We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Review This Hotel

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Blacktown, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found this place so handy especially with the thermal pools on site. We were pleasantly surprised when they cleaned our room on a daily basis. That sort of thing just doesn't normally happen. The pools were clean and having extra towels available was an unexpected bonus. The staff were lovely and friendly. We are definitely going back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The accommodation served it's purpose and we only spent time there to sleep and use the pool and mineral pool (both of which were well used by our lot) The rooms were adequate for what we paid. We left pretty happy with the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Our stay was good. We got what we were expecting for the price we paid. Over all great service but were shocked at the "fully equipped kitchen." The kitchen consisted of four of each of the following: dinner plates, small plates, bowls, cups and mugs as well as a bread board and a small pot. When we read fully equipped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This has to be one of the worst motels I've ever stayed in. For starters the radiator was leaking onto the bed. Room servicing was non existent. Tea and coffee was not topped up. Scalding hot water only ,no cold. Bath but no plug for bath. Could only get one channel on t.v. Could'nt wait to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I couldn't believe the treatment we had at this motor lodge. We paid online (credit card payment had gone through and I had received confirmation of the booking). When we arrived We were told there was no booking – that we must have the wrong place and that any paid booking online would automatically be accepted onto their system. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Kuirau Park M, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Emma, First of all, I'm so sorry about your booking. As I had told you, you have a temporary booking which means that you don't have a room as we were already fully booked when you booked online at AA. I rang you and said that your booking is just temporary which means your name is not in our... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The first thing we noticed was the overpowering stench in our room and no it wasn't Rotorua's thermal odour (that we don't mind). I had to go out and buy an air fresher, which we used regularly through out our weekend stay. Thankfully by the third day the smell wasn't as noticeable. Perhaps the smell came from the carpet which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
28 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

With Rotorua being an expensive place to stay, this motel was fine for the price (about NZ$175 for 4 people). It's true the place needs a major refurb (it almost has a retro feeling to it) but many local motels are in a similar state. However, it was spotlessly clean, as was the on site thermal pool. Potentially noisy if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bulls
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It started off bad, we booked for 4 and on arrival paid and then checked it out, only 3 beds in the unit but was told the 4th bed was the sofa which would be required to be made up, wasn't really suitable for us but was offered an upgrade for and extra $15 a night. Wasn't very happy about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would not stay here again. Badly in need of updating the rooms (beds, furniture, appliances, décor etc). After checking in and paying for our four night stay upfront before viewing our room , I wish I had only paid for the one night, and gone elsewhere the next morning. First night, woke up with a bad back, slept like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kuirau Park M, General Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our motel. We believe the unit you are staying is a studio pool unit from your description of it. First of all we apologise for the overlooked pan in the oven and have reprimanded our cleaner. We have been replacing beds in our motel as the need arises and we had some new beds that... More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Visiting from the UK, we spent a good few days of our holiday jet lagged, and we weren't prepared for what we faced at this motel. The bedding, in our opinion, hadn't been washed, or if it had, it had been done so very badly. The bedding smelt so vile that we could not put our nose to the pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kuirau Park M, General Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our motel. We are sad to note that your experience at our motel was not pleasant but we beg to defer on many things you had mentioned in this review. All our beddings are thoroughly washed and dried and are free of hairs and what not. If they would have smelled so bad (we believe... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question