We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluewater Hotel

3.5 of 5 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bluewater Hotel
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    23
    16
    8
See reviews for
20
30
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

I stayed in the Bluewater as my regular stop was booked out. This turned out to be a good thing as the Bluewater is well appointed, well presented and very quiet. A comfortable bed was appreciated, with really good pillows (such a rarity). Location is also good being within five minutes walk of a number of good restaurants (I do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were knowledgable and friendly. Great location within walking distance to bars. Good roomy accommodation with all needed amenities. Comfortable bed. Would recommend as a good affordable stay. However restaurant attached is not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was quite a good value stay compared to other stays on recent trip. Quite large rooms with all basic facilities. Ground floor rooms have a mini golf game in front of deck so if you can would recommend staying up a level or two for privacy and less noise. Nothing fancy here but bed comfortable and slept well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay at Bluewater was excellent. Great room, just been renovated. Awesome View, Own Private Balcony. Restaurants and night life right at your fingertips. Highly recommend if you are looking for an affordable place to stay with all the mod cons available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sharon for taking the time and writing a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here at The Bluewater and hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Will never be staying here again, and would recommend it to no one. After a bad experience last year, thought we would give it another chance... Big mistake. If your planning for group accommodation whether it be for a wedding, birthday, hens party or just a night away, this is NOT the place to go - staff are not at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bluewater19, Front Office Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

If you look at previous reviews the main comments are about noise and disturbances, we have taken this into consideration and we monitor noise here at The Bluewater. We are happy for birthdays, group bookings and in your case Hens nights but we do ask for you to be respectful of other guests. Your group was spoken to on numerous... More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We arrived in the forecourt of this hotel and it seemed very odd. There were 3 white cars parked outside, evidently belonging to the hotel - a Rolls-Royce (current model), a hummer and a stretch limo. The immediate area seemed semi industrial and the hotel itself looked like a tenement building with rooms accessed by metal walkways. The reception was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

In the forecourt of the Bluewater Hotel, we have a Limo and Hummer, which are extra services we can provide for our guests. The 3rd white car would be the owners Rolls and if he is not busy he has been known to drop our guests off at the airport no charge. Confused re industrial area - restaurant either side... More 

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We booked last minute and got a good deal for rooms on the ground floor, but when we checked in we found we had a room on the second floor, we were quite pleased about this until we saw the room and found it was only just bigger than the bed, and that the balcony was half the size of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Room 22 is priced as a ground floor studio, even though it has the new Superior room beds, bedding and fixtures and better view, but yes it is smaller than the rest of the superior rooms on the 1st floor, hence cheaper price. The laundry is closed at 9.30pm and re opened at 9am Thank you for your comments we... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

For your money this place is extremely ideal. Reception were friendly on check in. Check out the lady seamed swamped but there was a supervisor type person guiding her and took care of the cars. Had the two bedroom apartment on the top floor and some friends were on bottom. Friends did complain that they could hear running around from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay We are in the process of replacing all the beds on the rooms. We have done the first floor already - new beds, bedding, appliances and some furniture Hope to see you again next time you are in sunny HB More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I was checked in by a friendly and helpful woman who made me feel very welcome. Comfy bed and a spacious room with a lovely view to the water. A few minor niggles: I opened the microwave and my fingers stuck to the handle, not nice. The soup plate (from the kitchen cupboard) had food crusted on it - looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies. I am very disappointed that your room was not cleaned to a high standard, this is not acceptable, no excuses. Thank you for bringing this to me attention, so I can rectify this and make sure this dose not happen again. With your valuable info. I also called in the plumber to turn the pressure... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

the week I was staying there it was a beautiful sunny week in napier and the room really complimented my room, tidy,sunny and modern. Carol and Mcayla were awesome they checked me in and recommend a restarunt. really enjoyed my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

You have made Carol and Michaela's day, thank you so much Very pleased you had a sunny week in the Napier. Hope to see you again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Napier

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay