We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bounty Motel

Hotel website
42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bounty Motel
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked in of the road for a one night stay and we had such a lovely welcome.. we got room 23 which was absolutely lovely so nice and clean and we'll presented we were very impressed. . The Bounty is only a 2 minute walk to everything which is so handy and they had awesome safe parking for you..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments rhonda702015, we are very humbled by them. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a few days while visiting the Bay Of Islands, it is ideally situated, back off the main road and within a few minutes walk to the centre of town. Ample parking and a warm welcome by the owner and other members of staff. Room was clean and well equiped. We had no problems with the Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Antony B. With regard to the WiFi your comments are interesting. Very often guests are connected to the WiFi but their device is not set up properly. We are always happy to help with the set up if necessary. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice quiet motel with friendly welcome. Free wifi didn't work in our room but did if you sat near the office ( not pleasant in the rain!). Free breakfast mentioned on the sign but was not offered or received. Good location for strolling in to town. Plenty of nearby eateries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jancrow4, thank you for your comments which are very fair. Our Wifi signal in some rooms is weak and will be fixed by the time you read this response. Yes we do offer free Wifi but breakfast is only free to guests booking on bountyinn website or by clicking on the "Special Offer" on "Trip Advisor". Other guests are... More 

Tin Can Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only spent one night here as part of our trip throughout Northland but our stay here was very pleasant. The rooms are clean, comfortable and in a quiet location but handy to everything we needed. Free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast the next morning was a bonus, as we booked directly through their website. I would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mandela2212 from Tin Can Bay. The best comment we can get is "Value for money". We recognise that some of our neighbours have more up to date premises, they offer more modern rooms and facilities but they charge a lot more for them than we do, and justifiably so. Yes our WiFi is free and unlimited, our rooms are... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week during Christmas break, worst motel I have ever stayed in. I was thinking of moving to another Motel half way through the break, really bad services and experience, but ended up staying there the whole way because I just cant be bothered and everywhere else is full except this. Should have double checked why this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad experience. We have no idea what your problems were and you haven't specified. It is a good idea to talk to the operators about your concerns instead of making anonymous complaints about them three months later. As you can see from other reviews we recognise that we are an older motel, which is reflected in... More 

Kaitaia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight on business trip. Great location. We had a downstairs superior unit which was very modern, clean and well appointed. Good value for money in this area with free wifi and basic continental breakfast included. Helpful hosts who were patient with my initial problems in gaining wifi access. Would definitely recommend and happily stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Just to let you know that the wifi coverage is in the process of being extended to give a better signal in the rooms that are currently weak. We have considered using a third party WiFi provider but that would mean a better signal but there would be a significant charge to our guests which... More 

Bruton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good clean staff very helpfull and owner has good knowledge of area. In a quiet side street 4 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from the centre where there are some very good eating places, once again followed recommendations of owner. He also recommended trips which were all good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Graeme B. I am pleased you enjoyed you stay. More 

Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean, tidy, and of appropriate comfort given the price. Great location, and had information available for local activities. We found the manager quite rude and not a great ambassador for NZ. It was very unprofessional the way he went on about booking.com and expedia.com 'obviously going to be a higher price' given that they are the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I seem to remember that there was a problem with your booking, it happens occasionally with third party websites. We certainly didn't wish to give the impression that Expedia, booking.com or indeed any other third party website do not provide an good service, they do, however there are sometimes inevitable interface problems between the website... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here in January for three nights on my own. It was very comfy, with a great little kitchenette and a nice outdoor table to sit and read or whatever in the evenings. The owner was lovely , very helpful - helped me book a couple of activities while I was there. A tip for you - book on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Suncardy, Sorry about the wifi reception, it is a little patchy in some rooms. This will be fixed by putting in another booster as soon as the season slows down a bit. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Motel with parking outside room was clean and functional. Motel is one block back from seafront. Staff were helpful in booking islands trip for us. Breakfast was cheap at $5 but was only tea/coffee, toast and tinned peaches; would have paid a little more for selection of fresh fruit and pastries

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Mr_Mrs B. Our free breakfast is available through Tripadvisor and as a special on our own website. The menu includes Fruit juice, fruit, choice of cereals, toast and preserves and tea and coffee. The $5 price we charge doesn't even cover the cost of labour and ingredients, it is purely an additional service. Sorry about the noise from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question