We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanoa Paihia Hotel

5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015
KatieDev92 Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Add Photo

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    47
    26
    13
    16
See reviews for
23
49
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start my review by saying that the only reason we stayed at this hotel was because it was part of a tour package that we booked through a travel agency offering an amazing deal on travel to New Zealand. But, if I were to actually have picked this hotel on my own, I think I would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Your comments raise a number of positive aspects regarding the hotel which I'd like to highlight in brief: 1. "impeccably clean" 2. "spotless bathrooms" 3. "no bugs" 4. "nice staff" "super friendly" "go above and beyond" 5. "very affordable" Guest Laundry "very clean" Regarding the negative aspects: Carpet and Beds need replacing - we're aware that some rooms... More 

Auckland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Book this hotel for 2 days, the guy at the reception is very friendly and helpful (Kanish), but Duty Manager "Shirley Mosbey" was really rude and keep a close watch on all the guest, (I felt that way), She completely ruined our holidays...I never visit this hotel please pay bit extra and go somewhere else where you can atleast use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I apologise if you feel you weren't treated with the courtesy that all Guests deserve and usually receive at this hotel. I note that your complaint is not about the hotel but about an individual and it would have been helpful if you had brought this to my attention while you were here. I certainly would have dealt... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paihia hotels

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

I stayed here with my Topdeck Travel tour group and I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were super comfortable with a very clean room and bathroom with all the amenities that were needed for a two night stay. The pool and hot tub area was small but lovely and relaxing in the sunshine, although the pool was incredibly cold! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie Thanks for your comments regarding the Hotel and the Paihia area generally. Naturally we love the Bay of Islands and what it has to offer travellers and, we are especially delighted to host Top Deck Tours and have been doing so for a number of years now. I hope future travellers will note your comments. Kind Regards, Ted... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

My wife and I went to Paihia for a two day, two night, break from the family and work. We got a great deal when the owner matched a Grabone deal that was operating at the same time. We spent most of each day doing the tourist thing and our evenings at restaurants so not having a kitchen was fine.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We are always happy to hear from Guests who have enjoyed their stay with us. We get thousands of travellers here each year who enjoy the beauty of "The Bay" and we hope you can find the time to stay again in the future.........contact me directly. Your "Tip" is spot on - leave the car in the hotel... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015 via mobile

Our 2nd stay here. Both times have met our expectations. Rooms are a good size, beds are comfortable and both times we have been it has been very quiet to stay. Walking distance from the main strip of Paihia, handy if u want a few drinks

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It's great to hear that you returned from Oz to stay a second time with us. Returning Guests are the best recommendation any property can receive and we hope we will see you again in the future. Do let me know before you book. We remain "good value" accommodation, our weather is warm (in summer) and our beer... More 

Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel, it is a short walk into town where everything is, the rooms are well presented and comfy including a nice shower .... It wasn't too expensive neither so definitely get value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James Thanks for posting a review. You have identified exactly what we set out to achieve and that is value for money with great service, nice facilities and clean, comfy accommodation. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards Ted Hatch General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

We stayed here in the weekend, the rooms are okay but had a terrible experience with the staff at the dining area and front desk. We were told that f we wanted to add the hot breakfast, that will be additional $5 per child and $10 for adults, but once my child was getting her food, the person in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I apologise sincerely for any unpleasantness experienced by you and your family at this hotel. I am surprised at the responses to you by our staff, it was totally out of order and I will take appropriate action. I expect a high standard of conduct from the staff here and both should have known better. With breakfast being... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
14 hotel reviews
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

This is a great place to stay with a few caveats. The big thing is that there is not much privacy because the area can get hot and the windows in the rooms need to be kept open. Also, the breakfast that comes with the booking is not very good. However, the staff is A+. the night skies are extraordinary,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and your kind evaluation of our staff. We appreciate all constructive and objective comments as these allow to review our services and operation to better meet Guest requirements. I'm sorry that the breakfast didn't meet your expectation. The package you brought did only offer a Continental Breakfast. If there was anything in... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms are clean, good sized and decent toilets. There is ample storage space in room. It is near the center of town with access to passenger ferry to Russel island and other island ferries. A nice supermarket is close by. You can use free wifi for certain GB and after that u pay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I'm so pleased that you have identified us as "good value for money" since we always try to offer rates which are competitive and, which booking seekers can easily see are reasonable for the location, facilities and services offered. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind Regards, Ted Hatch General Manager More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stayed here as a part of a tour for 2 nights and it did not go well! The wifi is not free had to pay for any wifi after using it free for an hour and it did not seem to work outside or in hotel rooms. The telephone system was broken so you could not call outside!! Great in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I'm confused; "wifi is not free" but you used it "free for an hour" You "used it" for an hour but, "it did not work" I'm sorry you recieved insect bites. The room was used by a couple for 2 nights prior to your stay and they did not have the same experience. Therefore, it's not inconceivable that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay