We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Paihia accommodations

Saltwater Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Saltwater Lodge to your Saves list
Saltwater Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty lodging in Paihia
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014
Otto W Mm
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (10)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only went for food at the bar, they have a pizza oven, so a pizza and salad and were shocked by what we got. The pizza was average, nothing special (but for the price it should have been) while my friends salad left her so speechless she couldn't even complain. The prices, for what you got, were ridiculous. NOT... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mary c, Front Office Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, It would seem you have made a mistake with the recipient of your message. We are Saltwater Lodge, a Backpackers only. We do not have a cafe or bar, so it wouldn't have been us making your pizza.... Thank you, Kathy More

Mm
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

On arrival it appeared that i had to stay in a 4 p room instead 2p room. But the staff solved the problem because the next day i had a 4p room all by myself. A big thumb up for the guys in room 5, had a good time there. Good and clean rooms, facilities okay. Staff helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skive, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed here before, and this time we had family coming to stay, and this place is great. Doesn't feel too much like a backpackers and is a great way of saving some money instead of spending so much more at the main hotels in Paihia. We had some issues with staff, but after speaking to the manager in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is average in every way. Nothing was great, but nothing was sub par. Some staff were nice, others walked around the kitchen/dining area with rap music BLARING out of their phones. This I didn't understand. I wouldn't really recommend it but I wouldn't dissuade anyone from staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights. Good location in Paihia and rooms were well furnished, cleaned daily and a good size. We didn't find the hostel to have much life to it though. Reception area is tucked away and the common area wasn't very inviting. The saltwater bar had very few people, if any at all in each night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

It is a nice place, clean and modern, very close to the beach and the city centre. Staff is good. Some rooms have sea view. Unfortunately there are two "buts": 1. Wi-Fi. It was supposed to be 100 Mb, but we opened just a couple of pages about the tourist attractions we wanted to visit and in a minute we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oak Harbor, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Came to Paihia originally only planning to stay in this hostel one night, but ended up sticking around for the rest of my stay. The place is always super clean (even the kitchen which is rare in hostels), the beach is just a hop, skip, and a jump away, they offer free WiFi (well, 50 mb per day, but it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartmannsdorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at Saltwater Lodge for 3 weeks, and absolutely loved it! I had the best time ever, everyone was so nice! The rooms were bright and clean (cleaned daily), the staff made everyone feel welcome. I'd definitely recommend it. It's so cool that you only have to walk 1-2 minutes to the beach. Also, you can get bikes, tennis,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly stuff, unusually clean rooms with bathrooms, all you can ask for. Great location. Good live music & restaurant just next door, 1 minute walk to beach... Really satisfied with everything and spend 2 wonderful days in Paihia. Thanks for that and I'll come back...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff is so nice ! The lounge is wide and you can everything you need in the kitchen. In the dorms you have your own bathroom. The lodge is very close to the beach and you have bikes for free ! The bars and shops are close too. A beautiful place for relaxing and meet people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Saltwater Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer