We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arista of Rotorua

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arista of Rotorua
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    390
    109
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
213
159
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (519)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (120)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (159)
All months
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A good middle of the road motel unit with welcoming and friendly owners. Very clean throughout and situated a short drive, or medium walk on the main road leading to the city centre. Beds were comfortable, premises warm and the spa with private access was great to relax in the evening. Take note of the food and bar recommendations of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waimauku, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Road tripped to Rotorua for a girls mountain biking weekend. I was really impressed with our room (we had the apartment with mezzanine). Plenty of sleeping options, 2 singles, 2 queen beds. Special mention to Fay who was super helpful (thanks for the DVDs!!) and always friendly. My one contact with the owner's wife was a bit of a grumpy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi There, thanks for the review. Unfortunately on the night you checked in (Friday the 15th of May) and bought your bikes over, my Wife had just returned from the funeral of our friends 4 year old. Our son has had Brain Cancer two years ago, and unfortunately this funeral hit her very hard because the Child was a similar... More 

Newport Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: The owner was fantastic, very helpful and nice. The room was a great size. Location is ok too. Cons: Of the 7 hotels we stayed at in New Zealand, this is the one I was disappointed with. However, that was only because I was not expecting just another motel. I think for the price we could have easily gotten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi there thanks for your review, sorry you found us dissapointing. Just thing wanted to clarify, was you said there were extra charges for everything? We are not sure what you meant by that. We give 3 gig free WIFI per day, free parking, free milk, free latest DVD's, free vouchers, in fact that only possible extra's you can possibly... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Again, this hotel was recommended to us so after reviewing other reviews of the property we decided to book 2 nights. The hosts Anne-Marie and Michael were fabulous and so welcoming. We were given a loft one bedroom with the bedroom upstairs and the kitchen, dining and living rooms downstairs. The property has gone through extensive renovations and it shows,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The size of this apartment was totally unexpected it is big. A good size lounge, well equipped kitchen big bathroom. Great hot water spa out the back in its own little courtyard. Wait but there is more enough bedding for 6 upstairs. 2 kings and 2 singles. TVs in both areas. If I was to suggest an improvement it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being a dairy farmer my time off is treasured!! Booked 2 nights after talking with Mike. On arrival Mike advised that after talking with me had upgraded our room (no extra charge) to better accommodate our needs!! Brilliant!! Suffice to say our stay was perfect!! Was sooooo relaxed. Big Thumbs Up from us!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malibu, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mike and Annemarie are great hosts. They go over map and all attractions of Rotorua, plus introduce you to the Urbana Bistro 2 shorts blocks away. Rooms are spacious and spotless, with loft bedroom upstairs and hot tub outside each room. #9 is quietist tucked away in corner off street. Plus Mike and Annemarie support local Ronald McDonald House and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Jack, thanks for your lovely review. We call ourselves 'Rotorua's Social Giving' Motels. We are great believers in 'paying it forward.' But just to remind anyone who might be reading this review who might be thinking of booking.... Please book direct! either through our hotel website at the top of the screen, or by calling the number at the... More 

Kerikeri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good operator.. fair pricing..(much better than I found elsewhere..(and more polite)..I went back to two other motels.. the one had I had used prior was 15 dollars dearer and disinterested apparently in repeat business.. The other five star motel down the road was overpriced and unaccommodating...I recommend ARISTA.....Good unit...good service...and a restful sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Robert, we are really glad you had a nice stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write a reveiw! More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at Arista was amazing, group of 5 adults stayed for a week in the big family unit, had plenty of room, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, had beds for 10! Couldn't fault the service, place was spotless and well catered. Huge well equipped self-contained kitchen and the whole place was lovely and warm. Mike and the staff were so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Xrissy, Thanks for your lovely review.... The 3 bedroom Apartment is the original owners accommodation. It was fully refurbished in 2013 and stands alone from the rest of the motel. It's 150sqm, so is a decent sized house, so really suitable for large groups. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Couldn't fault the service, tidiness and so accommodating. Very bike friendly with bike wash and storage, drying room for wet gear. Very comfortable, spacious room suited 4 blokes. Mike the owner was very helpful and gave us local tips. Highly recommend and will stay on my next visit in Rotorua.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Drew, we are big on Bikes here mate! our workshop will be up and running shortly, in the 'hangar' where we offer storage with remote control access to our guests. Hope tp see you agin one day. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay