We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast

2 Neeve Place | Taradale, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Stayed at Nest Haven for two nights in March. John and Margaret are very welcoming hosts and John even phoned us in the UK beforehand to discuss our booking. Lovely clean and comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived and after we returned from our evening meal we were welcomed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi FandME: Thank you for your great review. I am glad you found us as your home away from home. We always treat our clients as we would like to be treated ourselves and sharing coffee, our time, and our home is just the norm for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your wine tour with Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours... More 

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Maggie and John are friendly and informative hosts. Right from the first enquiry John was helpful and rang us in the UK to chat when we confirmed our booking. He then sent us lots of suggestions for things to do on South Island before we came to Napier. We received a warm and friendly welcome and then learned all about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi wetherby_traveller: Thank you for your fantastic review of our B & B. Yes, we do try hard to make your holiday complete. We offer the assistance that we would like offered if we were doing the travelling. You came a long way to see our area, so why miss out ? We are more than happy to assist our... More 

Toowoomba Qld
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

From the phone call before we left home to the arrival afternoon tea, the very comfortable room and the beautiful home and garden, what more could you need or ask for. John and Margaret are very good hosts and the added benefit of their wine tour isn't to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi AnnkToowoombaQld: Thank you for your great feedback, it really is appreciated. Yes, we always say, this is home away from home, and we are glad this is how it came across to you both. We like to assist our clients to get the very best from their stay by offering advice where we can. I am so glad you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Great hosts, nice room and conveniently within walking distance to Church Road and Mission wineries. I would recommend tagging along for their wineries tour which is great value. Also great cycling tracks nearby so you can cycle into Napier town in about 25 minutes. Good value stay and tour for the area. One thing to note though is that it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Daphne Y: Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. Yes, we are very close and within walking distance to restaurants, wineries etc. as you now know. We are glad you enjoyed the wine tour with Hawkes Bay Scenic Tours and gained enjoyment from the use of the bicycle while you were here. I do recall... More 

Magnetawan, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed for one night Feb 3, 2014 . Our decision to stay at this particular B&B was based on the favorable trip advisor reviews and close proximity to Church Rd and Mission Estate Wineries. We were not disappointed! The Church Rd Winery tour was very interesting and would suggest this to anyone visiting this area. The dinner at Mission... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Michael & Nancy: Margaret and I are pleased our recommendations were beneficial to your New Zealand experience. We always try to sit with our clients, and most want to see that their travel planes are suitable or they have made the correct choices. Some have no idea of the attractions as they travel to the next destination. We are... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were in the en-suite room which was immaculately clean. Continental breakfast included cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast, home made preserves, which was all of excellent quality. We were made to feel welcome at all times, even in the evening, when we returned after our meal we were invited into the lounge for a cup of tea. We didn't feel like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Permatan: Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we like to engage our clients and offer them the best possible experience in the time they have in Napier. We consider this is so important. You came a long way to experience Napier and we like to think we helped you achieve this. Safe travels. - John & Margaret More 

Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We only spent one day and night in Napier and at the Nest Haven B&B, what a great stay! Maggie and John are such warm and welcoming people with a great passion for wine and their town of Napier. The room was nice, the wine-tour was great and the town of Napier was wonderful. It may take som time for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Truckleffe: Thank you for your review. As you know, we do go out of our way to offer the best we can for our clients. We just want you going on your way with not good, but 'fantastic' memories of your visit to Napier. We are really glad you loved the tour. Safe travelling. - John & Margaret More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our stay in Napier was made extremely interesting by our friendly and knowledgeable hosts, John & Margaret. John information about Napier and its environs was almost encyclopaedic, showing us a video of the town before & after the earthquake of 1931 and providing us with a GPS to borrow giving directions to all the sights. Our room was lovely,very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi peterandheike: Thank you for your great comments. Yes, we are proud of the guests bathrooms, and they're not brand new either. Timeless one might say. They are admired by all. The Hangi, yes, this is basically a steamed meal with smoked overtones as everything is cooked together it shares the same basic tastes. It is an acquired taste. We... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent last night with John and Margaret in Napier, such a great experience! Both are local tour guides and know the area and its history very well! We were treated to a history lesson of the Napier earthquake and Art Deco styles; they even shared with us a one hour historical account DVD of the quake. Their home is beautiful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johnboy12321, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi TravelforfunSeattle, Thank you for your fantastic review. As you were here for a different reason than sightseeing, we like to ensure that you at least take with you the history of the region and see some of the highlights in the time possible. Napier is a great place, we are glad you left with great memories. Safe travelling, John... More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is our first time in Nest Haven.we stayed only a day and night..though we had a nice time there...Both John and Maggie are very friendly and caring. we really enjoyed talking to them...The house is very clean and tidy ......I would defenitely choose this place again if I have to go and stay aroud that region. All the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johnboy0123, Owner at Nest Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Linu V: Thank you for your taking the time to place a lovely comment. We are pleased that you found everything perfect for your stay. - John & Margaret More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
4.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
4.4 mi away
McHardy Lodge
McHardy Lodge
#5 of 45 in Napier
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Watea Boutique Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
4.5 mi away
The Green House on the Hill B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities