We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fern Motel

4 Westminster Ave | Tamatea, Napier, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fern Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Chose this motel as it was located near the venue I was attending. Studio room was adequate, nothing flash but cheap and clean so served the purpose of being a convenient place to stay. Lots of families staying on a Saturday night. The pool looked nice but unfortunately weather didn't lend itself to swimming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Stayed one night in a basic interconnecting studio with the family. The rooms were a decent size with comfortable beds. We could hear outside noise and noise from the adjoining rooms but the noise was not too intrusive. The owner was very hospitable and welcoming. The only negative is that the room could do with some minor decorative maintenance. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tirau, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed in a deluxe unit and were very happy with it. Very fresh and modern decor. Lovely and clean. Had 2 bedrooms so plenty of room for our family of 5. Fully equipped kitchen. Nice people. Handy location as we were doing things in both Hastings and Napier. Lots for the kids with a nice playground and pool. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mustang83
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We stayed at the Fern Motel in Napier and found the accommodation very. comfortable, conveniently located and staffed by a real friendly couple that made our stay 'cozy'. It's just off the main road passing Napier town center. Easy to find. Rooms are comfortable and well laid out. When we will be in Napier again we wll certainly pass by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased you had a nice and comfortable stay at our motel. Looking forward to seeing you again! More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Shocking place would never return!! We were booked in for a week but cut it short and went to another hotel. The lady who runs the place was very unprofessional and not dog friendly at all. We asked for more soap as what we were allocated wasn't nearly enough and we were told we would need to purchase them. Won't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for this review but with posting this 4-5 months after your stay we honestly believe you have got your motels mixed up because we can not find you anywhere in our system and we can not recall anything you mention. We have had dogs for over thirty years and love them! Also we have never ever charged for... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I'm reading these reviews with people complaining. We liked it. I thought the room was cute. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. The water pressure in our bathroom was fine and there is a heater in there. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The kids loved the trampoline and the pool. i felt like the pictures on here looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, this means a lot to us. I have made the photo's myself to make sure guests who book online are not disappointed because that is the last thing we want. We would love to welcome you again anytime! More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I stay at Fern Motel several times a month as I a rep I am on the road a lot. I have found there hospitality extra ordinary, they are friendly and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble for them. Yes the studio rooms are wee but they are comfortable with air con, large TVs and comply beds. Before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much. We will see you again soon! More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Whoever took the photos for the website is obviously a whizz at Photoshop, because the place looks nothing like this. It's grubby, rundown and tatty. The room is pokey and depressing and the kitchen is rubbish - I've seen better at the average campsite. The pool is tiny and the motel is a long way out from the centre of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you had to pay one extra night when you cancelled 6 nights in our busiest time after you had checked in. I understand you needed to ventilate this but just a bit disappointed it needed to be in this way. We do try our best to keep our guests happy but sometimes for reasons out of our... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We stayed for two nights and whilst the unit is clean it is very old and very small (stayed in Delux Studio). My biggest issue is that the website pictures make it look ALOT better than it is in real live. It says refurbished on their website - and I couldn't see it. False advertising. Compared to other motels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry your experience with us was not the best. I have made all the photo's of the Units myself so people who book online will not be disappointed because that is not what we want. Because of the busy time there was an extra single bed in your... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

My family and I stayed for two nights, even tho we were out most of the day. It was very user friendly with a great pool and playground for kids. The room we had had plenty of room for 2 parents and 3 kids and kitchenette. Staff were abosolutely wonderful while we stayed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased you had a good stay and liked the accommodation. Hope to see you again someday. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities