We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Breakwater Motel

#5 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Breakwater Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    290
    78
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
68
247
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (385)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a beautiful hotel. The hosts were. Fantastic and very helpful. They could not do too much for you. So close to shops and restaurants. The veiw from the room was spectacular. If staying in Paihia it would be the only place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very comfortable spacious unit, with lovely views out over the Bay. Lovely and helpful hosts. Clean facilities, and lovely to have the unit serviced daily. I would highly recommend this motel in an ideal spot in Paihia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Heather T. thank you for reviewing our GREAT Motel!! We do have spacious Suites with most of the comforts of home for you to enjoy and we service daily to keep things the same way every day. We are proud of our staff who keep our Suites clean for you to enjoy too. Please come back up this way... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this accommodation not expecting too much after reading some of the mixed reviews. What a surprise it was, the room was beautiful, clean, modern, the staff very pleasant, the WiFi very good. The location is also good being very close to the cruise terminal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Linda R. Thank you for your positive review. So pleased you were surprised with your choice. We do get it right 99.9% of the time but no accounting for the mood of the odd person! It is a great place we have and our hard work is paying off when we get reviews from people like yourself. Hope we... More 

Denver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Convenient location, clean, comfortable apartment. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Worth the money to pay for the view. We could sit in our apartment and enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set. Very clean. Shampoo was provided. We actually cooked breakfast and dinner in the apartment so that we could enjoy the view. No dishwasher which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello KP303 Another review that is a pleasure for us to read so thank you for that! The views are fantastic and pleased you enjoyed the facilities and your glass of wine as well. Be nice to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Würzburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here one night during our 3 weeks trip through New Zealand. Our memory of the Breakwater Motel is definitely coined by the very unfriendly and not customer oriented "service" we received from the lady at reception when we arrived. Here is what we liked about the Breakwater: + Decent value for money + Fully equipped room (microwave, waterboiler... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Schiffi Wurzburg, thank you for reviewing our Motel. I am pleased to read there were positives from your stay with us but sorry to see you had a bad experience as well. We have the capacity to have over 100 hundred guests staying 365 days of the year and out of that number we being human beings are bound... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Stayed 2 nights here in a lovely room facing the Bay of Islands. It was off season so quiet, but still good service from staff. Good size room with good amenities. Its walking distance to town,Waitagi Treaty Grounds and the wharf for boat trips. Only complaint, bit expensive to do a load of washing $10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Handbagtraveler, Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful spot in paradise. Pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

We had a wonderful 3 days staying at the Breakwater Motel.We took our elderly Aunt with us to Paihia and were so happy with our accommodation we had a wonderful view of the bay and the Motel rooms were so comfortable and clean. Thank you Lyn and Ken for making our stay so enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Esther P, Thank you very much for taking the time to do a glowing review of our lovely Motel. We are so pleased to read of the enjoyable experience you had with us. Please come to stay another time. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

. They say location is everything in a property and this motel satisfied on all location aspects - the view across the Bay of Islands; its proximity to shops and cruise wharves, and its closeness to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds. We stayed here for 3 nights in late May grateful for the amazing views and warm, comfortable apartment in what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hullo Sandra W. thank you for the extended warm review, such a delight to read. The location is to die for and so close to everything thing that you want to be! Shame about the weather you experienced but the air con/heat pumps take care of the temperature changes. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We stayed at the Breakwater Motel for two nights in April. Arrived on the stroke of 8pm (when reception closes) but received a very warm welcome from Ken who had gone to the trouble of setting up our room and keys in anticipation that we'd arrive after reception was done for the day. Ken still took the time to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hullo Simon R, thank you for taking the time to do such a nice review. We are always happy to welcome arrivals at any time that you arrive as we then know everything suits your needs. We are blessed with a beautiful position with so many suites facing the wonderful views of the water. Hope to see you again soon.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile

What a lovely location, room was spacious and clean. Very central to all amenities .the best part was waking up to an amazing view . It was good to get away for some time out. Our hosts were lovely and helpful especially when I made the booking and I was pleasantly surprised at the lovely view.Had a great stay and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Craig and Sonia, It is a pleasure to have lovely Guests who enjoy what is on offer! It makes our efforts worth the extra trouble we go to for you the Guests. Will be pleased to welcome you anytime. Thanks for the review. Kind regards Ken and Lyn More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bali Hai Motel
Bali Hai Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay