We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Rate this Hotel

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    108
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
54
127
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
74 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a last moment hotel change by our tour company. The hotel is a "motel" design, 2 beds in a big room , coffee things, hairdryer, iron & board and a very nice looking wet room type walk in shower. One oddity was the position of the loo !! Good that we are not very tall or overweight otherwise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Regards More 

Lautoka, Fiji
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic location with wonderful views. Great value breakfast buffet and the carvery at night is a must! Perfect place to stay if you are visiting the Bay of Islands. Easy walk to the ferry and town. Pool area is clean and the gardens are beautiful. A lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Bay of Islands. Regards More 

Port Angeles, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took advantage of their nightly buffet--what a steal! We had lots of food choices and it was all wonderful. It was our cheapest and most elaborate meal in 2 weeks in N. Z. The rooms were very nice with a separate bath and show from the toilet area. Convenient to walk to cafes, grocery, and liquor stores on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Regards More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed three nights at the Kingsgate Hotel. It was fabulous. Our room was across the street from the bay, so needless to say the views were spectacular. The hotel was very clean and neat. The beds were comfortable and the bedroom was spacious. The bedroom was separate from the living room and there was a kitchenette.The staff friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards More 

worthing
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This autolodge is in a perfect position facing the bay of islands and within easy walking distance of the small town which is full of cafes and has a lively atmosphere. The rooms were clean and functional although lacked any storage space, the 2 small draws were full of the tea making equipment and the cupboard held the ironing board... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Regards More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In great position. Rooms were so well set out. Seperate toilet, bath/shower room and then a seperate vanity. As a single traveller I was so very comfortable, but friends in adjoining rooms , as couples, Also found these rooms extremely well fitted out. I really likedbeing able to open the windows. The food was the absolute best. Chef so charming.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I will pass your comments onto our chef. Regards More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in February, we ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner , both meals were of a good standard. The room was fine it had all you require for a trip away from home without being outstanding, however I would recommend and stay again myself. One thing I would like to mention this hotel offers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments. Since your stay we have increased our free wifi to 2 hours per day per person(maximum 4 hours per room). Regards More 

Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

This property is situated in a great location in Paihia. We had a great room that overlooked the water. It was more of an apartment. It had everything we need and we couldn't have asked for more. It was even really quiet at night time so we were really pleased as we only just turned up on the day hoping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Regards More 

newport pagnell
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Great Location - Food was the best of the tour - ideal for the boat trips and swimming. - Lovely pool and spa. Comfortable rooms. Staff very helpful. A nice place to stay and would go again if in the area. Good laundry - Wifi worked well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Nice room, very clean and very central. Free Spa pool which was nice - BUT only 30 minutes free wifi per day - which is a bit poor as most places provide this for free. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Due to feedback we have adjusted our Wifi charges to 2 hours free and $3 for 6 hours and $5 for 12 hours. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question