We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
sydney australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights here. Bouquets: lovely comfy beds, good shower, friendly helpful staff and the thermal pool. Brickbats: the kitchen area was in urgent need of refurbishment being very old - the electric hotplates worked at about 20% power. Also the lounge/sofa needed replacing as it was old and dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It can be hard to find a motel room that caters for a larger group. We stayed in the extra large 2 bedroom unit and it is a very generous size with plenty of room for 6 (including 3 teenagers) of us to hang out without tripping over each other. They split the king bed into two singles for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would like to say that this was better than we expected. Booking accommodation for 7 is not very easy and the place we wanted to stay was booked due to easter weekend coming up and everything got snapped up quick. The look of the place looks a bit old,but the inside was just fine with us. We knew it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blacktown, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We found this place so handy especially with the thermal pools on site. We were pleasantly surprised when they cleaned our room on a daily basis. That sort of thing just doesn't normally happen. The pools were clean and having extra towels available was an unexpected bonus. The staff were lovely and friendly. We are definitely going back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

The accommodation served it's purpose and we only spent time there to sleep and use the pool and mineral pool (both of which were well used by our lot) The rooms were adequate for what we paid. We left pretty happy with the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Our stay was good. We got what we were expecting for the price we paid. Over all great service but were shocked at the "fully equipped kitchen." The kitchen consisted of four of each of the following: dinner plates, small plates, bowls, cups and mugs as well as a bread board and a small pot. When we read fully equipped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This has to be one of the worst motels I've ever stayed in. For starters the radiator was leaking onto the bed. Room servicing was non existent. Tea and coffee was not topped up. Scalding hot water only ,no cold. Bath but no plug for bath. Could only get one channel on t.v. Could'nt wait to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I couldn't believe the treatment we had at this motor lodge. We paid online (credit card payment had gone through and I had received confirmation of the booking). When we arrived We were told there was no booking – that we must have the wrong place and that any paid booking online would automatically be accepted onto their system. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Kuirau Park M, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Emma, First of all, I'm so sorry about your booking. As I had told you, you have a temporary booking which means that you don't have a room as we were already fully booked when you booked online at AA. I rang you and said that your booking is just temporary which means your name is not in our... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The first thing we noticed was the overpowering stench in our room and no it wasn't Rotorua's thermal odour (that we don't mind). I had to go out and buy an air fresher, which we used regularly through out our weekend stay. Thankfully by the third day the smell wasn't as noticeable. Perhaps the smell came from the carpet which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
29 hotel reviews
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

With Rotorua being an expensive place to stay, this motel was fine for the price (about NZ$175 for 4 people). It's true the place needs a major refurb (it almost has a retro feeling to it) but many local motels are in a similar state. However, it was spotlessly clean, as was the on site thermal pool. Potentially noisy if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question