We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Non-residents are welcome here. Their all-you-can-eat evening buffet dinner is exceptional value. Oysters, green lip mussels, crab and prawn in abundance. Great salads, always a roast of the day with vegetables, cheese board and a selection of desserts. Comfortable dining room directly overlooking the bay. Good wine list.

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location to the wharf and shops. The room was lovely, clean and modern. Beds were comfortable. Reception staff were helpful and friendly and we could not fault the service. Great outdoor pool, and spa, the children spent a large amount of time swimming. The restaurant had a smorgasbord in the evening with a wide variety of food. Had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were there as part of a coach trip. Staff very friendly, especially Billie in the restaurant, and no complaints about the room. Unfortunately the carvery/ buffet style got a bit much after three nights and on the third night there wasn't as much choice if you didn't want the carvery. However, the hotel was very well located for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LCM18
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was good, modern and relaxing to be there. Well positioned for all activities. Good TV selection and good range for breakfast overlooking the water. Interesting "scrambled egg" dish which was essentially a set savoury egg custard - very good while not what a Brit would consider scrambled egg. food seemed a little over-priced. So why so mean with... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickcrouch12
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, our wifi is set by Millennium Hotels New Zealand More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just past main shops this hotel is great. Very big! Lots of rooms and busy. Room was adequate. Reception staff were great. Best part is the outdoor pool. Great to relax with nice deep end. Didn't try restaurant onsite. Would stay again for sure. A tad pricey but worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Janice L
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back one day soon More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room is very modern and tidy, service is friendly and the breakfast bar was good. The hotel overlooks the ocean with stunning views.That pool looks devine! Unfortunately we arrived very late and only stayed one night. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we look forward to seeing you again - hopefully for a longer stay. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only stayed here one night. The room we were given was clean and tidy but nothing special. Reception staff were accommodating and helpful. The pool was fantastic. Maybe in need of a bit of an update and the buffet breakfast was pretty bland. However would stay again because of the location.

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a Junior suite but there was nothing "Junior" about this room!No 413 Superb location to the far end of Paihia ( quiet end ) with a view of the Pier area and local islands. The room was Superb! Kitchenette with Microwave,Hob,Toaster,Kettle,fridge etc. Bedroom at the rear of the room so quiet as long as you have the Bedroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank BarryJOrton
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - our junior suites are very popular and I am glad you got to experience one. Sorry about the lawn yes our maintenance admits it has been missed and has since been done. More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family had a great 2 night stay, we loved being right in the heart of Paihia and able to walk to everything. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless and no complaints there at all, Only disappointment were the odd opening hours for the spa and gym, and subsequently we didn't get to use either. But the pool was awesome... More 

Helpful?
Thank PamCrawley
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The gym is not owned by the hotel hence the funny hours our guests only allowed access when the gym has a staff member working. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Most places I have visited in New Zealand have stated they have air con when in fact they don't. This place is the exception! Good helpfull friendly staff. Clean big rooms. Big shower. Good pool and right across from the wharf. 1 min walk your in the centre which isn't big but very nice. Would stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Chrisd1719
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I am happy to hear you enjoyed our air con's its a good selling point for the hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay