We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cedarwood Lakeside

17 Holdens Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedarwood Lakeside
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cedarwood Lakeside
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    38
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
46
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. We had wanted to stay away from the business of Rotorua, yet not have to travel far to activities. The grounds were lovely, plenty to keep the kids occupied. The units were clean and spacious. My husband who is a keen photographer loved taking photos of the lake and trying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi ashely834, Thanks for sharing your recent experience of Cedarwood. Yes, we are off the beaten track however still close enough to visit the attractions on offer in Rotorua. Being situated where we are does make you feel like you are on holiday and it is great to see so many of our guests enjoying our stunning scenery and relaxing... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean motel with fairly new furnishings. Love the well-equipped kitchen and dining table. Love the layout. Good to have some clothes line in the backyard. Would definitely return. Very quiet area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi JamilahAb, thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travellers, we are pleased that you enjoyed our Lakefront Unit and thank you for sharing your photos for others to see our property! We look forward to welcoming you back to Cedarwood & Rotorua on your next adventures. Kind regards Fiona & Nick. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights with our two boys aged 3 and 5. Fiona was extremely friendly and helpful from check in through to helping us plan (and even book) our daytime activities. The motel offers single storey, chalet style accommodation in two rows, which face each other with a large garden area in the middle with trampolines, play area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca K, thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood with fellow families and travellers! We are certainly lucky to have so much space for the kiddies to run around and be safe and away from traffic. In regards to our furnishings (our Lakefront Units have already been refurbished) we are awaiting the delivery of new lounge suites, dining... More 

hexham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights with my 12 year old son. We both loved the well equipped, comfortable chalet.Close to the town but far enough away to be peaceful. So much to do and see here. owners helped us make the best of our stay and nothing was too much trouble. A really good place to stay in Rotorua.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi 599annie, thank you for your kind words after your recent stay with us at Cedarwood! We are glad that you found our information helpful to make the most out of your stay in Rotorua and we look forward to seeing you both again on your further adventures to NZ. Best wishes Fiona & Nick. More 

San Anselmo, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was at the Cedarwood Lakeside Motel for two weeks, and found it to have everything that was needed in an extended stay. The two bedroom apartment worked well for sharing with another person. The rooms were quiet, with a good heating system for cold nights, the kitchen was well supplied with cooking equipment, plates, glasses, etc. Wifi worked well,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi experiences4me, Glad to see you have made your journey home safe & well, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with fellow travellers! We were pleased to hear that you found our accommodation quiet and warm for the duration of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cedarwood next year! Take care... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Although out of town this location is an easy drive in to Rotorua and handy for getting to Hell's Gate Thermal Park. It also has the merit of being quiet at night despite not being far from the airport. Comfortable accommodation if a little cramped but we did have the smallest size cabin. Excellent value for money and with its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Bob L, Thank you for taking the time to review Cedarwood after your recent stay, we are pleased that you found our accommodation comfortable and quiet. Our studio's that you stayed in are our smallest units however we do have a number of two bedroom units which are spacious and are accompanied with full kitchen facilities so great for... More 

Guyana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this paradise. Not only this place is exactly as it appears, peaceful and quiet, beautiful and in a very convenient place with buses around if you need to get down town in 15mns, for NZ $2,50. But also, let me tell you how the owners of this amazing place helped me with difficulties. While booking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Sylvie, Thank you so much for your wonderful review after your recent stay with us at Cedarwood! We were only too happy to assist with your misplaced passport as we recognise the stress that this can cause when you are away in another country and thank goodness our good friends at the airport did a great job in tracking... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We stayed in a studio room. The place was very clean and comfortable. We rented a free movie for the night from the reception and stayed warm in our room. It was extremely cold and windy outside! Friendly receptionist, gave us good advice where to go to the thermal baths. Not many places around for dinner. We found a Chinese... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi GigiH, Thank you for taking the time to provide readers with your feedback after you recent stay at Cedarwood! Unfortunately we have had some unseasonal weather however I guess that is what spring can be like, we do like to ensure that our guests are warm & comfortable whilst inside their units however. We are glad that you found... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Outstanding facilities, excellent customer service. Units are a great size, great for Families. We will be back in December and I can't wait. Great location if you need to get to the Blue Lake. If you are in Rotorua and need a Motel stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Danielspatch, Wow, thanks so much for your kind words after your recent stay with us and thank you for re-booking in December, it is great to see so many people return to Cedarwood after their first stay! As you say we are certainly handy to many of Rotorua's 18 lakes and conveniently located for Blue Lake with its many... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful holiday location! Lakes edge with stunning views. Hosts Nick and Fiona are super friendly and take such pride in their surrounds. The heated pool and spa a treat in early spring and the kids were well entertained with trampoline, swings and wifi! We will definitely be back! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fiona and Nick S, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi NChampion, Thank you for your kind words on our property & location! It is pleasing to hear that the kids were well entertained and they enjoyed our outdoor activities on your trip to Cedarwood. It is great to hear that you will be back so we look forward to welcoming you all upon your next travels to Rotorua! Kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cedarwood Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holdens Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay