We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palm City Motor Inn

Hotel website
31 Georges Dr.,, Napier, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm City Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Palm City Motor Inn
Rate this Hotel

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
10
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Lovely couple own and run palm city, and they are fantastic. Very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and well kept. It's a real bonus being able to order meals from the 'guestaurant'. And they were great value for a basic nice meals. Good variety if you are staying for a while too. Easy walk to Napier shops. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We used this facility for a family reunion with people coming from a variety of locations. The motel staff were very helpful with our planning and accommodating a variety of people with different needs and requirement. We used the conference room and restaurant and everything was to a high standard. The children enjoyed riding scooters and bikes on the flat... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

When we arrived, staff were friendly. Pool was very nice and clean with good shelter for the chairs. The bath had sand and hair in it on arrival. Is a bit dated. Rubbish bin in bathroom didn't work. There were no sheets or blanket on the pull out sofa bed. Air conditioning is needed in the rooms. They did have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We were shocked to hear your comments on cleanliness and wish you had told us whilst you were here so that we could address and correct this with you personally. Sofa beds are only made up if they are requested, ie if the bedding configurations are not... More 

Taumar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Due to supposed increases in accomodation nationwide, this was the best price for my needs for one night. I have stayed here before. The establishment was clean and tidy, and had all the basic necessities. Free200mb is always a bonus, and a decent sized milk was provided! I love my coffee after a long days drive. This particular trip however,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. During school holidays and weekends Palm City is always popular with families, and we pride ourselves on being family orientated. We do have spare car parks at the front of the motel complex and are always happy for guests to park in these if they prefer. Wifi is complimentary and unlimited - we agree that... More 

Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed quite a few places on our roadtrip around New Zealand, and the service offered by the Palm City Motor Inn staff was by far the best we received; happily answering all our questions, calling around and helping us with tour bookings, even driving us to the nearby port for lunch. The room was pleasant also - we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was great to meet you and your lovely family, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand. We are always happy to organise trips for our guests and share our local knowledge. Dean and Helen Young More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

When confirming details, arriving and checking out the service here was very friendly and happy. The room was better than an average motel room, though nothing to rave about. It is definitely the service that puts this above average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and cleanliness in our apartments so it is great to hear that this does not go unnoticed. Dean and Helen Young More 

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

I can only repeat other reviews that this is an outstanding accommodation with great management and staff. The rooms were immaculate, roomy and comfortable. The management handled the provision of 2 rooms at short notice (after our flight was cancelled) and our early morning departure with aplomb - applying corporate rates and inviting us to their Xmas dinner (free food).... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was great to host you and your work colleague, Joe and we were glad to be able to invite you to our Christmas party. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Napier. Dean and Helen Young More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Dean and Helen are super friendly, very hospitable and full of great tips and advice. The rooms are huge, clean and immaculately presented and the Guestaurant caters to all tastes. Thoroughly recommended, must stop here, at least for a night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much :) Dean and Helen Young More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Another year of friendly and extra-mile service. We arrived late after check in time and so they left our room open and ready for us. Nothing but friendly service. This is our second year there and we hope to get in early for next years IronMaori in 2015

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

It was lovely to host you and your family again this year Boyd, we look forward to seeing you for the 2015 Iron Maori. Dean and Helen Young More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Wished we were staying longer than a night. Friendly staff at check in. Beautiful smelling clean room. Loved the hand wash, moisturiser etc Parking right outside room was tricky to maneuvre. Swimming pool and spa were also clean and nice. My son enjoyed the pool and park. Thank you so much, we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PalmcityMI, Owner at Palm City Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review. Our pool has been very popular over the summer months with the wonderful weather we have been having. Great to hear you and your family had a great time, we hope to see you again soon. Dean and Helen Young More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question