We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Breakwater Motel

#4 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Breakwater Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    296
    79
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
68
253
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (393)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stopped here for a week and we're very pleased with our room. We were in room 8 which overlooked the bay. The room was cleaned every day and was immaculate. Cooking facilities were also good. Free WiFi was provided, was a little slow but this wasn't an issue for us Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in a Waterfront apartment at Breakwater Motel - we initially booked for two nights, but it was so lovely, we decided to stay a third night. The Waterfront apartment is smaller than the Seaview but as there were only two of us, it was perfect for us. Everything feels very new and was very clean. The bathroom is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed two nights in Unit 13 which was immaculately clean, had a separate bedroom, full length balcony and well equipped kitchen. The large bathroom was beautifully decorated but the water pressure in the shower was disappointing. The bed was very comfortable with quality linen and it had a TV on the wall as well as the one in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sue617, Thanks for taking the time to review our lovely Motel. The team here are so proud when we read them the reviews about how clean they are keeping the Suites. The comfort factor is well above average expectations and we are pleased to have gone the extra mile for you the guest to appreciate. The fact we service... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed three nights in the well appointed and situated motel. It overlooks the sea, and is a short walk to the restaurants, and boat take off point. We were upgraded to a two room accommodation which was excellent. The couple who run the motel were very helpful, and had lots of information if asked. A really nice place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi rarpos, Thank you for the glowing review. I can see you are well traveled and know what to expect in your choice of accommodation and we are pleased that all the box"s were ticked. We also picked this is the place to stay in Paihia when we first saw the property. Location is everything. Hope to be able to... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited this Motel at the begining of our trip to New Zealand, the Motel has recently been refurbished with a modern bathroom and kitchen area. I would suggest you book the sea view room as you get some stunning sunrise and sunsets to watch from the balcony, perfect with a glass of wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Paul O, Thank you for reviewing our Motel. It is so pleasing to read your comments that reiterate what so many others also say and enjoy! To be able to relax in the recently modernly refurbished Suites is what we designed for you to enjoy away from your own comforts of home. Thanks for staying with us and we... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the waterfront suite here for 2 nights. A great place to stay, beautifully clean and well equipped. The bathroom is particularly modern and finished to a really high standard. The balcony gave amazing views over the sea and down the waterfront - a great place to watch the sun rising and setting over the beautiful landscape! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Chloe O, Thanks for taking the time to do such a lovely review. Yes the sunrise is a great way to start the day and to watch it come up from your bed is something else!! The views over the bay are equally fantastic where there is always something changing. We are proud of the team that keeps the... More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Can honestly say that this was the worst motel on our 2 month tour! We had unit 16, there was no parking outside. The view as looking out onto a wall.Sounded like a generator going all the time. Loud music at 10.40pm!! Thankfully we only booked one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello jillip, Thank you for taking the time to review our very popular Motel. We are sorry to read that you never received what you expected. To start Suite 16 is our only budget Suite and priced accordingly. It however is very nicely furnished with new, King bed, Heat pump, 70 TV channels, free unlimited WIFI and all the modern... More 

P.north
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect location to shops and restaurants. Very modern large and comfy suite with amazing views. Bathroom is large clean and modern. I usually stay in Hotels when away with work for the room service meal option but with the views on offer here it would be a waste not to get out and enjoy it. Walking to town takes no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello k6z. Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel and describing the positives so well. We do enjoy the best position and being so close to the top Eateries. Pleased our teams endeavours are noted by you as they get a kick out of being told they are doing such a great job! Kind Regards Ken and... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

What a beautiful hotel. The hosts were. Fantastic and very helpful. They could not do too much for you. So close to shops and restaurants. The veiw from the room was spectacular. If staying in Paihia it would be the only place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hello Joanne B, thank you for your glowing review. By selecting a water front Suite you did ensure the great view on offer. Yes we do love to help make your time and experience with us in the Bay a memorable one. Thank you for telling readers of reviews this is the place to stay in Paihia! Kind Regards Ken... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

A very comfortable spacious unit, with lovely views out over the Bay. Lovely and helpful hosts. Clean facilities, and lovely to have the unit serviced daily. I would highly recommend this motel in an ideal spot in Paihia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Heather T. thank you for reviewing our GREAT Motel!! We do have spacious Suites with most of the comforts of home for you to enjoy and we service daily to keep things the same way every day. We are proud of our staff who keep our Suites clean for you to enjoy too. Please come back up this way... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay