We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 94 Rotorua hotels

Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #81 of 94 hotels in Rotorua
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has to be one of the worst motels I've ever stayed in. For starters the radiator was leaking onto the bed. Room servicing was non existent. Tea and coffee was not topped up. Scalding hot water only ,no cold. Bath but no plug for bath. Could only get one channel on t.v. Could'nt wait to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I couldn't believe the treatment we had at this motor lodge. We paid online (credit card payment had gone through and I had received confirmation of the booking). When we arrived We were told there was no booking – that we must have the wrong place and that any paid booking online would automatically be accepted onto their system. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kuirau Park M, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Emma, First of all, I'm so sorry about your booking. As I had told you, you have a temporary booking which means that you don't have a room as we were already fully booked when you booked online at AA. I rang you and said that your booking is just temporary which means your name is not in our... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The first thing we noticed was the overpowering stench in our room and no it wasn't Rotorua's thermal odour (that we don't mind). I had to go out and buy an air fresher, which we used regularly through out our weekend stay. Thankfully by the third day the smell wasn't as noticeable. Perhaps the smell came from the carpet which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
21 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

With Rotorua being an expensive place to stay, this motel was fine for the price (about NZ$175 for 4 people). It's true the place needs a major refurb (it almost has a retro feeling to it) but many local motels are in a similar state. However, it was spotlessly clean, as was the on site thermal pool. Potentially noisy if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bulls
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It started off bad, we booked for 4 and on arrival paid and then checked it out, only 3 beds in the unit but was told the 4th bed was the sofa which would be required to be made up, wasn't really suitable for us but was offered an upgrade for and extra $15 a night. Wasn't very happy about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would not stay here again. Badly in need of updating the rooms (beds, furniture, appliances, décor etc). After checking in and paying for our four night stay upfront before viewing our room , I wish I had only paid for the one night, and gone elsewhere the next morning. First night, woke up with a bad back, slept like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kuirau Park M, General Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our motel. We believe the unit you are staying is a studio pool unit from your description of it. First of all we apologise for the overlooked pan in the oven and have reprimanded our cleaner. We have been replacing beds in our motel as the need arises and we had some new beds that... More

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Visiting from the UK, we spent a good few days of our holiday jet lagged, and we weren't prepared for what we faced at this motel. The bedding, in our opinion, hadn't been washed, or if it had, it had been done so very badly. The bedding smelt so vile that we could not put our nose to the pillows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuirau Park M, General Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our motel. We are sad to note that your experience at our motel was not pleasant but we beg to defer on many things you had mentioned in this review. All our beddings are thoroughly washed and dried and are free of hairs and what not. If they would have smelled so bad (we believe... More

Pukekohe, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been staying at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge on and off for many, many years (approx 30) and would have to say that my last stay was rather disappointing. We had two rooms (usually three) as we were travelling with a netball team and this is the fourth time that we have stayed at this motel with three different... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Balclutha, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a top spot Rotorua is. We stayed one night as part of our North Island road trip and found the little bit extra in fee was worth it as we got our very own private hot pool at the back of our room. We found the proprietor to be very friendly and more than willing to go the extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tokoroa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great place to join with family and friends. Love the mineral pools and the outdoor heated pool. Not too hot on the unit with pool attached its like one huge clay pot. Not keen on the fold down couch as it is uncomfortable to sleep on. Great stay, for a great price, close to town, perfect for movie lovers as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Kuirau Park Motor Lodge to your Saves list