We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park

Certificate of Excellence
14 Okona Cresent | Ngongotaha, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #14 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
gary h Nottingham, United Kingdom
Rate this Hotel

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
23
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed just a single night, the site is well located for a quiet stay. It borders a stream, with trout, but they avoided me, might have had something to do with the kayakers. A ten minute walk along the stream gets you to the lake, for more fishing. We wish we could have stayed here longer, highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location on the stream is great, and combined with their dog friendly policy made for a great stay. The shared facilities are awesome, and the campground really tidy, clean and pleasant. The staff were good, and helpful, and clearly enjoy their work

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A clean, super-affordable, well-run alternative to pricey (and not as nice) motels & B&Bs in the area. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and the accommodations were comfortable and charming. We booked too late to get a room with an ensuite bathroom, but the little kitchen cabin worked out beautifully for us, and the bathroom (and laundry) facilities were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paeroa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed at Waiteti a couple of times now and plan to return in a few weeks. Jeanette is so friendly and the facilities are spotless. You couldn't get a nicer setting with the stream running past the sites and lots of trees and hedges to provide shade and privacy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We have been travelling and camping now for over a month and reckon this the best so far. How many sites supply dish towels let alone beautifully ironed ones? So good we stayed an extra day! Very helpful and friendly staff and all the facilities were spotless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We arrived on New Years eve & were given a lovely private spot with lots of trees / shelter. Very friendly and welcoming at reception. Michael (I think he is the owner?) came out with a couple of ice blocks for my two boys - they were very happy about that. Around 9pm that night, there was a family friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

My husband, daughter, dog and I had a wonderful holiday staying at Waiteti Trout Stream camping ground from December 22nd till January 15th 2015. I didn't want to leave. I would have loved to have stayed for another 3 weeks. It is a small camping ground, in a lovely green setting with trees and bushes placed around which provide shade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Thank you to Michael and Jeanette for having such good standards in their camping ground. We have been going to this camping ground for 10+yrs. Our two children have grown up camping here and have had fabulous holidays meeting other children, to play with in the stream as well as learning to trout fish. They both love trout fishing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Magical setting, spotless facilities, great activities for kids but we won't be back. Initially the service was great but it went down hill on day 2. I got reprimanded for not adhering to the visitor policy - my bad. I accept I broke a rule but I didn't appreciate Michael's condescending manner when telling me off. I was in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
trout1Rotorua, Owner at Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park, responded to this review

We did our best to ensure you and your family and many visitors enjoyed your stay.Visitors are welcome and we have a Visitor Policy for the safety and enjoyment of all our guests. It is unfortunate you chose to disrespect this. We didn't ask you or your friends to leave but suggested your friend would be asked to leave if... More 

Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Thank you Michael and Jeanette for the lovely stay I had at your camping ground. Such a happy relaxed atmosphere, lovely friendly staff, extremely clean Holiday Camp. Loved the Upgrade you did for me. Thank you. Pity, I got my days muddled up, thinking it was Saturday and not Friday, meaning I stayed one less night. Michael and Jeanette told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question