We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

4.0 of 5 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    52
    32
    16
    18
See reviews for
65
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We asked for a log cabin, to discover on arrival how basic they were, only beds and a small heater inside. Upgraded to a cabin, very good prices! The thermal pools were 'temporarily' out of order, we weren't told this over the phone when we booked. I had checked Trip Advisor before deciding on this place and saw that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Biloela, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 3 nights in a cabin. It was perfect for what we wanted, affordable, close to attractions and being off season it was quiet so we had free run of the camp kitchen and laundry. We had no problems getting picked up for the attractions we visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for 2 nights during early October in 7 people cabin. What a wonderful stay. The cabin was cute enough for my whole family. The location was perfect as it was easy to get around Rotorua. Amazing nature surrounding the place. It'd be great if theres a free wifi. Loved the cheap price!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will take your suggestion on the wifi into consideration. We look forward to your next visit. More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived, of course after looking at the brochure, my wife and I were sorely disappointed. The pool was half empty and dirty, the Thermal pools out of order, they were doing construction, and it felt like we were in something out of a horror movie. Admittedly they said they recently changed management and were int he process of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately yes our thermal pools are closed due to required engineering works, we have been working hard to get this completed and they are due to re-open in approximately 2-3 weeks. I apologise that you weren't offered free tickets to local hot pools as we have... More

Mildura, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Our accommodation was booked a tourist flat for us. Unfortunately, this was the poorest accommodation of our 9 night stay in New Zealand. We had a cabin that was generally neat and tidy, but my son was not able to fit comfortably in the bunks and ended up pulling 2 mattresses off and sleeping on the floor. My husband was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know that we have taken your comments on board and will be investigating to see what improvements we are able to make. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This holiday is full of beautiful large trees, log cabins, hunters huts (that's what they were) campers spaces for tents & mobile campers. For. Us the pools were near finishing repair & out of use, but public pools available - our kids loved this option. We stayed in an ensuite log cabin. Very clean, bedding supplied very comfy, TV &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for providing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This holiday park is a short drive from town and has really nice spots for campervans which are all fitted with their own water supply and their own dump station. All ways to the amenity blocks are canopied which came in handy as it was raining during our stay. The staff are friendly and you can get a pick up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for providing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Dont stay here the buildings are falling down. there is logging going on onsite and even though they are a thermal park (as the sign says) they actually have no hot pools they are closed until further notice but i did notice that they are still charging full price for a powered Camper-van site .We paid $50 for a night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. There is currently logging onsite as this is required to be completed during our off-peak season. Unfortunately the pool closure has been out of our control, and we are trying to notify customers of this prior to booking. The closure is due to changes in the resource management act. We cannot operate the thermal bore... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We unfortunately had booked our footy tour here for 3 nights and our accommodation was way below standard. The cabins they gave us were basic with a small blow heater that had to sit in the sink to reach the power point not safe but for a NZ winter not enough to heat the rooms. 3 of the cabins leaked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologise that you did not have a good experience staying with us. We are currently in the process of ordering wall mounted heaters for the cabins that do not currently have them and hope to have these installed soon. We apologise that these were not in place prior to your stay or... More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived in rotorua in the evening and we called rotorua thermal holiday park and informed them we were running late and we had booked a powered site for the caravan. The person at the reception very rudely said that if we did not make it by 8:30 pm we would need to go elsewhere. We traveled all over new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rotorua T, General Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

HOT POOLS CLOSED TILL FURTHER NOTICE: …. Due to changes in the resource management act we cannot reinstate the bore as it was. We must now meet new, stricter guidelines. We have up to now been one of the few businesses allowed to operate within such a close proximity of Whakarewarewa – Rotorua’s leading geothermal attraction. We regret that the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road (South End), Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay