We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanoa Paihia Hotel

5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    51
    29
    13
    16
See reviews for
24
53
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great, ample portions. Street very quiet. We stayed for two nights after purchasing a voucher. Rooms were ok, very cold when we first went inside. They provide a small heater which has to be left on full to keep room warm. Condensation on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and highlighting things what we strive to achieve for our Guests - facilities that are clean and comfortable and service that is efficient and friendly. We trust your trip to the Bay of Islands was enjoyable throughout. If you have the opportunity to return over the summer, please call our front desk directly as we... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ventured to Pahia for a few days break and quite by accident stumbled upon the Tanoa Pahia Hotel. Location is away from the "main drag" of the bustling township. The experience was seamless from check in until check out. The team were very welcoming and attentive. Room was adequate for a couple of nights. Not luxurious by any means,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thanks for posting comments on Tripadvisor and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that our service levels provided you with a "seemless" stay throughout. We do have a refurbishment program currently running. You will have noticed that all bathrooms have been modernised and we are now working our way through the rooms proper. New... More 

Bari
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for a couple of days at the end of the season, so the hotel was empty as for us and another couple. The position and the view are very good. The room is spacious, clean and very comfortable. The bed are huge!! Very good laundry service, the machines are big and it's not expensive. Friendly staff, good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for posting comments on our hotel and staff. Your views are appreciated and I'm sure it will help future travellers to obtain a fair perspective on the property and area generally. We look forward to your return when the opportunity allows. Kind Regards Ted Hatch More 

United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I stayed here for two night this month (July 2015). The rooms are of a good size, clean and tidy-maybe slightly dated. Kettle and fridge etc are in the rooms and is very helpful to have those on hand. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are nice and quiet. The only downside to the room was the bathroom- while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Your comments are welcomed and heeded. Thank you for the positive comments relating to the rooms, these are appreciated by us and useful to potential visitors. With respect to your bed not being made, if this was an oversight by our people then I apologise but, I do believe that the bed was possibly left due to personal... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

This is a lovely motel (hotel) in Paihia, even though its on the older side, it is very well maintained. The beds are super comfortable; makes you not want to get out of bed. Bathroom needs ventilation fans as you either need to have the window open and freeze, or window closed and have massive steam issues. Also they drastically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Neil Thanks for your positive feedback. It's always appreciated and helpful to get objective and specific comments. We've taken on board your observations regarding ventilation and power points and we'll endevour to have some improvements made before your next visit. Regarding WiFi, we currently offer 600mB per day free of charge and I'm sorry if you didn't receive this.... More 

Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Situated about 5 min walk from the Paihia shops, close to the beach, wharf, restaurants, ferry and adventure tourism hub. Paihia is located in the North of the North Island generally known as the 'Winterless North' not this year :) One of the coldest winters for ages. Paihia still offers plenty to see and do even if it is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

NZ certainly has experienced the "Big Chill" this July and unfortunately the "Winterless North" did not escape this. Of course our Queenstown Hotel and Guests would have enjoyed the snow covered ski fields. For us in the north a bit of ice on the windscreens in the morning comes as a bit of a novelty. During winter months when Guest... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I was staying in a 1 single and 1 double bedroom, has good enough space. Have all the basic needs. Staff are wonderful. A hot tub and pool is available but no time to enjoy! One hour 600MB free WiFi. Basic shower has no space to put soap or shampoo, has to put on the showering floor. A small heater... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and commenting on Tripadvisor. All Guest feedback is important to us as it lets us see what our Guests want and gives us the opportunity to continuously improve services. The matters raised by you are being attended to. Thank you for the nice comment about our Staff. Kind Regards, Ted Hatch More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Every single staff member we dealt with was absolutely wonderful! All happy, helpful and caring. Big smiles and willing to go the extra mile! The rooms were clean but everything was very old and dated and the pillows needed upgrading as they were flat and lumpy. Bathrooms nice though. Spa pool and pool area looked great, though we didn't use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgia Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our Team here at Tanoa Paihia. We have a mission within the Tanoa Hotel Group that leads with "The Tanoa Way" and key to fulfilling that mission is our People doing things excellently for our Customers and having fun. It pleases me very much when Guests like yourself acknowledge... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Let me start my review by saying that the only reason we stayed at this hotel was because it was part of a tour package that we booked through a travel agency offering an amazing deal on travel to New Zealand. But, if I were to actually have picked this hotel on my own, I think I would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Your comments raise a number of positive aspects regarding the hotel which I'd like to highlight in brief: 1. "impeccably clean" 2. "spotless bathrooms" 3. "no bugs" 4. "nice staff" "super friendly" "go above and beyond" 5. "very affordable" Guest Laundry "very clean" Regarding the negative aspects: Carpet and Beds need replacing - we're aware that some rooms... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paihia hotels

Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Book this hotel for 2 days, the guy at the reception is very friendly and helpful (Kanish), but Duty Manager "Shirley Mosbey" was really rude and keep a close watch on all the guest, (I felt that way), She completely ruined our holidays...I never visit this hotel please pay bit extra and go somewhere else where you can atleast use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I apologise if you feel you weren't treated with the courtesy that all Guests deserve and usually receive at this hotel. I note that your complaint is not about the hotel but about an individual and it would have been helpful if you had brought this to my attention while you were here. I certainly would have dealt... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#11 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay