We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peppertree Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
15 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Peppertree Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    62
    30
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
37
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Stayed here for two night while I was traveling with a bus company through New Zealand. I choose for Peppertree as is it a smaller hostel then the others and more quiet. Great common areas with couches, big TV and a lot of DVD's. The guy at the reception is really friendly and gave me a tour through the hostel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

This is a great little hostel to stay in, very well kept and clean, very well stocked kitchen and great living area, only negative is the double mattress was old and a little uncomfortable other than that great value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, and for the most part you enjoyed your stay, we recently found that someone had broken a bed base, and possibily that was the room that you were in, we have since replaced the base and hopefully we are back to full service. But of course the person who broke never told... More 

Kalmar, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Pretty basic but a fresh and light room. Well worth the price. Comfortable beds. Nice staff. Free Kayaks was a plus. The bathroom was shared between men and women. No free wifi unfortunately. Calmer than the nextdoor hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a reviewand am pleased you enjoyed the stay. Since you were here the wifi carrier has reduced their fees to us, it is now $10 for 1000 (1 gigabyte) of data. Free stuff is a balance , where do you stop and where do you start its a fine balance. More 

Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We stayed just for a night herel but would definitely be back. Our 4-bed-dorm (ensuite) had a good size and the bathroom was very clean. There is an outside common area as well as a really comfy and homely indoor one consisting of TV area, eating area and very well equipped kitchen. The hosts were extremely friendly and we can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, and we are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Although it helps that Paihia itself is amazing, this has been my favourite hostel in almost all of my travelling. Free bike and kayak hire, clean, inviting open space, nice patio, friendly owners, big and well stocked kitchen, and sturdy beds with an ensuite which was pretty luxurious. Thanks for the free chocolate and great night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights. It was a very nice and clean hostel with a lot of facilities. The kitchen is large enough and when we stayed here there where not fully booked I think. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm with our own toilet and shower. Will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to write a review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

The worst hostel experience we've had in New Zealand! We stayed for one night and had the inconvenience of getting bedbugs. In several beds of our 8-bed dorm. We explained it to the host just to let him know, but he would not believe us and he talked to us like we were five years old. Two girls from our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

we have a preventative spraying program that works, but there is a period when they arrive and the time period until they die. When advised folk think they have seen them, you are correct I don't panic, and whilst they are nasty little things they travel in peoples bags, and luggage. Every time we are advised we have a process... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We loved pepper tree. the owners were amazing and the accommodation was quite cute. however after our last day we noticed blood on the sheets and found we and many others had bed bugs. frightening. probably won't go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

these little critters travel on peoples bags, and from time to time we do come across them, however we find mostly dead ones as we have a preventative spraying program, and the residue is at 100% for 90 days. So if they come into a room two things will happen, most will die with in the first 24 hours of... More 

bucks england
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights. Booked an en suite double but we were given a larger self contained unit with large lounge. Very comfy and clean. Booked a tour so got enough free wifi for our stay. Good location about 5 minutes from the centre of town, mind you it is a very small place. Good value and helpful people.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This place is in a perfect location, only 10 mins walking distance from the town centre and 5 minutes from the beach. We stayed in a private room with an ensuite bathroom, which was small but perfectly acceptable for a couple of days. The owner was both friendly and helpful, and even offered us free internet when we booked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, maybe we will see you back here one day More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Paihia
Haka Lodge Paihia
#2 of 28 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#24 of 28 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Base Backpackers Paihia hostel
0.0 mi away
YHA Paihia
YHA Paihia
#15 of 28 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pickled Parrot Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay