We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Paihia accommodations

Saltwater Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Saltwater Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saltwater Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Paihia
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Emilys-adventure
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've stayed in a fair amount of hostels since 2008 worldwide ( and n.z) and this is the best one ever. Firstly staff were welcoming and informative. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm with ensuite bathroom which was super clean. The cleaners knocked on the door to clean it as I looked around thinking 'it already is clean'.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agarone, Schweiz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I got a 4 bed room for myself. The rooms are very nice and clean, there is also a bathroom inside. They cleaned it every day. Internet worked well, you just get a specific amount of MB, not that much. Good location, close to the beach. Everything was good, only very noisy at night, because in front of the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Better than regular hostels. Friendly staff, they left me the key although I didn't ask for it when I arrived late. Nice spot, u can walk to everywhere. Rooms are very spacious including the toilets . Highly recommended. Nice balconies with a beautiful breeze

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Nice and fiendly stuff. The rooms are clean and with own bathroom. The kitchen is comfortable and also clean With parkingfelds who need it. Beautyfull place to stay! Smal town, but a lot of adventures to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We only went for food at the bar, they have a pizza oven, so a pizza and salad and were shocked by what we got. The pizza was average, nothing special (but for the price it should have been) while my friends salad left her so speechless she couldn't even complain. The prices, for what you got, were ridiculous. NOT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mary c, Front Office Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, It would seem you have made a mistake with the recipient of your message. We are Saltwater Lodge, a Backpackers only. We do not have a cafe or bar, so it wouldn't have been us making your pizza.... Thank you, Kathy More 

Mm
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

On arrival it appeared that i had to stay in a 4 p room instead 2p room. But the staff solved the problem because the next day i had a 4p room all by myself. A big thumb up for the guys in room 5, had a good time there. Good and clean rooms, facilities okay. Staff helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skive, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have stayed here before, and this time we had family coming to stay, and this place is great. Doesn't feel too much like a backpackers and is a great way of saving some money instead of spending so much more at the main hotels in Paihia. We had some issues with staff, but after speaking to the manager in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is average in every way. Nothing was great, but nothing was sub par. Some staff were nice, others walked around the kitchen/dining area with rap music BLARING out of their phones. This I didn't understand. I wouldn't really recommend it but I wouldn't dissuade anyone from staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights. Good location in Paihia and rooms were well furnished, cleaned daily and a good size. We didn't find the hostel to have much life to it though. Reception area is tucked away and the common area wasn't very inviting. The saltwater bar had very few people, if any at all in each night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

It is a nice place, clean and modern, very close to the beach and the city centre. Staff is good. Some rooms have sea view. Unfortunately there are two "buts": 1. Wi-Fi. It was supposed to be 100 Mb, but we opened just a couple of pages about the tourist attractions we wanted to visit and in a minute we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Saltwater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay