We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Hotel Te Pania

45 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Napier
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
passive649 Wellington, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

486 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    194
    225
    42
    21
    4
See reviews for
62
239
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (486)
  • Mar-May only
    (152)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (165)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Pretty standard hotel room with nice views out over Hawkes Bay from the 5th/6th floors. The bed was large and very soft - in fact it kind of dipped or sunk when you lied on it. Good location just a short walk to Napier CBD and shopping and cafes. Paid around $190NZD on expedia and think that's at the upper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I noted the rate you paid was certainly at the top end of our range, this was due to the fact that the Hotel was full. Our rates are dynamic and as such are reflective of the occupancy levels. Thanks again for your comments warm regards Kerryann More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This crescent shaped hotel is situated across the road from the beach (too dangerous for swimming) and all the gardens and attractions on the seaward side of Marine Parade. The city centre is also only a few minutes stroll. Great views from all rooms and for enjoying the morning sun. The rooms are of average size and include all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you fro your review. I appreciate the feedback regarding the clock radios. Replacements are in the budget ..I am hoping for docking stations to keep pace with technology. The sunrise this morning was spectacular! we look forward to welcoming you back warm regards Kerryann More 

Kidderminster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a really nice modern hotel in a great location overlooking the sea. It is also very handy for nice walks along the front and easy to get into town. We had a really nice meal of goat curry from the Nepalese chef and great service from waitress Katie. This all changed in the morning when we were greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback as it assists us with our service. Regards Kerryann More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at Scenic Hotel Te Pania on a previous trip to Napier and enjoyed the standard offered and its location. The feather bed is so luxuriously soft (great for me, but not so much for my husband). Charlotte at the check-in desk is great to deal with, and very obliging. I had contacted her earlier to advise of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

What a lovely review to start the week with. Thank you. So glad you enjoy staying with us, we certainly enjoy having you here. warm regards Kerryann More 

Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My elderly aunt and I spent only a single night here in July but we both agreed our beds were the most comfortable we'd ever experienced! Just try the amazing feather mattress! We sat to watch the sun rise from our bedroom window which was awesome as well as fun being among the first in the world to see the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

What a lovely review to start the day with! Thank you. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments regarding the restaurant this is something we are currently addressing. We are planning to install electric roller blinds to remove the winter chill but still enable our guests to enjoy the views. Thanks again and we... More 

Fraser Island, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a suite on the top floor which had great views out to Cape Kidnappers and also the Marine Parade. Rooms were clean and well laid out. All the major attractions are within walking distance. would definitely chose this place for further visits to Napier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to your return to our sunny city. warm regards and safe travels Kerryann More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a convenient location for strolling into town and to the ocean but it's mind-boggling noisy due to the volume of traffic along Marine Parade, a lot of which is semi-trailers and trucks going to the Port. My advice? Bring ear plugs, even if you're not a light sleeper the traffic kicks off at 6.15am and doesn't stop until after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the candid feedback. warm regards and happy travelling Kerryann More 

Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best things about this hotel is it's proximity to the city centre - especially on a wet day. It is just so easy to walk down the street to browse around Napier's great shops. Of course the beach is also just over the road. We have stayed here several times and the rooms are always spotless. Friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

And we love having you to stay because you are such a great guest! Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry about your room not being pre warmed it is part of the service we offer. we look forward to your return and trust you are safe at your house today with the impending snow storm. kind regards Kerryann More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been staying in luxury accommodation throughout our road trip down the north island and made a last minute detour to Napier. We were impressed with the ease of booking and check-in, helpful service and great location. Modern, nice rooms with bath and with view over ocean. Recommend. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you enjoy the rest of New Zealand safe travels Kind regards Kerryann More 

Te Aroha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was a family occasion that we stayed in Napier and loved the two double beds in our room which meant our daughter and grandson could join us for this family celebration at the last minute. The hotel did not charge for our six year old grandson which we thought was generous of them. Location was excellent and the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review

Thank you fro your kind review. we welcome families at Te Pania and as long as you are using existing bedding we do not charge for under 12's staying tint he same room as their parents. I hope that the celebrations went well and we look forward to your return. warm regards Kerryann More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Navigate Seaside Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay