We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

3.5 of 5 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    98
    28
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
112
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed here every year for the last five years when the ocean swim race takes place. Central to shops, restaurants and with stunning views, this is a lovely place to stay. The receptionist was really helpful on arrival also. Good sized rooms with spacious bathrooms also. The breakfast is great value for money. 15.00 for continental all you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you had a good weekend. Regards More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we have stayed here on numerous occasions and it has also been good value for money, but in this instance was not great, the room we were given were covered in ants. was also quite disheartened that I had to pay $20 if I wanted to use wi fi for a longer period. they do charge $6 per hour. most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your previous visits and I apologise that this visit was not so great. We do occasionally do have problems with ants but this is normally when someone leaves food in their room. In such cases we get the pest exterminator in to fix the problem asap. Our... More

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The views from the bar at Kingsgate are super. Really good bar staff who had a fantastic sense of humour. The evening buffet meals were outstanding with oysters , green lip mussels and prawns at every meal for a starter. Plenty to choose from. Rooms could be a bit noisy as they backed on to the car park but that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards More

Swanage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel as part of a SAGA/AOT New Zealand tour. Staff helpful .Not much hanging space in room ,no safe and only 30 mins Wi-Fi per device not a problem with modern phones.Buffet breakfast extensive ,comfy beds and quiet . However what did they do to the lamb at dinner ? It gave up it`s life to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for the lamb you had for dinner. We normally get very good comments about our food but in this case our kitchen obviously got it wrong. Our chef has been made aware of your complaint and has taken appropriate action to ensure it doesn't happen again. Regards More

Barry
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Had a great weekend staying here. The hotel has recently had some TLC and the design and style of the rooms is very good to the eye and very comfortable. The location is good for central Paihia and the onsite facilities are just what one nedds when enjoying a few days with your grandson. Give it a whirl, especially in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

I am pleased you had such a good weekend away. Regards More

Warkworth, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The room was nice and clean. I loved a heat pump in our room, just made a huge difference. We had clean towels each day and no issues with clearness of the room. We had people staying below us and they were a problem, other that we had a great stay. They were noisy and just did not care about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that other guests were noisy during your stay. We try our best to control noise within the hotel but unfortunately some guests are not very considerate of others. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Regards More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Stunning place and so much potential but it was filthy and the restaurant staff were rude. Only got two cups and two towels when booked in for four, beds were made but dirty towels left behind in the room, dirty cups and wine glasses. Room was mouldy (which they replied there were old people staying in it before us). Restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as we would all have wanted it to be. I apologise for the mouldy smell in your original room which was caused by a wet compendium. I think you may have misinterpreted the comments by my staff member about the previous occupants of the... More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We went for the weekend and first time visit in Paihia and stayed at Kingsgate Hotel. The hotel staff,and restaurant staff offered an excellent service. We had a wonderful time away from Auckland. And we are looking forward to our next weekend away, hopefully back there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Regards More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We spent a few days in the Kingsgate Hotel, Paihia. Right by the sea, you look out over the waves and see the Islands at the same time. Such a pretty and awe-inspiring sight. We can recommend it to everyone. Really good sized rooms with a Balcony and Ranchslider. Quiet and spacious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Regards More

Auckland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stay 3 days in this really nice hotel.. We had a 1 bedroom suite and a standard room.. Very friendly staff.. Rooms were very clean, bathrooms clean.. Nice activities for kids.. Nice food at the restaurant.. Good location with carpark.. Definitely will come back again.. Worth the price :) Thank you for the great time ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Regards More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay