We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deco City Motor Lodge

4.5 of 5 308 Kennedy Road, Napier, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Deco City Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Deco City Motor Lodge
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    36
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
34
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First impression not great but on closer expection the room was clean and cared for. Very old appearance,with a noisy bar fridge and a flashing corner light (when turned off!!!). But overall the room was good value and the bathroom clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Deco Motor Lodge is a very friendly place ! Robyn is doing a great job in keeping her guests in good mood giving all the information you need and making you feel very welcome! We stayed in a large unit with all the facilities needed, comfy beds, internet worked alright. Center and supermarkets are just a coupke of minutes driving.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrogate
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Lovely large, spotlessly clean well equipped rooms and comfy beds. Large bathrooms and good showers. Very friendly and helpful staff. The only reservations I have are 1. The location of the property is not quite as close to the downtown area of Napier as they like to claim - it's a good hours walk to the town centre / promenade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, unsure which way you walked to Napier but it way obviously not the correct way. It is about 45 minutes walk in to the city and that is what we tell our guests. It is only a 5-6 minute car ride and that depends on the traffic lights. Wi-fi you are correct and we do pay... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

had a great night sleep awesome beds and great hosts. Would highly recommended this place and would stay again.Great bathroom nice and roomy..I also had a cooked breakfast which was the best I have ever had the bacon was the best I have ever tasted..

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed for 1 night in December 2014 and I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed based on other Tripadvisor reviews. We arrived a bit early at 1.00 pm with check in at 2.00pm but thought we'd just try our luck. Being a busy time of year, the room was not ready but the lovely lady in the office... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, but the units have been updated and in the last 18 months new King Koil beds were installed, air condioning installed, most furniture either replaced or recovered, new spreads and the list goes on. You did choose to go into a 1 bedroom and pay more where as a studio would of been more than acceptable.... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Very nice accommodation. We had a two bedroom unit - perfect for a family. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The bathroom was amazing and included abig spa bath. Overall accommodation very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Putaruru
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

This motor lodge is not my favorite. At first they disputed the room I had booked trough my booking agent. The signage in the rooms are confusing, and not clear. It looks like coffee, thea and sugar is charged extra. Rooms are clean and tidy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments but I think you are confused, as there is another property with a similar name Can not comment about a supposed mix up regarding units, but I can say we have no signage in our units either on walls or cupboards etc regarding any matters. We do have a very comprehensive compendium and there is no... More 

Sooke
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

The hotel is well situated for travel to city centre (2 km) and is easy access to Hastings and surrounding areas. Our room was large and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. The kitchenette had everything we needed. The host, Clinton is simply the best. He goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect. He is Napier's best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

This motel was very welcoming and the staff helpful. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the motel was quiet night. Ideal for staying a few nights. However the location is not ideal as it is a bit out of the town centre. You definitely need a car!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Had a one night stay at Deco City and was a great experience. Very large spacious room, super comfy beds and huge spa bath. Good off street parking also and just a short car ride away from central Napier and a number of restaurants close by. Clinton and Robyn were particularly friendly and Clinton makes an amazing brekkie in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Deco City Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco City Motor Lodge

Address: 308 Kennedy Road, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Deco City Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deco City Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco City Motor Hotel Napier
Deco City Hotel
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Napier

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay