We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Paihia hotels

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
86%
Ranked #21 of 44 hotels in Paihia
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Lea C
  • Overview
  • Reviews (203)
  • Photos (69)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (51)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    95
    27
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
107
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

On arrival we upgraded to a front room overlooking the sea and it was well worth it. Clean room, friendly staff, excellent location, handy to town, restaurants, bars and the ferry. I would book there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place, had breakfast here, very quick, tasted great, beautiful building, very friendly staff, had a great chat. The cakes looked fantastic, I was very tempted!! We spent such a nice time in paihia

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

I am pleased you had such a good time in Paihia and thank you for your feedback. Regards More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed for two nights we were booked into a studio but upgraded when we got there to a suite. We had a amazing view as the suites overlook the waterfront, our suite was fully self contained and had everything we needed. Breakfast was included also which we enjoyed. Enjoyed having a spa didn't try the pool but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

I am pleased you had such a great stay. Personally I think it is well worth upgrading to our suites which as you say have great views. Regards More

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I booked in for 2 nights at Kingsgate in Paihia just to get away from Auckland for a few days. We had a wonderful experience. The staff are all very friendly, the views are great, the food in the restaurant is wonderful (we only had breakfast) and our rooms were amazing. The rooms are extremely well kept,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. As you say beds are a bit of a personal thing however we try to maintain good quality beds so thank you for your feedback on this. Regards More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent. We were attending our niece and nephew's daughter's 2nd Birthday in Paihia and a Campaign Fundraiser for another friend in Kawakawa so the 2 nights at the Kingsgate was an ideal location for my husband and I. We stayed 2 nights in a ground floor apartment and our daughter and her friend had their room next to us. Lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again. Regards More

Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a luxury suite with fantastic views over the bay, large spa bath which was a great relax at the end of the day. Very clean and well equipped kitchen and well set out bathroom with sep toilet and large shower. Great couple of days thank you Kingsgate

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards More

Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We booked a Grabone deal that was very cheap for what we got so we had a ground floor room with no view but it was excellent. It was a great size, very clean, huge shower and everything we needed. Had a heat pump, very comfy bed and plenty of room to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. Regards More

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very nice, comfy beds, excellent laundry facilities available. Great position, lovely resort. Nice swimming pool and outside sunbathing / lounge area. Food great both breakfasts and dinner. The bathroom could be better, it is wet room style but there are no grab handles or rubber safety floor mat, one of our party had an accident as a result, the sink... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. Due to space constraints hotel bathrooms are always a compromise. When we designed these rooms we decided we wanted the toilet to be separate from the rest of the bathroom. This meant we could only separate the sink from the room by a wall and not a door. Personally I find it so much... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I escorted a group of elderly guests from overseas. The rooms were perfect, they gave us ground floor rooms for easy access. Good, clean bathrooms and good beds too. The ice dispensers in the corridor were a boon too !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thanks for your response and I am pleased you found our facilities so good for your group. Regards More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling with a group. Unfortunately on arrival an error had occurred regarding room allocations. Although the mistake wasnt on the part of the 2 guests (me included) no acknowledgement was made of this fact and we were made to feel nuisances because the hotel had to find sole occupancy rooms for us. No apology... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alex M, Owner at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I apologise for the problems you encountered at check in. We have not been able to pinpoint the group you were on to see if this was due to our mistake or a mistake by your group organiser. However I apologise that you felt this situation was not handled correctly. We normally get good... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Paihia with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia #19 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
76

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer