We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Hamilton hotels

Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
51%
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Hamilton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Zemien Auckland Central, New Zealand
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    43
    33
    19
    8
See reviews for
36
30
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Coming here is like having a peak into what hotels were like in the 80s. Peel away the superficial layers though, and it's still a clean and comfortable hotel. No mystery carpet stains, or dirty streaks on the bathroom mirror, or musty odours. It was a fairly hot day so appreciated the heatpump and fan. TV channel selections are minimal.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located on the Northern side of Hamilton, convenient only if you have your own transport, but there is a huge car park out the back of the hotel. It is clean, and staff are friendly and helpful, but it is looking a little tired, and feels a bit impersonal. Rooms are a decent size, mattresses are a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the Hotel. We have replaced all shower heads throughout the Hotel in the last 18 months. I can only assume you were in our 600 wing which has a shower over the bath and yes they are quite low. All other wings have a walk in shower and sound like they would be more... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
119 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

2nd time here, room is well priced and has air con. Shower has good water pressure, and no street noise and I had no noise in corridor. Room service was nice and warm on arrival, reception staff were good

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and it is especially appreciated since you have stayed with us twice now. It was nice of you to comment on the reception staff as I believe the new new staff we have in reception are doing well for two new people to the industry. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future... More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

About an hour outside of Auckland. Clean, comfortable, fair priced room. No view as the windows looked into a sort of court yard. It was just a convenient place to stay for an affordable price with free parking and away from the hassle of the big city. Breakfast buffet was nothing exceptional so if you can wait, find a cute... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make comment. A well written review and pleased you mentioned requesting ground floor rooms if required. The comments regarding breakfast are interesting and I would point out that if you look at our Bed & Breakfast package rates I believe a full continental & cooked buffet is pretty good value for money. Nice... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Rooms and common areas very tired and in need of decoration. Restaurant set out beautifully - however very long wait for (very small) meals. Party of six - one diner served about 30 mins ahead of others - we were offered free drinks by way of an apology. Indoor pool NOT heated - therefore unusable (my grand daughter has asthma... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make comment. The pool is heated to 25 degrees as recommended by our pool contractor. It may have seemed colder with the extremely humid weather being experienced. This is checked daily. The rooms have nearly had all furniture re varnished and corridors are currently being painted. I am disappointed that you felt the... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We are a family with two little young children, we booked to stay longer for cheaper rate, we then got put in a room without a bath, next to the housekeeping room, along the street side, we got waken up in the morning around 6.30am by the washing machine in the housekeeping room,called reception, and got waken up again the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it is very disappointing that your stay with us was not as you would have wished. The laundry staff did start at 7.00 am in the morning and I apologise this happened 2 days in a row. Bed linen is changed on the 3rd nights stya for guests staying over. There are... More

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel has become a regular for our annual stop over in Hamilton, one big family room (2 kings and a single) is tremendous value. The children love the in door swimming and spa pools and the travel budget can be spent elsewhere. Whilst the price is good the decor is a little dated and tired but rooms and common... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and would not recommend it to anybody. The bed had 6 broken springs sticking out which caused injury to the lower leg. When informing staff about this they showed absolutely no interest and offered no adequate solution at all. I have searched for someone to contact in regards to this but find that this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KHamilton, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for making us aware of the problem with the bed and it has been replaced. Staff check for these things but run a hand across the mattress seams rather than put weight on the bed which forces any springs that may have come loose to protrude through the mattress. It is disappointing that you have felt staff were... More

Wellington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Have stayed here a few times in the past, but this time it surpassed my expectations and my experience has ensured we will be returning. The reception staff were excellent, welcoming and polite - certainly much more welcoming than I have struck in the past. Even the housekeeping staff member who cleaned our room was lovely and friendly. Could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Perfect stopover! Especially for the price!! (Some hostels charge more than we paid for a double room!!) Although like all the other reviews say, the decor is slightly dated but everything is maintained well. It was spotlessly clean! The room was huge, with a flat screen tv; we were expecting an older one from the photos. The grounds around have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.