We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Hamilton hotels

Colonial City Motel

23 Thackeray St., Hamilton, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Colonial City Motel to your Saves list
Colonial City Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
75%
Ranked #31 of 60 hotels in Hamilton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014
RaymondPereira Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely terrible service had Friend's get into town late in afternoon, motel was no where near full and they couldn't be bothered lady was so rude. Felt horrible for mates ,not to mention that they bought breakfast in cold wrapped in glad wrap as soon as we got there wouldn't even have fed it to my dog

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ellen N, Owner at Colonial City Motel, responded to this review

The reason your mates were turned away is that it was 3.00 am Sunday morning when they requested a room. the arrangement with you was that they would share your unit as you requested. It is made clear that the office is closed at 9.00 pm. we turn everybody away after that We at Colonial City Motel are unsure what... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent value, Fabulous location (near the hospital and city centre). You even get free Continental Breakfast when booking with Booking.com . Very accommodating staff (friendly). Good comprehensive kitchen. Great get-away from Auckland. Upgrading of tired rooms in place which will be good for property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We needed a motel at the last minute. We travel with our dog so we usually book well ahead. The Colonial welcomed us warmly, including dog. We had a spacious 1 bedroom unit with kitchenette. Decor was a little dated, however, everything was spotless. Free continental breakfast provided for those who eat breakfast. This will be where we stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Absolutely dreadful experience! Bedding and towels were worn thin and grey NOT white! (My floor cleaning cloths are better than their towels! Room dowdy, shabby worn furniture and very small considering it was suppose to be a double room..... The room had a table the size of child's school desk and chair so we had to sit on the bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my girlfriend were sent out from the room by a man (I suppose the husband of the lady at the desk, maybe the owners) because we were 10 minutes later than the check-out time that was at 10 am. That man shouted against my girlfriend in an aggressive way and so my girlfriend was very scared of that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A somewhat unconventional motel (structurally) with some fairly tired facilities - but priced accordingly, so if you know what you are going to, you should get good value. Owners are helpful and friendly, wifi works well, plenty of TV channels and great free breakfasts. Offsetting that the décor is a bit worn, and in our room (area) the electric circuits... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was a little wary on viewing the "old" building but our overnight stay in unit 8 was very comfortable. The unit was very clean with comfortable chairs and bed and a modern bathroom with a good pressure shower-the free continental breakfast was very nicely presented and brought to our room in the evening so we could chose what time to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taumarunui
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A lovely motel that was well worth it for $100 per night with a free breakfast, rooms are very clean, and well presented. It is close to town but very quiet. The service was great and they were very polite and helpful. The property offers conference options and catering. Would recommend to anyone as suiteable to families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked this hotel the morning of the day we would arrive on www.booking.com. During booking the stay, I never noticed anything on the site about arrival time. I was unable to get Internet or phone service after booking, so I didn't get to view my confirmation email and I never visited the hotel's actual website. We arrived late to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My warning to people is not to book this accommodation, worst experience we ever had. Booked through a website then found out they were overcharging us, when we asked the question, they got very offensive, not a good way to treat your guest. Wasn't happy with their attitude as been in many hotels and motels in my lifetime this one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Colonial City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial City Motel

Address: 23 Thackeray St., Hamilton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hamilton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great bit of old world charm in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colonial City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.