We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Motel

Hotel website
69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dolphin Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Motel was very neat and clean. Manager Emma was fantastic bery communicative and very helpful. Met new owner next day when I was leaving not communicative did not ask how my stay was, no thank you, nothing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lfern2016
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice words happy to help, sorry owner didn't acknowledge your stay. I hope to see you again. More 

Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We would happily recommend Dolphin Motel to other travellers. We were pleased with the location and ease of access to all facilities in Paihia. Our room was lovely, clean, comfortable and staff were very helpful. The only downfall was no air conditioning n the room and it is very hot in Paihia during January.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paniap
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments, happy to help you and glad you enjoyed your stay More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed in the one bedroom family room and it was nice and clean. Just little bit smaller than we thought for four people (2adults & 2 children). The receptionist was really kind and friendly. Shops were just few minutes away very covenient with children.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aliceh729
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay sorry you thought your room was a bit small perhaps next time you may find a 2 bedroom more spacious for 4 guests, thanks More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed talking with the lovely lady on the front desk. She was very helpful and looked after us very well over the three nights we stayed at the Dolphin Motel. The 2 bedroom unit had everything we needed and would be perfect for a family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jennybI179WE
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Lovely talking with you also and glad to hear you had everything you needed to enjoy your stay with us. More 

palmwoods
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

sorry won't be back - toilet flushing an issue - most times it wouldn't! outside light went all night right outside our room. Tiniest studio apartment ever been in - had a cheek charging $180 a night. Didn't leave teatowel or dish cloth on 2nd day. Have issues with doing dishes etc in bathroom basin. Not happy campers!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank salexa_386978
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

sorry to hear you didn't like your stay, the room you were in is described as a budget unit reason being small, the outside light is a security light for the staircase so unfortunately nothing can be done about that. You stayed in peak new years hence the price and sorry was unaware of toilet problem as no one else... More 

Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel was a little tired and a little bit noisy as it was a busy time in Paihia. the rooms are not air conditioned but there are ceiling fans but being summer were a little bit stuffy. fairly clean and tidy rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deborahL4357DH
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Ye,s in peak summer times new years, etc it can get a little noisy which is expected sorry, Otherwise generally very quiet for the location. Sorry you felt the rooms were stuffy but there are plenty of windows to prevent this and as you say ceiling fans to help with the heat. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and spacious room with excellent facilities. Close to central Paihia, yet far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet. Staff that are friendly and willing to assist with any queries. Would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ihaveawhiterouter
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

happy to assist, glad you enjoyed your stay see you again More 

Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great location for our family holiday in paihia.giod clean unit with two rooms for us and our two boys. Clean tidy and great service which made the stay brilliant would recommend using again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KerryA168
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

glad your family and you enjoyed our motel come again More 

Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a fantastic location, and very nice room. The one disappointment was that I rang to book a room and specifically requested for a room with two separate beds, but on arrival we were told the room we had booked had just one queen bed! The girl at reception was lovely and brought in a extra bed, which did... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yuparr
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dolphin Motel is well positioned geographically, in easy walking distance to the main facilities of Paihia. The Manager (Emma) was most helpful and hospitable. the rooms were clean and the facilities were in good condition.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 480noelc
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#10 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay