We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 62 Hamilton hotels

Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #29 of 62 hotels in Hamilton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Guntha1 Pukekohe, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (129)
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    37
    22
    10
See reviews for
41
32
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older hotel but room was large and the bathroom spotless. Bed big and reasonably comfortable. The outside could do with a bit of a face lift as the air cons are all looking rusty. Needed a power plug by the bed but all the points were hard wired so had to run an extension cord across the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel based on price and location - stopover en route to South. Location was good - easy to find coming off SH1. Room - very dated and basic. Beds - very uncomfortable and hard. Was large with Double and Single bed. Rooms are in different blocks - after check in (very unfriendly staff) there was nowhere to park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As we have over 300 free car parks I find it surprising that you have stated limited car parking. We are more than happy to help with luggage if requested and if possible we will move rooms to satisfy a guests needs. Your comments regarding the check in staff are disappointing and the matter will... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay, good value for money hotel in Hamilton. Friendly staff. Room an older style but perfectly clean and fine for what we paid. Good sized room for a family of 4. Just off a main road so easy access to town centre but no loud traffic. Spa pools were great, indoor pool way too cold for us though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Feedback, such as yours, is always appreciated by the staff and management. From your comments it seems like you got one of our triple rooms which are very popular with families, having the queen, double and single bed and still plenty of room certainly makes them sought after. Its pleasing you got to use... More

Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are clean and big. We had a room with 2 queen size beds and 1 single bed. Perfect for our family of five. The motel has good parking facilities, near to most rooms. The whole motel is of a good size, with a large reception area. WIFI is free for only 20 mins and thereafter, need to pay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make comment and I am happy that you were able to take advantage of one of our "triple rooms". These are indeed large and very suitable for family's travelling. As such they are very popular over the weekend when they generally sell out very quickly. We have just recently completed installation of wifi... More

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here while we were at the Field days in June and have to stay this hotel is average. To be fair though the room and bathroom were both a decent size but the linen and pillows are worn, bed uncomfortable, the rooms need an upgrade. The whole hotel appears to be stuck in a time warp although I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Over the last 18-24 months The entire Hotel has been re-carpeted, all hallways, conference rooms, corridors and the breakfast restaurant have been repainted. All room furniture, including desktops, bed side cabinets and coffee tables have been re-varnished. All curtains replaced, all bed spreads and headboards replaced and room chairs replaced. All TV's in the rooms... More

Raumati Beach, Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three days in June. When we arrived the roof in the room was leaking. It took over an hour before someone came to look, which resulted in a bucket with a couple of towels being carefully positioned under the leak. It was fieldays week so they were completely full and couldn't move us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is shame that you did not take the option to move when offered. I apologise that there was a leak in the room from what can only be described as a storm. The flooding in our entrance way was the first ever seen there in the 15 years the Hotel has been in operation.... More

Porirua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Unless you are here for the conference facilities (in which case I doubt you have a choice), do yourself a favour and find somewhere else. The rooms are tired, beds soft, pillows rubbish and you can hear the plumbing! The breakfast is extortionately priced and is poor quality and the staff were busy cleaning the place as we were eating.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make comments. The $22 charged for a full buffet breakfast includes a variety of breads, danishes, croissants, spreads, 5 types of cereal, fresh fruits, yoghurt, 4 different juices, cheese and meat, 6 hot dishes and tea and coffee. If you do not wish to have the hot dishes the price is $16 and... More

Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed here many times. The breakfast is good, Staff always pleasant. Rooms are large with all that you need. Most have mini bars.The spas are good and we loved the pool.Will be back. Great parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. The staff always try to please our guests and they appreciate people who take the time to make positive comment when so many focus on the negatives. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Kind Regards Murray Cook More

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed here for a couple of nights, and unfortunately we don't have a lot of good feedback. We arrived to find that although there were lots of parks, you would be lucky enough to get one anywhere near your room. We had to park down the other end (which looks like the conference centre car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make such in depth comments regarding your stay. It is disappointing that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as we would have liked and apologise for the areas we have not performed in. The room you stayed in has been signed off as being serviced on the Sunday and we do... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
147

See which rooms travelers prefer