We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deco City Motor Lodge

#18 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
308 Kennedy Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Deco City Motor Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great sized room, close to a small shopping centre but a drive from the main CBD of Napier, the restaurant precinct and the main shops. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Nothing was a problem. The WIFI was OK and the pool was very refreshing. Lots of suggestions for activities and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank daddypig1967
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Pleased you enjoyed all that Deco City had to offer and that we showcased the area in a positive manner More 

Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at Deco City for probably the 5 time and it never disappoints. The corner studio units are REALLY spacious and super comfortable. Good large bathroom with a spa bath. The owners are friendly and helpful and the room servicing is excellent. Wouldn't stay any where else in Hawkes Bay.

Helpful?
Thank Judy H
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

so pleased you appreciate all that we do to keep up the high standard we strive for. Looking forward to welcoming you back. More 

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in three units as a one night stop over. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and the check in staff were very helpful and accommodating . Unfortunately we had a terrible time with the porta cots provided. One with a nine month old in collapsed completely and another for a four month old was so unstable we... More 

Helpful?
Thank K C
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Was given the conference room where the single bed's mattress was very old and wiry. There was money, seeds and rotten fruit on the floor and under the bed, so it obviously hadn't been cleaned in a while. The food attracted flies. Very disappointed

Helpful?
Thank 671Grant
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

thanks for the review though I do not consider it very honest. You did inspect the unit with me and certainly you did have a good look around and of course we do encourage that. During the inspection there was no sign of anything on the floor and certainly no flies, though you were there for 2 nights and perhaps... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Very good motel (but 2 miles from sea!). But 3 issues: 1. WiFi is "limited" free. NEED TO HAVE a new category in searches e.g. Unlimited Wifi, 1G, 500M, 250M . (Becomming more common with motels - I for one, would take strong preference for unlimited connection. 2. WiFi in room was awful - cutting out every minute or so.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank neilbert
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry for the delay in responding, and you may care to note we did take action but obviously not as quick as you wanted. Since you stayed (and prior) we had been working on an internet problem and to be honest it is still not resolved but we have replaced TWICE the TP link that comes into the... More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

This place was a big let down. The actual rooms themselves were clean, tidy, spacious and well sufficient for a couple of nights. However. The hosts where some of the most nasty people I've ever met. I purely would never return or recommend on the basis that these two hosts, the women in particular! Rude, obnoxious, in flexible and sour.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JayLewer
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Large, immaculately clean rooms, well maintained, comfortable beds. Modern TVs with good range of free-to-air and cable channels. Fastest Internet speeds of our stay so far. Would definitely return and recommend. Perhaps a couple of fans would be good as Aircon only in main area (but it does have aircon which not many motels do).

Helpful?
Thank MLangensiepen
Tullamarine, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Our recent overnight stay in Napier was at the Deco City Motor Lodge. We had a two bedroom unit which was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The motel is located on a main road running directly to the Napier CBD, with all of its tourist attractions, a short drive away. Local shops are within walking distance. There is a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin A
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We were there for the annual Iron Maori event and found it met our needs very well. It was beautifully clean, the spa bath was perfect to put all the children in at once and was a great relief for the Ironman competitor himself after completing his event. As we had cars it was very easy to get to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ranatui
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive response, we certainly try hard to accomadate all our guests and looking forward to having you and your family back. More 

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

Disappointed that the free wifi would only allow two devices. The download limit is perfectly reasonable, but limiting devices for the three adults meant we couldn't all log in. It is also not close to the city centre unless you have wheels. Booking from overseas we believed it was closer. The other, probably short term issue was the resurfacing of... More 

Helpful?
Thank PopandAlf
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

You are correct each voucher only allows 2 devices to connect, so at a loss to why you did not ask for another voucher they are free! You talk about 3 adults in your unit but we never had any more than 2 people in any unit for Monday night. (Sealing only done on Monday and Wednesday) We are sealing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
2.0 mi away
VR Napier Hotel
VR Napier Hotel
#26 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.9 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#4 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay