We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Napier hotels

Mclean Park Garden Motel

177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mclean Park Garden Motel to your Saves list
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
68%
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Napier
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Cheys A
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a lovely stay at the garden motel, joy & Kevin are wonderful managers they have lovely manners & make things so easy and simple, the rooms were nice and clean I'll certainly be coming back to stay and il be recommending this motel to my family and friends :) keep up the wonderful work joy & Kevin, hopefully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to stay here due to the motel's close proximity to McLean Park for the All Blacks game. On arrival we received a fairly cool reception with mainly yes/ no responses from the manager. For example when we asked if we could get a newspaper next day the answer was "no" and that was all. We were required to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

As Kevin was walking with you, to show you the unit you were staying in, he was asked about the paper and replied, "no sorry we don't supply papers" He thinks you might not of heard his full answer. Most guests stay the one night for the rugby, however we do have 2 night deal with such a shortage of... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed for two nights whilst on a work trip and was really impressed by the cleanliness and friendly staff. The room was simple and had everything I needed to sleep, have breakfast and do some work. I slept well in the quiet at night!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Its good to hear guests have enjoyed their stay. And we hope to see you again in the near future. More

Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were very impressed by the value for money, and upkeep of the property. Rooms were tidy, neat, clean, well appointed and sufficient for a nice stay - we enjoyed our stay. The complex was quiet at night and we found it convenient to get to everything we needed to. Comes highly recommended. We stayed here once before and chose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We really appreciate your review and hope to see you again. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The motel unit we stayed in was tidy but very basic and very dated.The place was very shabby,paint peeling etc but a better clean would help. Beds very comfy but top covers badly stained and grubby. When we left and handed in the keys at the front office at 9.15am,the manager came down in his dressing gown. Not a pleasant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kathyandwyne1, Owner at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful discussion. The manager on duty was lying on bed due to sickness and his wife went to chemist to buy medicine for him , so he was in his dressing gown,hope you could understand. Motel was one of the first motels in the city and being undergoing refurbishment and the unit where the guest stayed... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A no frills motel but ideal for those travelling on a tight budget. We had a 1 bedroom unit for our family of 4, with the children sleeping on the two beds in the lounge. The beds were comfortable and the unit was of acceptable cleanliness. Kitchen and bathroom were dated but functional. The complex was quiet at night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do have 5 sky channels. We do have easy instructions if you get lost. Maybe you just didn't find them More

Indian Queens. Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Yes that does say 3 weeks, I was in Napier visiting my son, have stayed in a few places in the town, this is the best so far, new managers who were so kind & welcoming to me, they couldn't have done more. My room was clean, comfy & kept that way throughout my stay. My son & his girlfriend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

It was lovely having you stay for all that time. We enjoyed your company and very pleased you had a nice time. More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I am writing on behalf of my elderly parents who stayed at this motel in Feb 2014. This was supposed to be a very special trip for them but their experience at this motel has tarnished their memory of this destination. The motel room was described as filthy, so much so that when they walked on the floor their feet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not happy with our service. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We will be make some of the changes you recommend. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a amazing 10 day stay for Art Deco in Napier only thanks to the managers Joy and Kevin and there lovely cleaning staff. They made our holiday going out of there way for us in anyway possible welcoming, friendly,professional and helpful as were the cleaning staff as well absolutely lovely and everyone made us feel at home our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are so pleased we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. And we have passed on your remakes to our cleaning staff. More

sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed one night prior to The mission concert . $130 , . Room 6 . Clean with new carpets & towels. Small shower & toilet require updating good value @ normal rate $115 , a couple of trains go by in the night. comfortable firm bed & real cotton sheets,

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Its good to hear guests have enjoyed their stay and hope to see you next time you are in Napier. More

Do you own or manage Mclean Park Garden Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mclean Park Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mclean Park Garden Motel

Address: 177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mclean Park Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclean Park Hotel

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Mclean Park Garden Motel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Kilim
Kilim
Turkish
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Art Deco Trust
Art Deco Trust
Historic Walking Areas