We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Napier hotels

Bluewater Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bluewater Hotel to your Saves list
Bluewater Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
45%
Ranked #35 of 47 hotels in Napier
A recent review
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    17
    14
    6
See reviews for
18
23
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here for 2 nights, being 2 different families in 2 bedroom apartments. We had mixed feelings after the various Tripadvisor reviews that were not always complimentary, but we can report we had a great stay. The staff, rooms, and cleanliness were all fine. The location was great, plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance, and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lewistown, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in March, 2014 and had a great time. We were upgraded at no cost to a suite and it couldn't have been better- large, clean, and modern with a nice balcony facing the harbor (ALL rooms face the harbor). The front counter staff was friendly and the housecleaning staff went out of their way to greet us. Dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Friendly helpful staff. Lovely views and the opening sliding doors in the lounge area creates a lot of space. Duplex set up is great if you have kids who go to sleep earlier upstairs and adults can relax downstairs without worrying about waking the kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Have stayed many times over the years, but won't be back or recommending. I had at least 1 quarter bottle of beautiful Chanel syphoned while the cleaners went through. Mentioned to reception who said she would look into it. Later that arvo I was told no cleaner remembers seeing my perfume in the bathroom - despite replenishing the toiletries and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

We are currently awaiting a reply from Trip Advisor to remove this review as we do not understand how you can publicly accuse someone of stealing perfume out of a bottle. Our staff do not steal. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I recently stayed here in one of the "suites" paying $250 a night. When we arrived there were old nuts and reminants of food all over the hotel and it generally looked as though it hadn't been cleaned. The bath had hair in it and the beds had springs poking into your back. We opted for the fully equipped kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Unfortunately this is the kind of review you get from someone who was angry and bitter about not getting a discount. More

Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Bluewater is very close to almost everything. The view is out over the port & we had a very quiet room - we were there only 1 night, but we enjoyed the VERY comfy beds & the service was excellent! Great price, exceptionally clean rooms & close enough to walk to just about everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Port Hedland, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The location was great, close to the water as well as the restaurants that Ahuriri have to offer. We come from Australia and booked a week in a apartment at Bluewater Hotel however didn't have a washing machine nor did it have a stove top - only 2 x domestic washing machines and dryers for around 40 odd units! An... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We offer special deals on our website for longer stays. Unfortunately you had booked through a third party website so we were not able to offer you a special rate, not that you had paid close to $2000.00 for 7 nights in peak season. It would have been helpful if you had spoken to reception... More

Witham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Initial reaction on seeing the front door is not encouraging. Looks can be deceptive though & once you open the door you enter a great room with lovely sunken bath, nice verandah with a fantastic view over the old port. Only one observation, we could always hear the Manager ranting at his staff, which did not come over well when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is good to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do have an amazing view here. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Papamoa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Good position, which is why we chose this hotel to be near to restaurants at Ahuriri during New Years week. We had 2 couples and 1 adult, I explained this to them they advised they could do a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 for 2 couples and a single in lounge, but it was 3 singles and 1 queen and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would again like to apologise for your room only being set up for 4 people instead of 5. The receptionist on check out apologised again for your experience but could not do much more when she was told "don't worry, it will all be going on trip advisor". More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good room although getting a bit tired and starting to show its age. Reception Staff were pleasant but without being over friendly. Close by eating houses made Bluewater a good stay and Napier must be one of the nicest places we visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to receive feedback so we can keep improving. More

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.