We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palm City Motor Inn

#11 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
31 Georges Dr.,, Napier, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm City Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Palm City Motor Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
10
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

I just returned from a 10 day stay in Napier, Hawkes Bay to visit a friend. The room was very clean and the owners were friendly and able to answer almost all my questions. Their restaurant has a short but varied breakfast menu. The dinners can be anything from a salad to a several course meal. I was able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

A very lovely and clean place. Owners are a lovely and friendly couple. Very accommodating for our needs as we were in Napier for speedway racing and they had the room for our race trailer. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I stayed here for one night on my way to play golf at Cape Kidnappers after driving down from Auckland (en route I stopped by Hobbiton to see the movie set). I think it’s a great alternative to the much more expensive Lodge at Cape Kidnappers. The owner and I communicated via email multiple times since I was arriving after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Lovely central quiet motel. Within walking distance to town. Spa baths lovely. Outdoor swimming pool ideal for children. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again when travelling to Napier. Recommend strongly to all travellers passing through

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Lovely couple own and run palm city, and they are fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and well kept. It's a real bonus being able to order meals from the 'guestaurant'. And they were great value for a basic nice meals. Good variety if you are staying for a while too. Easy walk to Napier shops. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We used this facility for a family reunion with people coming from a variety of locations. The motel staff were very helpful with our planning and accommodating a variety of people with different needs and requirement. We used the conference room and restaurant and everything was to a high standard. The children enjoyed riding scooters and bikes on the flat... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

When we arrived, staff were friendly. Pool was very nice and clean with good shelter for the chairs. The bath had sand and hair in it on arrival. Is a bit dated. Rubbish bin in bathroom didn't work. There were no sheets or blanket on the pull out sofa bed. Air conditioning is needed in the rooms. They did have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We were shocked to hear your comments on cleanliness and wish you had told us whilst you were here so that we could address and correct this with you personally. Sofa beds are only made up if they are requested, ie if the bedding configurations are not... More 

Taumar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Due to supposed increases in accomodation nationwide, this was the best price for my needs for one night. I have stayed here before. The establishment was clean and tidy, and had all the basic necessities. Free200mb is always a bonus, and a decent sized milk was provided! I love my coffee after a long days drive. This particular trip however,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. During school holidays and weekends Palm City is always popular with families, and we pride ourselves on being family orientated. We do have spare car parks at the front of the motel complex and are always happy for guests to park in these if they prefer. Wifi is complimentary and unlimited - we agree that... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed quite a few places on our roadtrip around New Zealand, and the service offered by the Palm City Motor Inn staff was by far the best we received; happily answering all our questions, calling around and helping us with tour bookings, even driving us to the nearby port for lunch. The room was pleasant also - we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was great to meet you and your lovely family, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand. We are always happy to organise trips for our guests and share our local knowledge. Dean and Helen Young More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

When confirming details, arriving and checking out the service here was very friendly and happy. The room was better than an average motel room, though nothing to rave about. It is definitely the service that puts this above average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and cleanliness in our apartments so it is great to hear that this does not go unnoticed. Dean and Helen Young More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay