We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluewater Hotel

3.5 of 5 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bluewater Hotel
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
20
28
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in the forecourt of this hotel and it seemed very odd. There were 3 white cars parked outside, evidently belonging to the hotel - a Rolls-Royce (current model), a hummer and a stretch limo. The immediate area seemed semi industrial and the hotel itself looked like a tenement building with rooms accessed by metal walkways. The reception was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked last minute and got a good deal for rooms on the ground floor, but when we checked in we found we had a room on the second floor, we were quite pleased about this until we saw the room and found it was only just bigger than the bed, and that the balcony was half the size of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Room 22 is priced as a ground floor studio, even though it has the new Superior room beds, bedding and fixtures and better view, but yes it is smaller than the rest of the superior rooms on the 1st floor, hence cheaper price. The laundry is closed at 9.30pm and re opened at 9am Thank you for your comments we... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

For your money this place is extremely ideal. Reception were friendly on check in. Check out the lady seamed swamped but there was a supervisor type person guiding her and took care of the cars. Had the two bedroom apartment on the top floor and some friends were on bottom. Friends did complain that they could hear running around from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay We are in the process of replacing all the beds on the rooms. We have done the first floor already - new beds, bedding, appliances and some furniture Hope to see you again next time you are in sunny HB More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I was checked in by a friendly and helpful woman who made me feel very welcome. Comfy bed and a spacious room with a lovely view to the water. A few minor niggles: I opened the microwave and my fingers stuck to the handle, not nice. The soup plate (from the kitchen cupboard) had food crusted on it - looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies. I am very disappointed that your room was not cleaned to a high standard, this is not acceptable, no excuses. Thank you for bringing this to me attention, so I can rectify this and make sure this dose not happen again. With your valuable info. I also called in the plumber to turn the pressure... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

the week I was staying there it was a beautiful sunny week in napier and the room really complimented my room, tidy,sunny and modern. Carol and Mcayla were awesome they checked me in and recommend a restarunt. really enjoyed my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

You have made Carol and Michaela's day, thank you so much Very pleased you had a sunny week in the Napier. Hope to see you again More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

When we arrived we had previously thought to go straight through Napier, so stopping for a night was a last minute decision. Luckily there were still rooms available, and the receptionists were wonderful; bubbly, cheerful, and just full of suggestions as to what we could do in Napier. We were put in a room on the top floor, and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, for taking your time to give us such a great review. We have just put new beds and bedding put in our 1st floor superior rooms, and we are also doing some painting and replacing some of the other furniture So maybe you are next in Napier, you could try one of those, would love to see you... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We arrived at 1pm and the reception lady was awesome. Then in the early evening new staff were in reception and they took 40mins to deliver ice bucket which they did not knock they left it on the ground in front of the door. I had booked online and the cost was 210 per night which they evening manager tried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

On arrival you did have extra guests, of which we did not charge you any extra. Our receptionists before finishing at 10pm, did ask you to tone the noise down. Our night time on site manager after 10pm is only security and would only have had dealings with you if a guest had complained of noise comming from your room... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

Staff at bluewater were disorganised, not professional. They made promises they couldnt keep like leaving the key for us as we were checking in late! They lied and said neighbours had complained when in fact they didnt! As a frequent hotel stayer I found blue waters service the PITS! If you are brown dont stay there they will think you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BluewaterH, General Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Unfortunately we have a couple of rooms in our hotel with self locking doors. When the receptionist realised this she tried to call the guests to rectify this mistake. When no one answered she organised for someone to be available to the guest on arrival. Since then we have put a procedure in place so this dose happen again. I... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We needed a two bedroom apartment as we were two couples and this property ticked all the boxes. It was lovely - two bedrooms on the first floor with one room having a lovely view of the marina and adjoining Ahuriri restaurant area. We walked from town one night - it only took us 45 minutes and as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review We have taken on board regarding the noisy Salt restaurant, and the doors and windows close to the Hotel are now closed at 10pm More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Room was clean and well appointed. A minor problem with the soap dispenser having fallen off the wall and leaving soap all over the floor. The receptionist quickly cleaned this up and gave us some little packets of soap. The only drawback would be the location of the room near the restaurant entry. People gathered outside on the landing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative comments of the restaurant. Unfortunitly we cannot distance ourselves from the restaurant, as it is a requirement to have a restaurant on site for a Hotel. The owner of the Hotel has had a meeting with the manager and his staff at the Salt. Has been informed that his and his staffs behaviour was most... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Napier

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay