We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bounty Motel

Hotel website
42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Special Deal
Free Breakfast & WiFi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bounty Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bounty Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    31
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
39
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Noosa, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed one night here and it was very pleasant. Close to shops and walking distance to everything. Comfortable rooms free brekkie and wifi. Still a bit of a problem with wifi but just sat outside the room. Would come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. WiFi now fixed. More 

Hobart
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Had a great stay here recently. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was spacious with a king bed, lounge and kitchen area. Nice and clean. Close walking distance to the main strip in Paihia. Its a little older but didnt matter. Brought back holiday memories from when I was younger. Free wifi, free parking and a well priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We walked in of the road for a one night stay and we had such a lovely welcome.. we got room 23 which was absolutely lovely so nice and clean and we'll presented we were very impressed. . The Bounty is only a 2 minute walk to everything which is so handy and they had awesome safe parking for you..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments rhonda702015, we are very humbled by them. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We stayed here for a few days while visiting the Bay Of Islands, it is ideally situated, back off the main road and within a few minutes walk to the centre of town. Ample parking and a warm welcome by the owner and other members of staff. Room was clean and well equiped. We had no problems with the Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Antony B. With regard to the WiFi your comments are interesting. Very often guests are connected to the WiFi but their device is not set up properly. We are always happy to help with the set up if necessary. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Nice quiet motel with friendly welcome. Free wifi didn't work in our room but did if you sat near the office ( not pleasant in the rain!). Free breakfast mentioned on the sign but was not offered or received. Good location for strolling in to town. Plenty of nearby eateries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jancrow4, thank you for your comments which are very fair. Our Wifi signal in some rooms is weak and will be fixed by the time you read this response. Yes we do offer free Wifi but breakfast is only free to guests booking on bountyinn website or by clicking on the "Special Offer" on "Trip Advisor". Other guests are... More 

Tin Can Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We only spent one night here as part of our trip throughout Northland but our stay here was very pleasant. The rooms are clean, comfortable and in a quiet location but handy to everything we needed. Free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast the next morning was a bonus, as we booked directly through their website. I would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mandela2212 from Tin Can Bay. The best comment we can get is "Value for money". We recognise that some of our neighbours have more up to date premises, they offer more modern rooms and facilities but they charge a lot more for them than we do, and justifiably so. Yes our WiFi is free and unlimited, our rooms are... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Stayed here for a week during Christmas break, worst motel I have ever stayed in. I was thinking of moving to another Motel half way through the break, really bad services and experience, but ended up staying there the whole way because I just cant be bothered and everywhere else is full except this. Should have double checked why this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad experience. We have no idea what your problems were and you haven't specified. It is a good idea to talk to the operators about your concerns instead of making anonymous complaints about them three months later. As you can see from other reviews we recognise that we are an older motel, which is reflected in... More 

Kaitaia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

Stayed overnight on business trip. Great location. We had a downstairs superior unit which was very modern, clean and well appointed. Good value for money in this area with free wifi and basic continental breakfast included. Helpful hosts who were patient with my initial problems in gaining wifi access. Would definitely recommend and happily stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Just to let you know that the wifi coverage is in the process of being extended to give a better signal in the rooms that are currently weak. We have considered using a third party WiFi provider but that would mean a better signal but there would be a significant charge to our guests which... More 

Bruton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Good clean staff very helpfull and owner has good knowledge of area. In a quiet side street 4 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from the centre where there are some very good eating places, once again followed recommendations of owner. He also recommended trips which were all good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Graeme B. I am pleased you enjoyed you stay. More 

Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

The room was clean, tidy, and of appropriate comfort given the price. Great location, and had information available for local activities. We found the manager quite rude and not a great ambassador for NZ. It was very unprofessional the way he went on about booking.com and expedia.com 'obviously going to be a higher price' given that they are the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I seem to remember that there was a problem with your booking, it happens occasionally with third party websites. We certainly didn't wish to give the impression that Expedia, booking.com or indeed any other third party website do not provide an good service, they do, however there are sometimes inevitable interface problems between the website... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge
Admiral's View Lodge
#10 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#12 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.6 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#16 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay