We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Saltwater Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saltwater Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
SuzPreen Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars NEW

I have stayed in a number of hostels/backpackers over the years and this is the best ive come across. the staff were lovely and treated me like family from the moment i walked through the door. the room was very comfy, spacious, light and (very!) clean; even included a fridge & microwave (being en-suite was a huge perk!). The Internet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Such a nice hostel - so close to everything, beds were comfortable, rooms have their own bathroom and were clean, big kitchen... really helpful with maps and things to do as well. We needed 2 keys and they were happy to oblige. great value

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

It might be for a reason that the climate up in Paihia is quite mild but I really liked the fact that the room doors are actually slide glass doors like you expect them to have for balconies/terraces. I stayed on the first level and it was so nice to have kind of a loggia on the whole length of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I've stayed in a fair amount of hostels since 2008 worldwide ( and n.z) and this is the best one ever. Firstly staff were welcoming and informative. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm with ensuite bathroom which was super clean. The cleaners knocked on the door to clean it as I looked around thinking 'it already is clean'.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agarone, Schweiz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I got a 4 bed room for myself. The rooms are very nice and clean, there is also a bathroom inside. They cleaned it every day. Internet worked well, you just get a specific amount of MB, not that much. Good location, close to the beach. Everything was good, only very noisy at night, because in front of the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Better than regular hostels. Friendly staff, they left me the key although I didn't ask for it when I arrived late. Nice spot, u can walk to everywhere. Rooms are very spacious including the toilets . Highly recommended. Nice balconies with a beautiful breeze

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Nice and fiendly stuff. The rooms are clean and with own bathroom. The kitchen is comfortable and also clean With parkingfelds who need it. Beautyfull place to stay! Smal town, but a lot of adventures to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We only went for food at the bar, they have a pizza oven, so a pizza and salad and were shocked by what we got. The pizza was average, nothing special (but for the price it should have been) while my friends salad left her so speechless she couldn't even complain. The prices, for what you got, were ridiculous. NOT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mary c, Front Office Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, It would seem you have made a mistake with the recipient of your message. We are Saltwater Lodge, a Backpackers only. We do not have a cafe or bar, so it wouldn't have been us making your pizza.... Thank you, Kathy More 

Mm
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

On arrival it appeared that i had to stay in a 4 p room instead 2p room. But the staff solved the problem because the next day i had a 4p room all by myself. A big thumb up for the guys in room 5, had a good time there. Good and clean rooms, facilities okay. Staff helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skive, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed here before, and this time we had family coming to stay, and this place is great. Doesn't feel too much like a backpackers and is a great way of saving some money instead of spending so much more at the main hotels in Paihia. We had some issues with staff, but after speaking to the manager in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay