We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Breakwater Motel

#4 of 42 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Breakwater Motel
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    75
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
63
230
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (359)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to book a room. The walk-in rate was higher than the price offered on booking.com, so no problem: I would book via booking.com on the spot. While in the process of booking it online, the receptionist said she would not give us a room anyhow and that she would cancel our reservation if we would book it via... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

What a bad attitude! You wanted the cheapest room which I tried to explain to you was occupied and was therefore not available - which is pretty simple to understand for some!!! You thought you would try and be smart and book it online in front of me which you obviously couldn't do! Why did you not pay a few... More 

Coolum Beach, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this hotel. Friendly, personal service. Incredibly clean and well-presented room. Beautiful views across the Bay of Islands. Short walk to everything. Great value for money. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi 160Sunshine Wow, thanks for the awesome review and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a Seaview suite in this hotel for 4 nights in March. When we arrived and saw the room we were disappointed not to have a direct sea view but rather a courtyard/sea view. The owner showed us a direct sea view room and we decided to take that, then we were told that this suite was an extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Dear Piririnha Thanks for reviewing our motel, but I need to clarify the facts. Firstly you booked a Seaview room which clearly states on our website that it is a partial sea view. When you booked you were aware that we were unable to accommodate you in the same unit for 4 days and that you would need to move... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for several nights over Easter. A very professionally run establishment. Pleasant and helpful managers. Our room was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Recently renovated too I would say. A few minutes walk to the town centre and the jetty. There is free in room wifi despite the unfair rant of a previous contributor. Even if the wifi was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi KeenPhotographer Sincere thanks for your comments. We endeavour to provide each and every guest with a memorable experience of the Bay of Islands. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

some how my poor review keeps getting deleted. This may explain why this terrible hotel has such good ratings. In the interest of complete fairness, the hotel is clean and the location is convenient to shops and restaurants. My issue is with the customer service. The hotel advertises that it has wifi. It does not have functioning wifi. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very welcoming on arrival. Excellent unit and location, and would definitely stay there for for longer next time. The unit was well furnished, with all required facilities and and walking distances to main area in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi MarkEJR We appreciate you taking the time to review our motel and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a sea view suite - cost a bit more, but worth all of it. We loved the view, the cleanliness, the simplicity & funcionality of the place. Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants but at same time nice & quiet And the laundry was a pleasure to use.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

HI peter_randall Many thanks for your time and for sharing your thoughts with fellow travellers. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Mackay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The location and room was very nice! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room view was very nice! The room was well equipped with heated rails for your towels. Electric blanket. Big self contained kitchen

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

HI Brendan L Thanks for sharing your experience at our motel and wishing you both loads of happiness together. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We asked for sea view and had fab, dual aspect room (8). Had takeaways for 2 nights out of the 4 so that we could take advantage of the views. Room spotless, and we weren't disturbed by traffic noise. Very informative welcome at reception when we checked in. Honestly couldn't wish for a better place to stay in this very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Phil and Maureen Thanks for the fabulous review and delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Underhill, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a sea view suite and got just that. The views of the bay are right in front of you. There were plenty of windows to see and let in light and air. Like most places in NZ the Internet is slow. But this place seemed quite slow. There was quite a bit of road noise from vehicles during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jeff S Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We have since upgraded our wifi hardware so this will allow for a faster speed. Thank you for pointing out that the road runs past all the accommodation providers on the Waterfront. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question