We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Napier hotels

Mclean Park Garden Motel

177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mclean Park Garden Motel to your Saves list
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #31 of 47 hotels in Napier
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014
walts1 Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A no frills motel but ideal for those travelling on a tight budget. We had a 1 bedroom unit for our family of 4, with the children sleeping on the two beds in the lounge. The beds were comfortable and the unit was of acceptable cleanliness. Kitchen and bathroom were dated but functional. The complex was quiet at night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do have 5 sky channels. We do have easy instructions if you get lost. Maybe you just didn't find them More

Indian Queens. Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Yes that does say 3 weeks, I was in Napier visiting my son, have stayed in a few places in the town, this is the best so far, new managers who were so kind & welcoming to me, they couldn't have done more. My room was clean, comfy & kept that way throughout my stay. My son & his girlfriend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

It was lovely having you stay for all that time. We enjoyed your company and very pleased you had a nice time. More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I am writing on behalf of my elderly parents who stayed at this motel in Feb 2014. This was supposed to be a very special trip for them but their experience at this motel has tarnished their memory of this destination. The motel room was described as filthy, so much so that when they walked on the floor their feet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not happy with our service. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We will be make some of the changes you recommend. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a amazing 10 day stay for Art Deco in Napier only thanks to the managers Joy and Kevin and there lovely cleaning staff. They made our holiday going out of there way for us in anyway possible welcoming, friendly,professional and helpful as were the cleaning staff as well absolutely lovely and everyone made us feel at home our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are so pleased we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. And we have passed on your remakes to our cleaning staff. More

sussex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed one night prior to The mission concert . $130 , . Room 6 . Clean with new carpets & towels. Small shower & toilet require updating good value @ normal rate $115 , a couple of trains go by in the night. comfortable firm bed & real cotton sheets,

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Its good to hear guests have enjoyed their stay and hope to see you next time you are in Napier. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed over the new year period and found the motel a lovely place to enjoy our family holiday. The managers were very helpful and pleasant making for a very relaxed and enjoyable experience. Great location just off marine parade provided a nice quiet motel. Swimming pool wss great. Tidy and comfortable units. Will definitely be back when we are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KathyandWayne W, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. We look forward to your next visit. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed in Unit 5 3N while cycling the Hawkes Bay trails. Agree with other reviews re cleanliness which needs improving. Bed was very comfortable and the unit was newly carpeted and painted. Bathroom just too small and shower size is claustrophobic. Towels are old. Lots of flies so hopefully there is now fly spray in the rooms. It was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Owner at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with our unit, We are new managers here and have hired more cleaning staff. the units have had a spring clean now and will be kept up,from now on. We would love you to come back and see the improvements. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booked Unit 5 online direct with the motel but we were directed to Unit 6. The unit was a small studio but with separate full kitchen (stove and microwave), a king size bed that dominated the room, small wall-mountedLCD TV and iron/ironing board. Storage space was tight. The shower box and toilet cubicle were very small. The motel has plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, We have made changes since you were here, we have extra staff, with the units having a spring clean, and the cleaners are making a fine job now. we have bought new towels to replace the older towels, I only hope you will reconsider coming back to see the improvements. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 days in Napier and chose McLean Park Garden Motel because we did not want to stay on a main road. During our stay we heard no traffic noise and the infrequent trains did not bother us, we could hardly hear them. The motel was handy when we needed to drive to supermarkets and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide the possitive feedback. As you know we haven't been here long and some changes for the better are happening. More

Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The most comfortable king size bed we have slept in in a motel the carpet & furnishings new, the manager one of the most helpful. The owner needs to finish his updating of all the units. the kitchen was OK but the bathroom needed attention ASAP. We are both tall & did not like having our knees touching the wall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mclean Park Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mclean Park Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mclean Park Garden Motel

Address: 177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mclean Park Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclean Park Hotel

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer