We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanoa Paihia Hotel

5 Joyces Rd, Paihia 0252, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
d_daisy United Arab Emirates
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    50
    28
    13
    16
See reviews for
24
51
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for two night this month (July 2015). The rooms are of a good size, clean and tidy-maybe slightly dated. Kettle and fridge etc are in the rooms and is very helpful to have those on hand. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are nice and quiet. The only downside to the room was the bathroom- while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Your comments are welcomed and heeded. Thank you for the positive comments relating to the rooms, these are appreciated by us and useful to potential visitors. With respect to your bed not being made, if this was an oversight by our people then I apologise but, I do believe that the bed was possibly left due to personal... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely motel (hotel) in Paihia, even though its on the older side, it is very well maintained. The beds are super comfortable; makes you not want to get out of bed. Bathroom needs ventilation fans as you either need to have the window open and freeze, or window closed and have massive steam issues. Also they drastically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Neil Thanks for your positive feedback. It's always appreciated and helpful to get objective and specific comments. We've taken on board your observations regarding ventilation and power points and we'll endevour to have some improvements made before your next visit. Regarding WiFi, we currently offer 600mB per day free of charge and I'm sorry if you didn't receive this.... More 

Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated about 5 min walk from the Paihia shops, close to the beach, wharf, restaurants, ferry and adventure tourism hub. Paihia is located in the North of the North Island generally known as the 'Winterless North' not this year :) One of the coldest winters for ages. Paihia still offers plenty to see and do even if it is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

NZ certainly has experienced the "Big Chill" this July and unfortunately the "Winterless North" did not escape this. Of course our Queenstown Hotel and Guests would have enjoyed the snow covered ski fields. For us in the north a bit of ice on the windscreens in the morning comes as a bit of a novelty. During winter months when Guest... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was staying in a 1 single and 1 double bedroom, has good enough space. Have all the basic needs. Staff are wonderful. A hot tub and pool is available but no time to enjoy! One hour 600MB free WiFi. Basic shower has no space to put soap or shampoo, has to put on the showering floor. A small heater... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us and commenting on Tripadvisor. All Guest feedback is important to us as it lets us see what our Guests want and gives us the opportunity to continuously improve services. The matters raised by you are being attended to. Thank you for the nice comment about our Staff. Kind Regards, Ted Hatch More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every single staff member we dealt with was absolutely wonderful! All happy, helpful and caring. Big smiles and willing to go the extra mile! The rooms were clean but everything was very old and dated and the pillows needed upgrading as they were flat and lumpy. Bathrooms nice though. Spa pool and pool area looked great, though we didn't use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgia Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our Team here at Tanoa Paihia. We have a mission within the Tanoa Hotel Group that leads with "The Tanoa Way" and key to fulfilling that mission is our People doing things excellently for our Customers and having fun. It pleases me very much when Guests like yourself acknowledge... More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Let me start my review by saying that the only reason we stayed at this hotel was because it was part of a tour package that we booked through a travel agency offering an amazing deal on travel to New Zealand. But, if I were to actually have picked this hotel on my own, I think I would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Your comments raise a number of positive aspects regarding the hotel which I'd like to highlight in brief: 1. "impeccably clean" 2. "spotless bathrooms" 3. "no bugs" 4. "nice staff" "super friendly" "go above and beyond" 5. "very affordable" Guest Laundry "very clean" Regarding the negative aspects: Carpet and Beds need replacing - we're aware that some rooms... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paihia hotels

Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Book this hotel for 2 days, the guy at the reception is very friendly and helpful (Kanish), but Duty Manager "Shirley Mosbey" was really rude and keep a close watch on all the guest, (I felt that way), She completely ruined our holidays...I never visit this hotel please pay bit extra and go somewhere else where you can atleast use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
socmed, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I apologise if you feel you weren't treated with the courtesy that all Guests deserve and usually receive at this hotel. I note that your complaint is not about the hotel but about an individual and it would have been helpful if you had brought this to my attention while you were here. I certainly would have dealt... More 

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

I stayed here with my Topdeck Travel tour group and I was pleasantly surprised. The beds were super comfortable with a very clean room and bathroom with all the amenities that were needed for a two night stay. The pool and hot tub area was small but lovely and relaxing in the sunshine, although the pool was incredibly cold! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie Thanks for your comments regarding the Hotel and the Paihia area generally. Naturally we love the Bay of Islands and what it has to offer travellers and, we are especially delighted to host Top Deck Tours and have been doing so for a number of years now. I hope future travellers will note your comments. Kind Regards, Ted... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

My wife and I went to Paihia for a two day, two night, break from the family and work. We got a great deal when the owner matched a Grabone deal that was operating at the same time. We spent most of each day doing the tourist thing and our evenings at restaurants so not having a kitchen was fine.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We are always happy to hear from Guests who have enjoyed their stay with us. We get thousands of travellers here each year who enjoy the beauty of "The Bay" and we hope you can find the time to stay again in the future.........contact me directly. Your "Tip" is spot on - leave the car in the hotel... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015 via mobile

Our 2nd stay here. Both times have met our expectations. Rooms are a good size, beds are comfortable and both times we have been it has been very quiet to stay. Walking distance from the main strip of Paihia, handy if u want a few drinks

Was this review helpful? Yes
TanoaPaihia, General Manager at Tanoa Paihia Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It's great to hear that you returned from Oz to stay a second time with us. Returning Guests are the best recommendation any property can receive and we hope we will see you again in the future. Do let me know before you book. We remain "good value" accommodation, our weather is warm (in summer) and our beer... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#11 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay