We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saltwater Lodge

14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Saltwater Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #15 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Seth J Seven Corners, Virginia
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Seven Corners, Virginia
Top Contributor
427 reviews 427 reviews
40 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here for one night because this is the only hostel on Kings Rd. that had any beds left on Good Friday night. I found this hostel very stylish and modern built. There's a large social area on a second floor with large screen TV and a kitchen. As it was pointed out, this place can get very loud,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Lovely comfortable rooms with fantastic bathrooms / shower rooms and spacious lockers. Nice socializing areas and very helpful and friendly owners who answered questions and helped book accommodation. I stayed here for 4 nights and my main issue with my stay was the noise as the hostel is located next door to a bar which was pretty noisy at night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

I have stayed in a number of hostels/backpackers over the years and this is the best ive come across. the staff were lovely and treated me like family from the moment i walked through the door. the room was very comfy, spacious, light and (very!) clean; even included a fridge & microwave (being en-suite was a huge perk!). The Internet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Such a nice hostel - so close to everything, beds were comfortable, rooms have their own bathroom and were clean, big kitchen... really helpful with maps and things to do as well. We needed 2 keys and they were happy to oblige. great value

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

It might be for a reason that the climate up in Paihia is quite mild but I really liked the fact that the room doors are actually slide glass doors like you expect them to have for balconies/terraces. I stayed on the first level and it was so nice to have kind of a loggia on the whole length of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I've stayed in a fair amount of hostels since 2008 worldwide ( and n.z) and this is the best one ever. Firstly staff were welcoming and informative. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm with ensuite bathroom which was super clean. The cleaners knocked on the door to clean it as I looked around thinking 'it already is clean'.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Agarone, Schweiz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I got a 4 bed room for myself. The rooms are very nice and clean, there is also a bathroom inside. They cleaned it every day. Internet worked well, you just get a specific amount of MB, not that much. Good location, close to the beach. Everything was good, only very noisy at night, because in front of the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Better than regular hostels. Friendly staff, they left me the key although I didn't ask for it when I arrived late. Nice spot, u can walk to everywhere. Rooms are very spacious including the toilets . Highly recommended. Nice balconies with a beautiful breeze

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Nice and fiendly stuff. The rooms are clean and with own bathroom. The kitchen is comfortable and also clean With parkingfelds who need it. Beautyfull place to stay! Smal town, but a lot of adventures to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We only went for food at the bar, they have a pizza oven, so a pizza and salad and were shocked by what we got. The pizza was average, nothing special (but for the price it should have been) while my friends salad left her so speechless she couldn't even complain. The prices, for what you got, were ridiculous. NOT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mary c, Front Office Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, It would seem you have made a mistake with the recipient of your message. We are Saltwater Lodge, a Backpackers only. We do not have a cafe or bar, so it wouldn't have been us making your pizza.... Thank you, Kathy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question