We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mclean Park Garden Motel

177 Wellesley Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mclean Park Garden Motel
Rate this Hotel

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked at McLean Park Garden because of its proximity to McLean Park. It is a 1960 vintage motel, but my unit had clearly been recently repainted, recarpeted and refurnished (but for the dull blue framed prints). I travelled alone, so had no benefit from the fact that my unit would comfortably have accommodated a family of four. If I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my sister and i stayed here for 1 night, in town for the icc world cup cricket @ mcclean park which is just round the corner.2 min walk. the staff were very friendly and helpful. the rooms were very clean and had everything we needed for our stay, highly recommend this motel and would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We stayed here for two nights over Waitangi weekend and it was perfect for my elderly father and me. The beds were really comfortable and it was clean and tidy. The kitchen had everything we needed as did the bathroom. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return visit. Regards Karyn and Chris Managers More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Motel's web page advertised 25% off for 3 nights or more. My booking confirmation did not indicate this so I emailed to ask whether this discount gets deducted when I pay. I got no reply. On arriving, I was told they did not receive my email so was charged full price. I was not happy with this and the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

To clarify, this lady and her daughter arrived to stay, with a computer print out of her booking which quite clearly showed her unit to be $405 for the three nights.(it was booked 2 weeks prior to her stay so plenty of time to clarify and rectify) It also clearly said and she agreed that to obtain the 3 night... More 

Porirua, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

A girlfriend and I stayed recently at this motel and it suited all our needs. The new Managers - Chris and Karyn could not have been more friendly and obliging. The unit was clean and the kitchen well appointed - it even had shiny new cutlery! There were two very comfortable beds (one in the lounge and the other in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and will look forward to have you visit again More 

Titahi Bay, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

WeI recently had the pleasure of staying at this motel I found it not only to be very clean and comfortable the grounds were well looked after and the new Managers Karyn and Chris were not only very friendly they could not do enough for us this made our short stay in Napier a very pleasent one andIwe will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and lovely comments. Will look forward to seeing you again when you come up for a girls weekend. Kind Regards Karyn and Chris Managers. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Checked in fine, polite manager, tried going to bed untill i notuced dirty bed linen, then to top it all off i get charged for an already broken window!! Discusting treatment of a sales rep that stays away every other week

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarynChris, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

I apologise again that you had to come to us with a pillow slip that had 2 tiny spots of blood on it, can only assume it transferred to the pillow as it was being changed. All linen is replaced after occupation. The window in question was badly broken (dangerously so ) and not just cracked, we have a policy... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

The location of this motel is near the city center, that's a good thing. Sadly it lacked of cleanness and is very outdated. Rooms could use a refreshment, because all the furniture is very old. But people were friendly and nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review comment and appreciating the motel's location and management . For your information all furniture including beds are new replaced late last year. All bath rooms, toilets and full kitchens newly renovated and in fact just completed the renovation on the week before you stayed. We are sure you had a brand new shower,vanity, toilet and... More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

As per the title, Kevin and Joy were amazing. I was staying with a bunch of monkeys whilst we were working at McLean Park for the rugby test. We stayed on and off for a couple of months. Kevin and Joy were always friendly, accommodating and helpful. I would stay anywhere they were managing because of their attitude towards helping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your sincere comment. We well appreciate your patronage and staying with your team such long (months) stay at Mclean Park Garden Motel. We look forward to welcoming your group back in the coming season. Thank you again. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We were pre-booked to stay here for one night late in September, 2014. We were a group of three mature age adults. From the outside, the section we stayed in looked dated but inside it was refurbished, comfortable and clean. We had a large unit with separate kitchen, lounge and bedroom. The managers were friendly and helpful. The position to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kathyandwyne1, Manager at Mclean Park Garden Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the realistic review which we sincerely appreciate. Hope to see you soon again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question