorua and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your feed back and glad you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the pools, this is where we are at currently HOT POOLS CLOSED TILL FURTHER NOTICE: …. Due to changes in the resource management act we cannot reinstate the bore as it was. We must now meet new, stricter guidelines. We... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst passing through Rotorua, I'm not sure I would stay here again. When we got to the powered site we had been assigned( number 10) a tree had recently been cut down by the maintenance staff, and left across our space, meaning my husband had to move all of the branches/debris out of the way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, Guest Relations Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are in the process of upgrading our lighting system in the park. We are very sorry that you had been allocated a site where we were in the process of prunning our trees around the park. We will endeavour that this will not happen to anyone else. We hope that you enjoyed all the... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our first stay here and our last. We found human faeces in the corner of one bedroom in Room 43, thinking it was mud my son picked it up and suddenly realised from the smell what it was! I smelt it and dry-wretched for ages afterwards! We handed this into some staff members behind the office to avoid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The customer service was not short of horrific! We were ignored for quite some time by Gladys on checking in. When she finally turned round she sighed and said "ok then" I apologised for inconveniencing her and she proceeded to moan about the hours she had worked and the fact that her colleagues never came to work on time. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rotorua with
any amenities