We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    20
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We have never stayed in a motel where we have had to put pots out to catch the water from the leaking roof. The place was dirty and what wasn't dirty was broken. Take your own sackfuls of straw they will be more comfortable than these beds. Don't bother with a shower it's bound to be dirtier than you are!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sherwin72, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I really apologize for your unpleasant experience when you stayed with us. We inspected the room you stayed but unfortunately we were unable to find the area of leaking you complaint. All rooms are cleaned and double checked by our housekeeping supervisor before accommodating guest. I am confident we could do any thing to meet your requirements if you told... More 

uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We originally booked a motel that was recommended by trip advisor. However they over booked and rebooked us into this motel. My friend and I nick named it The Hell Hole. We were meant to have a twin room and was checked into a room called The Snug. And it lives up to its name. My friend slept on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sherwin72, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

My deepest apologies for the unfortunate experience you had at our motel. We were unable to give you the room that you request 2 separate beds due to the motel who refer you to us had not specified the requirement. Please trust we had tried our best to find out other options which is able to meet your requirement but... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

sydney australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We spent 2 nights here. Bouquets: lovely comfy beds, good shower, friendly helpful staff and the thermal pool. Brickbats: the kitchen area was in urgent need of refurbishment being very old - the electric hotplates worked at about 20% power. Also the lounge/sofa needed replacing as it was old and dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

It can be hard to find a motel room that caters for a larger group. We stayed in the extra large 2 bedroom unit and it is a very generous size with plenty of room for 6 (including 3 teenagers) of us to hang out without tripping over each other. They split the king bed into two singles for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I would like to say that this was better than we expected. Booking accommodation for 7 is not very easy and the place we wanted to stay was booked due to easter weekend coming up and everything got snapped up quick. The look of the place looks a bit old,but the inside was just fine with us. We knew it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blacktown, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We found this place so handy especially with the thermal pools on site. We were pleasantly surprised when they cleaned our room on a daily basis. That sort of thing just doesn't normally happen. The pools were clean and having extra towels available was an unexpected bonus. The staff were lovely and friendly. We are definitely going back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

The accommodation served it's purpose and we only spent time there to sleep and use the pool and mineral pool (both of which were well used by our lot) The rooms were adequate for what we paid. We left pretty happy with the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Our stay was good. We got what we were expecting for the price we paid. Over all great service but were shocked at the "fully equipped kitchen." The kitchen consisted of four of each of the following: dinner plates, small plates, bowls, cups and mugs as well as a bread board and a small pot. When we read fully equipped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This has to be one of the worst motels I've ever stayed in. For starters the radiator was leaking onto the bed. Room servicing was non existent. Tea and coffee was not topped up. Scalding hot water only ,no cold. Bath but no plug for bath. Could only get one channel on t.v. Could'nt wait to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I couldn't believe the treatment we had at this motor lodge. We paid online (credit card payment had gone through and I had received confirmation of the booking). When we arrived We were told there was no booking – that we must have the wrong place and that any paid booking online would automatically be accepted onto their system. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Kuirau Park M, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Emma, First of all, I'm so sorry about your booking. As I had told you, you have a temporary booking which means that you don't have a room as we were already fully booked when you booked online at AA. I rang you and said that your booking is just temporary which means your name is not in our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#2 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 95 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#42 of 95 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Cleveland
Econo Lodge Cleveland
#18 of 95 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#1 of 95 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay