We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bounty Motel

Hotel website
42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Special Deal
Free Breakfast & WiFi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bounty Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    32
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
39
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Helpful staff Clean spacious rooms BBQs fridge Sink Close to shops & marina We walked into town only 100m Waterfront only 50m away 5 minute drive to treaty grounds Manager looked up & helped with bookings for us We drove up from Aukland & arrived early manager let us book in early as the room was made up already. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Always stay at the Bounty, business or holidays. Right in town, close to restaurants,no need to drive , safe car parking. Manager and staff friendly and helpful. I see rooms being upgraded, going to be even better. Surprise free breakfast too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on a family holiday to NZ and booked this place when we visited the Bay of Islands. The accommodation was as expected and I would stay again. Very conveniently situated in Paihia. Great views over the Bay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Noosa, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed one night here and it was very pleasant. Close to shops and walking distance to everything. Comfortable rooms free brekkie and wifi. Still a bit of a problem with wifi but just sat outside the room. Would come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. WiFi now fixed. More 

Hobart
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Had a great stay here recently. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. It was spacious with a king bed, lounge and kitchen area. Nice and clean. Close walking distance to the main strip in Paihia. Its a little older but didnt matter. Brought back holiday memories from when I was younger. Free wifi, free parking and a well priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We walked in of the road for a one night stay and we had such a lovely welcome.. we got room 23 which was absolutely lovely so nice and clean and we'll presented we were very impressed. . The Bounty is only a 2 minute walk to everything which is so handy and they had awesome safe parking for you..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments rhonda702015, we are very humbled by them. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We stayed here for a few days while visiting the Bay Of Islands, it is ideally situated, back off the main road and within a few minutes walk to the centre of town. Ample parking and a warm welcome by the owner and other members of staff. Room was clean and well equiped. We had no problems with the Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Antony B. With regard to the WiFi your comments are interesting. Very often guests are connected to the WiFi but their device is not set up properly. We are always happy to help with the set up if necessary. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Nice quiet motel with friendly welcome. Free wifi didn't work in our room but did if you sat near the office ( not pleasant in the rain!). Free breakfast mentioned on the sign but was not offered or received. Good location for strolling in to town. Plenty of nearby eateries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jancrow4, thank you for your comments which are very fair. Our Wifi signal in some rooms is weak and will be fixed by the time you read this response. Yes we do offer free Wifi but breakfast is only free to guests booking on bountyinn website or by clicking on the "Special Offer" on "Trip Advisor". Other guests are... More 

Tin Can Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We only spent one night here as part of our trip throughout Northland but our stay here was very pleasant. The rooms are clean, comfortable and in a quiet location but handy to everything we needed. Free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast the next morning was a bonus, as we booked directly through their website. I would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mandela2212 from Tin Can Bay. The best comment we can get is "Value for money". We recognise that some of our neighbours have more up to date premises, they offer more modern rooms and facilities but they charge a lot more for them than we do, and justifiably so. Yes our WiFi is free and unlimited, our rooms are... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Stayed here for a week during Christmas break, worst motel I have ever stayed in. I was thinking of moving to another Motel half way through the break, really bad services and experience, but ended up staying there the whole way because I just cant be bothered and everywhere else is full except this. Should have double checked why this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jalander42, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bad experience. We have no idea what your problems were and you haven't specified. It is a good idea to talk to the operators about your concerns instead of making anonymous complaints about them three months later. As you can see from other reviews we recognise that we are an older motel, which is reflected in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge
Admiral's View Lodge
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#16 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#15 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay