We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Breakwater Motel

#3 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1 Bayview Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Breakwater Motel
Review This Hotel

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    73
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
220
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (348)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
There are newer reviews for Breakwater Motel
See the most recent reviews
Queensland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

A perfect place to stay in Paihia - right on beachfront and a short walk to the pier. Plenty of nearby restaurants also - 5 min. walk max. Lynne and Ross are wonderful hosts who run a very clean motel. The units are well appointed with everything you need for a short or longer stay. Free Wi Fi and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Amosi, thanks for the wonderful review. Yes as I mentioned in a previos review reply it is all about location location! The most common complaint we have here is "Wish we could stay longer" Free unlimited WIFI is a must in an upmarket Motel it is now expected, so pleased to be able to provide this service. Thankyou again... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The location is fab, a short walk to restaurants and the ferry terminal. The accomodation itself was fresh, modern, clean and well appointed. The bed room was on the small side and a little awkard but had everything you need. The welcome was warm although they couldn't find our booking initially. What was slightly disappointing was that when i booked,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Nush7, thanks for your review and we take all feed back seriously. Sorry about the mix up over $14 but 1 night stays are more expensive for us than multiple nights where we can be more lienient on the price in Nov. I am sure if an upstairs Suite was available it would have been yours however November was... More 

United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

This was an awesome place to stay in Pahia! Very friendly service when we arrived and they helped us plan our adventures while in Pahia. The room was spacious and equipped with everything we needed. They gave us wifi while there and even worked it out so that we could stay an extra day. I highly recommend this motel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi ErinD, thanks for your AWESOME review, love that word awesome!! Pleased to be able to provide good unlimited WIFI. saves frustration for the guests. Such a pleasure to have nice people to stay. Thanks again. Kind Regards Ken More 

Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Breakwater Motel was one of the best places we have ever stayed, from the minute we met Lyn at the front desk until we checked out. BEST view from our room and from the patio, of the Bay of Islands. Comfortable room and plenty of space for both of us. CLEAN. Coffee provided! Frig et al. Short walk from our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Azul505, many thanks for the flattering coments. Lyn is well versed with all the local activities as you found. Pleased you found all you needed to have an enjoyable experience with us. thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Ken More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Lived up to expectations for an upmarket motel with delicious bay views. Made a great base for exploring the town which was a short walk away. Friendly welcome at reception and some useful local advice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Paul M, thanks for using the adjectives you chose to describe our Motel. We do take pride in being upmarket and we also get a lot of very nice guests because of that reason. Unfortunately we can't spend as much time as the guests enjoying the view on offer but are pleased to know you did enjoy!! Happy New... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

A comfortable, modern, well presented motel in a great location We stayed in a Waterfront Suite upstairs, perfect for the views The couple who ran the place gave us a great recommendation on where to eat as well as suggesting a lovely scenic route to take on our drive up to Cape Reinga

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

masutton, Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel. We appreciate you positive feed Back. Happy and prosperous New Year to you! Kind Regards Ken More 

Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We stayed in a 'garden view' room and really it should have been called a 'carpark view' room. The room itself was neat and tidy, the bathroom a bit musty smelling. The spa pool is only open until 8pm and children under 12yrs are not allowed in, so not a very family friendly place. We were charged $30 a night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Suave, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We call the Suite you booked a Garden Suite. No where does it say GARDEN VIEW!!! Then you arrive and try to get your child in without paying, shame on you. The portercot was free of charge and organised mothers prefer to provide thier own bedding for Cot age... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We thought we had been spoilt on our cruise from Sydney to Auckland but were blown away by the stunning views from our well appointed rooms at the Breakwater I had selected this accommodation from the comments seen on trip advisor and we were certainly not disappointed. We had a waterfront 1 bedroom apt. and woke each morning to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Milleebar, What can I say? Thanks a bunch for the wonderfull review of our beautifull property here and we would be so pleased to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Ken More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 via mobile

The folks at Breakwater are such warm, lovely people. My wife and I had a flawless experience. The room was clean, cozy, and well decorated; everything we needed was right there. Convenient location, as well as breathtaking views of Bay of Islands. Ken and Lynn even helped us book a very last minute boat tour of the islands. If we're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Colin G, thanks for describing your experience as flawless! That certainly makes us feel good about what we want to achieve for you our Guests. Pleased you enjoyed the location and the Suites we have become so proud of. Thanking you , Kind Regards Ken More 

Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

My wife and I loved this place and its location. The couple who runs the Breakwater are really friendly and helped us with several things including booking for tours and sightseeing. The rooms were very clean and new. We loved this location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Ryam W, thanks for doing a review and seeing the positives. We do our best to be friendly and helpful to make your stay as enjoyable an experience as we can. Thanks again. Kind Regards Ken More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question