We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

3.5 of 5 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    105
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
53
123
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is situated in a great location in Paihia. We had a great room that overlooked the water. It was more of an apartment. It had everything we need and we couldn't have asked for more. It was even really quiet at night time so we were really pleased as we only just turned up on the day hoping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Regards More 

newport pagnell
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Location - Food was the best of the tour - ideal for the boat trips and swimming. - Lovely pool and spa. Comfortable rooms. Staff very helpful. A nice place to stay and would go again if in the area. Good laundry - Wifi worked well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice room, very clean and very central. Free Spa pool which was nice - BUT only 30 minutes free wifi per day - which is a bit poor as most places provide this for free. Would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Due to feedback we have adjusted our Wifi charges to 2 hours free and $3 for 6 hours and $5 for 12 hours. Regards More 

North Shore City, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really small beds, why a couple would want a room with two doubles is beyond me.. One King bed would be much better and easy to do these days with the spilt King singles, really let the place down, stay at the copthorne it's much more like a resort, just stay in the new part.. better views better beds and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We provide two beds in our rooms for flexibility as we get a variety of different combinations of people staying in our rooms. Due to the layout of our hotel our rooms do not get a view however our suites have great views over the sea and have a king size bed, a lounge and... More 

Melbourne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Positives of our stay - excellent location indeed, with a very short walk to the wharf area and shops. Our room was clean and well appointed. The staff at reception were courteous and professional. Negatives of our stay - our room wasn't cleaned completely on our second day, with one towel left unreplaced and an unclean plate left untouched. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that your room wasn't cleaned correctly and this has been mentioned to our housestaff. Following comments we have increased our free Wifi to 2 hours with $3 for 6 hours and $5 for 12 hours. Due to capacity issues we just need to keep some control over Wifi usage. Regards More 

London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there on honeymoon (free room upgrade which was appreciated), nice staff and large clean suite with living room, and kitchen as well. Great view of the bay and fireworks on New Year's Eve (from our balcony!) and short walk to main strip with nice bars and restaurants. Parking at peak time seems a bit difficult but if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards More 

Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a rather unremarkable stay at Kingsgate. Positive to mention is the location (if you want to be in the centre of Paihia) and the parking. It was fine for a single night, nothing really special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Regards More 

Tonawanda, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Stayed for a couple of days while going up to Cape Reinga for a day trip. Very comfortable, very friendly staff and a great location on the waterfront. We had a little car key issue (locked in the car) and the staff let us stay in the room past our departure time at no cost until we had the key... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback and I will pass your comments onto our staff. Regards More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Stayed here for three nights for our New Years holidays. When we first arrived, the rooms were still not ready despite we check in at the advised time 2pm. So we went to the Waitangi ground for a visit before we headed back. When we got there, they had problems with the room key so the rooms couldn't be unlock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that your room was not available when you arrived. This is a very busy time of the year for us and it is also a time when unfortunately guests tend to check out late. Although our staff do their best it is not always possible to have rooms available on time and I... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

another year gone by another stunning ten days staying at the Kingsgate in Paihia, place is spotless, service is soo soo friendly and helpful, housekeeping onto it, grounds immaculate....mgmt. here know how to run a hotel!...thank you all for making our time there so perfect again this year...keep up to good work...your reviews speak for themselves! Many thanks Gail, Lyle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay again. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Paihia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paihia

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay