We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Napier hotels

Mclean Park Garden Motel

177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mclean Park Garden Motel to your Saves list
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
69%
Ranked #31 of 47 hotels in Napier
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed for two nights whilst on a work trip and was really impressed by the cleanliness and friendly staff. The room was simple and had everything I needed to sleep, have breakfast and do some work. I slept well in the quiet at night!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very impressed by the value for money, and upkeep of the property. Rooms were tidy, neat, clean, well appointed and sufficient for a nice stay - we enjoyed our stay. The complex was quiet at night and we found it convenient to get to everything we needed to. Comes highly recommended. We stayed here once before and chose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We really appreciate your review and hope to see you again. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The motel unit we stayed in was tidy but very basic and very dated.The place was very shabby,paint peeling etc but a better clean would help. Beds very comfy but top covers badly stained and grubby. When we left and handed in the keys at the front office at 9.15am,the manager came down in his dressing gown. Not a pleasant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kathyandwyne1, Owner at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful discussion. The manager on duty was lying on bed due to sickness and his wife went to chemist to buy medicine for him , so he was in his dressing gown,hope you could understand. Motel was one of the first motels in the city and being undergoing refurbishment and the unit where the guest stayed... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A no frills motel but ideal for those travelling on a tight budget. We had a 1 bedroom unit for our family of 4, with the children sleeping on the two beds in the lounge. The beds were comfortable and the unit was of acceptable cleanliness. Kitchen and bathroom were dated but functional. The complex was quiet at night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do have 5 sky channels. We do have easy instructions if you get lost. Maybe you just didn't find them More

Indian Queens. Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Yes that does say 3 weeks, I was in Napier visiting my son, have stayed in a few places in the town, this is the best so far, new managers who were so kind & welcoming to me, they couldn't have done more. My room was clean, comfy & kept that way throughout my stay. My son & his girlfriend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

It was lovely having you stay for all that time. We enjoyed your company and very pleased you had a nice time. More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I am writing on behalf of my elderly parents who stayed at this motel in Feb 2014. This was supposed to be a very special trip for them but their experience at this motel has tarnished their memory of this destination. The motel room was described as filthy, so much so that when they walked on the floor their feet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not happy with our service. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We will be make some of the changes you recommend. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a amazing 10 day stay for Art Deco in Napier only thanks to the managers Joy and Kevin and there lovely cleaning staff. They made our holiday going out of there way for us in anyway possible welcoming, friendly,professional and helpful as were the cleaning staff as well absolutely lovely and everyone made us feel at home our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

We are so pleased we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. And we have passed on your remakes to our cleaning staff. More

sussex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed one night prior to The mission concert . $130 , . Room 6 . Clean with new carpets & towels. Small shower & toilet require updating good value @ normal rate $115 , a couple of trains go by in the night. comfortable firm bed & real cotton sheets,

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Its good to hear guests have enjoyed their stay and hope to see you next time you are in Napier. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed over the new year period and found the motel a lovely place to enjoy our family holiday. The managers were very helpful and pleasant making for a very relaxed and enjoyable experience. Great location just off marine parade provided a nice quiet motel. Swimming pool wss great. Tidy and comfortable units. Will definitely be back when we are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KathyandWayne W, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. We look forward to your next visit. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed in Unit 5 3N while cycling the Hawkes Bay trails. Agree with other reviews re cleanliness which needs improving. Bed was very comfortable and the unit was newly carpeted and painted. Bathroom just too small and shower size is claustrophobic. Towels are old. Lots of flies so hopefully there is now fly spray in the rooms. It was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Owner at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with our unit, We are new managers here and have hired more cleaning staff. the units have had a spring clean now and will be kept up,from now on. We would love you to come back and see the improvements. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mclean Park Garden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mclean Park Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mclean Park Garden Motel

Address: 177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mclean Park Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclean Park Hotel

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Napier with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mclean Park Garden Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer