We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Motel

4.0 of 5 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Hotel website
Special Offer
25% off Twin Tours
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dolphin Motel
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    56
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
48
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I understand The Dolphin has recently been taken over by new management and they are taking great strides to make it as comfortable as possible and they are winning. A lovely lady came in to clean and was careful to make sure the little touches were in place - folded towels on beds etc. The manager seemed a little brusque... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here before an outing in the Bay of Islands. The staff was wonderful and even held our bags for us. The room is of Motel quality. There are only two things we didn't like: the doors could not be open without open the shades, so it was hard to get privacy. Also, our room was in the corner... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great stay here. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean. My only point would have been to have the bedrooms very separate from the living space as we were staying with our mothers. Other than that great stay and would come back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent sized family rooms. Great quiet location but still only a short walk to the wharf. Helpful staff. Very comfortable beds. Great local knowledge which was appreciated as so many activities to choose from. Definately would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good place to stay and friendly staff. Manager Paul is really a nice guy. He can arrange tickets and passes for the activities at Pahia like para-sailing, Hole in the rock cruise etc. We booked a small room for Two person. The room was equipped with microwave, small bar fridge. Close to the beach so you can walk to it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Its was great to have you stay.Hope to see you again in the future. All the best Paul More 

Clinton, Washington
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
54 hotel reviews
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay--very clean and appealing. It offered the best price in town too. Best of all, the manager is hugely accommodating. My husband fell against the toilet seat and broke it; but the manager decided not to charge us anything even though he had to order a new one all the way from Kerikeri. Book ahead because Pahihia... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the stay in early December 2014.Great review and appreciate the comments.I remembered you stay and the broken seat.Its one those accidents that one cant help.Its a bit of wear and tear which crops up at times. As a foot note I have just finished as manager of the motel after 4 years. My thanks to all the great... More 

Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good size apartment and very friendly staff. Contact Paul directly to get the best deal. Paihia was pretty lively as we stayed on New Year's Eve, so we were awoken by quite noisy neighbours (in other motel), but I think during other times of the year, would be much quieter. Great fireworks and circus display for New Years.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments and rating.Glad you enjoyed your stay. As a foot note I have just finished as manager of the motel after 4 years. My thanks to all the great reviews over that period and it was a pleasure to serve you all and make your stay in Paihia memorable. All the best to you all Paul More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didnt actually stay here as Paul thought our room wouldnt be suitable so booked us across the road at the Tui, which was very nice. Nice to see an owner more concerned about his guest welfare than making money. I'm sure it would be a pleasure to stay at the Dolphin, maybe next time!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and it was great to give you a bit more comfort as I thought the budget room you booked was a bit small and for few dollars less seemed to fit the bill. As a foot note I have just finished as manager of the motel after 4 years. My thanks to all the great... More 

Taranaki, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paul, motel manager, is one of a kind. The best del you can get for the Dolphin Motel is to call Paul directly. He has access to great deals for various activities in Paihia. The Motel is kept immaculate, is comfy and the rooms are modern.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay. As a FOOTNOTE.I have now finished at the Dolphin Motel and would thank all the reviewers for their great comments.Over the past 4 years I generally hope you enjoyed visiting the motel and Paihia,and the Bay of Islands. Thank you and all the best to you all. Paul More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Hi Paul. Over all your motel was great - clean rooms, comfortable bed etc and under any other circumstances we would give you an excellent review. Unfortunately, I don't know if it was the neighbours or on site but there was a party that went on until about 4 am so we got NO sleep. Not only that but the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
rikki2000, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, I cannot pin point exactly the problem you had with noise and where it came from,as I live near the unit concerned you stayed in.I am accessible at all hours to rectify any noise or other problems and with phones in all rooms could have been dealt with promptly by our 24 hour security or myself. However glad... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Address: 69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#11 Family Hotel in Paihia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paihia

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay