We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mclean Park Garden Motel

177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Porirua, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A girlfriend and I stayed recently at this motel and it suited all our needs. The new Managers - Chris and Karyn could not have been more friendly and obliging. The unit was clean and the kitchen well appointed - it even had shiny new cutlery! There were two very comfortable beds (one in the lounge and the other in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Titahi Bay, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

WeI recently had the pleasure of staying at this motel I found it not only to be very clean and comfortable the grounds were well looked after and the new Managers Karyn and Chris were not only very friendly they could not do enough for us this made our short stay in Napier a very pleasent one andIwe will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and lovely comments. Will look forward to seeing you again when you come up for a girls weekend. Kind Regards Karyn and Chris Managers. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Checked in fine, polite manager, tried going to bed untill i notuced dirty bed linen, then to top it all off i get charged for an already broken window!! Discusting treatment of a sales rep that stays away every other week

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

The location of this motel is near the city center, that's a good thing. Sadly it lacked of cleanness and is very outdated. Rooms could use a refreshment, because all the furniture is very old. But people were friendly and nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review comment and appreciating the motel's location and management . For your information all furniture including beds are new replaced late last year. All bath rooms, toilets and full kitchens newly renovated and in fact just completed the renovation on the week before you stayed. We are sure you had a brand new shower,vanity, toilet and... More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

As per the title, Kevin and Joy were amazing. I was staying with a bunch of monkeys whilst we were working at McLean Park for the rugby test. We stayed on and off for a couple of months. Kevin and Joy were always friendly, accommodating and helpful. I would stay anywhere they were managing because of their attitude towards helping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your sincere comment. We well appreciate your patronage and staying with your team such long (months) stay at Mclean Park Garden Motel. We look forward to welcoming your group back in the coming season. Thank you again. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We were pre-booked to stay here for one night late in September, 2014. We were a group of three mature age adults. From the outside, the section we stayed in looked dated but inside it was refurbished, comfortable and clean. We had a large unit with separate kitchen, lounge and bedroom. The managers were friendly and helpful. The position to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the realistic review which we sincerely appreciate. Hope to see you soon again. More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The motel had all the amenities one needed. It was clean and not too far from the water. We stayed fro 2 nights. You can hear some sort of train at night but we found it exciting and my husband wanted to get up and go and see it. Napier is a great town to explore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. See you again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I had a lovely stay at the garden motel, joy & Kevin are wonderful managers they have lovely manners & make things so easy and simple, the rooms were nice and clean I'll certainly be coming back to stay and il be recommending this motel to my family and friends :) keep up the wonderful work joy & Kevin, hopefully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Mclean Park Garden Motel. Your positive response will help us very much. Looking forward to seeing you again More 

Palmerston North
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We chose to stay here due to the motel's close proximity to McLean Park for the All Blacks game. On arrival we received a fairly cool reception with mainly yes/ no responses from the manager. For example when we asked if we could get a newspaper next day the answer was "no" and that was all. We were required to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

As Kevin was walking with you, to show you the unit you were staying in, he was asked about the paper and replied, "no sorry we don't supply papers" He thinks you might not of heard his full answer. Most guests stay the one night for the rugby, however we do have 2 night deal with such a shortage of... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed for two nights whilst on a work trip and was really impressed by the cleanliness and friendly staff. The room was simple and had everything I needed to sleep, have breakfast and do some work. I slept well in the quiet at night!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joy M, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Its good to hear guests have enjoyed their stay. And we hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mclean Park Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mclean Park Garden Motel

Address: 177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mclean Park Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclean Park Hotel
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Napier

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay