We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments

107 Malfroy Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    81
    67
    25
    3
    5
See reviews for
55
58
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel was exactly what we needed, when we needed it. Prior to staying at Ann's, my family and I had been staying in a musty hostel in the bush for four days, so once we walked into our clean, bright, nice smelling motel room at Ann's we knew we had picked the right place. Ann is incredibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

This was the first motel of our trip with friends, and we had booked the Family Two-Bedroom Suite with Spa Bath for the four of us. Our first impressions weren't good as there was a huge yellow duck on the Reception roof! Even though we arrived late afternoon, there was no-one at Reception and we had to ring a bell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

I booked through hotels.com and the pictures they have put up are very misleading. I booked a "superior suite" at $119 which showed a recently refurbished room. For the price I expected basic but clean and modern like this pictures. However what I got was a very tired and need of repair unit. The bathroom especially needs an upgrade. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan_107malfroy, Manager at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Jade I am sorry about the television as we have updated it. The rooms are clean and thoroughly done all the time. That day we had already closed earlier due to bookings which were full. The room is quite clean and nice. Thanks More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015 via mobile

A cute and friendly little motel. This is where I stayed and will be staying everytime in rotorua. It is pets friendly. Very homely vibe which made our stay very comfortable. Love the open spa pool in the back yard too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan_107malfroy, Manager at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Barbara Thanks for the lovely review . hope to see you soon again. :0 More 

uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I booked this Motel for the night of the 24/1/15. I booked at the beginning of January, a room that slept four people as I had a friend coming over from the UK and we were travelling around. I received confirmation that I had booked this on the 05/01/15. Booked via AA travel. I then received an email in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan_107malfroy, Manager at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Helgra It was a booking system error as we were changing it to a new system at that time when you booked for which I apologise. As a professional I booked to an alternative accommodation for two people. The accommodation replied me that they had a room for two people which I booked for. So we sorted it out... More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I want to let you all know this was one of the best motels i have stayed in. The room was immaculate, We booked a one bedroom unit, four of us. We had the unit with queen in living area and two singles in room. Perfect for travelling with younger persons. We had unlimited internet, converting plugs if we needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathan_107malfroy, Manager at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Lisa Thanks so much for such a beautiful reply. All appreciation goes to the staff . In the future we ll keep your suggestions in mind. Thanks More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. At check in we were given lots of helpful information and suggestions of where to eat. It takes about 20 minutes to walk down to the restaurant area. The room was clean and beds comfortable. There were fan heaters which we needed as unfortunately the day was cold and wet. Because of this we couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nathan_107malfroy, Manager at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for staying at our motel. It was a delight to host you at our place. We do not have a dryer at our place except we have clothes liner. I certainly hope to see you again !!! :-) More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights.The room is clean and the staff is really helpful. We enjoyed the private spa pool a lot. 40" TV and Blu-ray DVD player are perfect! We would like to come here again.Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan_107malfroy, Manager at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Vipul Thanks for such a wonderful review. We clean our rooms with utmost detail each time and have upgraded the rooms with bigger tvs for bigger fun and a dvd player with blue ray so you can enjoy movies you want to watch . See you soon again :-) More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We booked back in June when in Rotorua but stayed in November 2014 for 4 nights. We had a room with a courtyard spa which needed a bit of cleaning. As it was a mostly cold and overcast we didn't use the spa. The main room had a small kitchen and there was the basics except cereal bowls. We just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan_107malfroy, Manager at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Sorry for the wifi as that time it was being repaired. Now its been repaired and up and running. The courtyard is cleaned each time and we have all the kitchen facilities in the room. Hope to see you soon again!!! More 

India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We spent 18 days in NZ, both North and South Island, and stayed in different motels, but the best experience we had was at Ann's Volcanic Motel due to the incredibly helpful manager Nathan. Solely due to his help we managed to squeeze in the maximum number of attractions in the one day we had there. We arrived by bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathan_107malfroy, Manager at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Peter Thank you so much for the response. It was my utmost delight to host you and your family and I am happy to have chauffeured you around :-) hope to hear from you soon and would like to see your fb page for your pictures. Cheers!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#65 of 96 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#45 of 96 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Red Rock Thermal Motel
#20 of 96 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Cleveland
Econo Lodge Cleveland
#19 of 96 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#38 of 96 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay