We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Nautilus

Travelers' Choice award winner
387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Nautilus
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    266
    137
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
51
268
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (431)
  • Mar-May only
    (120)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here a few times now. Rooms always clean, reception friendly and helpful, all facilities work well, reasonable prices, good location to walk to town, go for run/walk along the waterfront, get to the museum. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon first impressions the Nautilus is like every other motel in New Zealand - courtyard parking, a little carton of milk from reception at check in etc. But once you get in to your room you are happily surprised by the tasteful design and high level of finish. The motel is in the perfect location opposite the seafront and 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights for my partners birthday. Lovely, clean, modern and spacious rooms! Loved the jet bath in the bedroom. Great location just across the road from the beach and friendly and helpful staff! would recommend to anyone looking for a nice hotel and a reasonable price!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you for you great review. We are lucky to be able to share the great views and location with our guests. It is fantastic that you felt comfortable and were able to relax, this is very important to us. We are please that you enjoyed your stay. More 

London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location on Marine Parade. Large modern room with good facilities with jet bath. Good location close to main town and local restaurants (Pacifica was excellent). Off street parking. Did not get the chance to try the bar or restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay and found the location of The Nautilus convenient to the city centre. More 

Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice ground floor unit with stylish and comfortable lounge furniture and large TV. Large bathroom with spa and big shower. Staff very helpful with restaurant enquiries and even secured some ice for us as the local dairy had run out. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. So glad that you enjoyed the facilities. We try to do our best to endeavour that our guests have a comfortable stay. Many thanks for writing a review and hopefully we can accommodate you again next time you are in Napier. More 

Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one night and happened to get this room at a reduced rate. We opted for the ocean view room with a spa. It was a spectacular room, and the spa was amazing with jets.... I can't complain about this place at all, I only have positive feedback to give. The only issue was that the internet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had a great experience when you stayed with us. Many thanks for writing a review. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Was nice and quiet considering it is on the waterfront... Room could do with a little more TLC however good facilities I.e spa pool in the bedroom. I paid $137 for one night and would stay again. Dined out and had breaky at a cafe so couldn't comment on the food. Service was good however the online booking system confused... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

This hotel doesn't look much from the outside. In fact it looks like a motel. However, the room my husband and I stayed in on the second floor was amazing. It was a great contrast to the outside. The room was clean, comfortable and had a jacuzzi in the bedroom! I wish we'd had longer here- if just to enjoy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

We really appreciate your time in writing a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the room very comfortable. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I travel all the time for work and this is by far the best place to stay. Great staff, great rooms, super comfy beds, great view and nice to walk on the beach in the morning. And just to top it of the spa bath is heavenly !! Really do love this place. Thanks guys for always being awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely comments Sam, we are so pleased that you enjoy staying with us and appreciate the facilities. We take pride in providing the best possible guest service and look forward in accommodating you again. More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

The guy on reception was a bit frosty when I asked for an upstairs room. He was going to put me in a ground floor room under the stairs which would have had both foot traffic and road traffic noise. Not my idea of a good time. The only problem when you book through Expedia is that sometimes you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

You booked a room through Expedia subject to availability. Of the two room types listed you opted for the less expensive option that states that the room either has a patio or balcony. All the rooms that are featured on that site are heavily discounted from the normal rack rate and are located throughout the complex. I dispute the comment... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Marine Parade(4)
  • Art deco(3)
  • Huge spa(3)
  • Very clean(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#16 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay