We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Motel

Hotel website
69 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dolphin Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    109
    66
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
64
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
West Auckland NZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very happy to have friendly prompt service when arriving as we had been on the road for 9hrs. Our room was excellent and more than we had expected. Location was the best...walking distance to town and everything. We were able to see stores..restaurants..bars etc without hassels. We have decided that we will be staying there on our future visits to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The only negative was that Ch 3 on the TV had no sound for some reason? Otherwise the room was great, great bed and great shower which to me are both very important, I appreciated the phone call prior to my arrival

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Hi Greg sorry about tv 3 we have ordered a new part to fix the sound situation through sky just waiting upon its arrival otherwise glad you found the bed etc comfortable hope to see you again More 

Murupara, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's the staff that make this home away from home, We could relax and unwind away from the kids. Emma fixed us up with all our trips which the wife really enjoyed, which intern made me happy. and she really spent time explaining what northland had to offer, our room was perfect and clean. We'll definitely be back, might even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Glad to help with your attractions and activities, always happy to make sure you can experience the most of Paihia's beauty. Next time "yes" bring the family and relax having a spa and unwinding perhaps in summer when you can benefit all the water activites in the warmth. More 

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff, clean tidy rooms - excellent shower pressure:-) Handy to shops and ammenities - just a short walk and you're getting a great coffee and enjoying the view of the harbour at sunrise - Magic!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Nothing better than great shower pressure! Happy you had a good holiday enjoying the beauty of Paihia especially at sunset More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I wanted a motel that was cheap and cheerful this certainly fulfilled our expectations. The room was clean and tidy we couldn't fault it. The lady on reception was very pleasant. The location is great just set back from the shops and restaurants but within a short stroll. I would definitely recommend for a short stay, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments happy you found our property pleasant to stay in we aim to please and yes the bakery along the road has great homemade goodies a little addictive. Sounds like you got to see a lot around Paihia hope to see you again More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just wanted a cheap and cheerful motel and we weren't disappointed. This accommodation is clean and well maintained If your wanting 5 star this one is not for you but it was exactly what we were after and couldn't fault it for the value. It's location is just a short stroll to the shops restaurants. The lady that was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Glad you were satisfied with your accommodation More 

Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We stayed 2 nights over the weekend drove in off the road offered great rates with different options choose the spa unit which was very enjoyable and relaxing very spacious and tidy. Staff outstanding with knowledge of the area very helpful with making a booking nothing too much trouble even drove us in there own vehicle to wharf as husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Mary I have very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us hope to see you again in the future More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

It was really nice to stay in Dolphin Motel. Everything was very clean and tidy. The staff was really good and helpful. I will recommend dolphin motel if you want to stay in a nice and calm place with a reasonable price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments yes a wonderful place to live can't complain glad others can enjoy it to happy to have made your stay a good one. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

I stayed with a friend here and we loved it. It was clean,tidy and was good equipped! We had our doubts first because nobody in Paihia could give us a description of the way ,but it surprised us how good it was. It was not even a problem that we arrived really late and later than originally planned. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

always happy to help lovely customers glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return in the future More 

Ruawai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room considering the price tag, and loved how close it was to the centre of town (everyone can have a drink with dinner if no-one has to drive). Considering it was a very spur-of-the-moment, site-unseen booking, we were really happy with the motel and would definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emmz2015, Manager at Dolphin Motel, responded to this review

Hi glad you were pleasantly surprised with our rooms they are excellent value for money hope to see you again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge
Admiral's View Lodge
#10 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#11 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#16 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay