We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mclean Park Garden Motel

177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    15
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
13
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked a room months in advance and when our plan fell through I phoned to cancel the booking, at the time of the cancellation the computers were down. They have no record of me calling and I was charged for the room. I know it's my word vs theirs but the owner is being completely unreasonable I KNOW I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This is the sort of place I am happy to stay at, although if I didn't have transport then location-wise I'd have stayed a bit closer to central town. Location is good for McLean Park (as the name suggests!) and the Aquarium, the latter being one of our activities to do. Also on the plus side we got a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Hello Glen, thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear that you would consider staying again even though there were some issues. I'm sorry that we assumed that it was a couple with a child, the room that you were allocated had a Super King that could be split into 2 singles which should have been attended to before... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Looked for something cheap and cheerful and found this motel through recent good Trip Advisor comments. Managers were extremely friendly and helpful. The units looked very dated but they had been freshly painted on the outside and everything was new and extremely clean on the inside. Walls were a bit paper thin and I could hear a lot of noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments . Regards Karyn And Chris More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I booked at McLean Park Garden because of its proximity to McLean Park. It is a 1960 vintage motel, but my unit had clearly been recently repainted, recarpeted and refurnished (but for the dull blue framed prints). I travelled alone, so had no benefit from the fact that my unit would comfortably have accommodated a family of four. If I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we would like to see you back and if travelling on your own I would put you in a studio unit that has all the same facilities but only King bed. We may not have had any available when you booked in. Regards Karyn and Chris More 

Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

my sister and i stayed here for 1 night, in town for the icc world cup cricket @ mcclean park which is just round the corner.2 min walk. the staff were very friendly and helpful. the rooms were very clean and had everything we needed for our stay, highly recommend this motel and would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you we really appreciate your positive comments, hope to see you back. Regards Karyn and Chris More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We stayed here for two nights over Waitangi weekend and it was perfect for my elderly father and me. The beds were really comfortable and it was clean and tidy. The kitchen had everything we needed as did the bathroom. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return visit. Regards Karyn and Chris Managers More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Motel's web page advertised 25% off for 3 nights or more. My booking confirmation did not indicate this so I emailed to ask whether this discount gets deducted when I pay. I got no reply. On arriving, I was told they did not receive my email so was charged full price. I was not happy with this and the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

To clarify, this lady and her daughter arrived to stay, with a computer print out of her booking which quite clearly showed her unit to be $405 for the three nights.(it was booked 2 weeks prior to her stay so plenty of time to clarify and rectify) It also clearly said and she agreed that to obtain the 3 night... More 

Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

A girlfriend and I stayed recently at this motel and it suited all our needs. The new Managers - Chris and Karyn could not have been more friendly and obliging. The unit was clean and the kitchen well appointed - it even had shiny new cutlery! There were two very comfortable beds (one in the lounge and the other in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and will look forward to have you visit again More 

Titahi Bay, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

WeI recently had the pleasure of staying at this motel I found it not only to be very clean and comfortable the grounds were well looked after and the new Managers Karyn and Chris were not only very friendly they could not do enough for us this made our short stay in Napier a very pleasent one andIwe will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and lovely comments. Will look forward to seeing you again when you come up for a girls weekend. Kind Regards Karyn and Chris Managers. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Checked in fine, polite manager, tried going to bed untill i notuced dirty bed linen, then to top it all off i get charged for an already broken window!! Discusting treatment of a sales rep that stays away every other week

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

I apologise again that you had to come to us with a pillow slip that had 2 tiny spots of blood on it, can only assume it transferred to the pillow as it was being changed. All linen is replaced after occupation. The window in question was badly broken (dangerously so ) and not just cracked, we have a policy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
VR Napier Hotel
VR Napier Hotel
#27 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#10 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#8 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top