We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quest on Ward

#11 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
42-47 Ward Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Ward
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quest on Ward
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    46
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
25
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Two of us (both women) arrived at 9.30pm in the freezing cold and had to ask to be let in through an intercom system. There were 3 men drinking on the ground beside the door and the 'voice' through the intercom asked for our full names, where the car was parked and gave the code to get into the security... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Kenneth - Assistant Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear Tricia. Thank you for taking your time to write a review for Quest on Ward. I am sorry to hear about the 3 men you have mentioned in your review. I understand your concern regarding safety and we have reported these people you mentioned to the City Safe patrol in Hamilton who patrol the streets after-hours. As for your... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

When I stayed at this hotel, I had not long written a review (Little America, Flagstaff) and said how disappointed I was when the hotel did not make an effort to contact me when I had left something behind. At Quest on Ward I experienced just the opposite and it was appreciated. Not too long after checking out I received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Kenneth M. - Assistant Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear Murray H. Thank you for writing a review to us and for choosing Quest on Ward! I am glad that you have enjoyed your 1 night stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future and maybe even for a longer stay. Again, thank you for taking your time to write a review. See you next... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Whilst the hosts were very helpful this apartment was noisy, small and needs a renovation. The bed was uncomfortable, air conditioning from the lounge did not go through to the bedroom yet you couldn't keep windows open because of the noise from the streets below in the early hours of the morning. Dirty towels were left in the bottom of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Lovely staff, clean and tidy. Excellent after hours service, handy to town and everything you need. Would stay again, only thing we would stay two nights to get the full benefit and value for money and maybe rest staying the next floor up. We had room 119 on level one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear King0903. We enjoyed having you visit Hamilton and thank you for choosing Quest on Ward. 1 night is definitely not enough for a break away as there is lots to do in our area. Victoria Street South has great places to dine at night and the wonderful Browser's Books is open until 9 pm. I hope you enjoyed one... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Quest on Ward is well located and also well equipped. The standout for us was the great service from the Manager on duty. You don't necessarily expect an apartment hotel to have a high service level but the manager couldn't have done any more to help. We did find the hotel extremely difficult to find as Ward Street is split... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear Chris. We really enjoyed your visit recently and so glad you found us! Ward Street has been cut in half by the wonderful new Centre Place Mall which still seems to confuse the car navigator systems, so it is best to drive in from the Victoria Street side. We are next to the Starbucks and parking is behind us... More 

New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Self sufficient apartments centrally located in Hamilton city. Shopping Stores – K Mart and The Warehouse (Walking distance) Grocery Super Market- ( Countdown and Pak n Save – about 1.5 km) All major restaurants –(Hood St. , Victoria St. and Alexander St.– Walking distance) Subway – across the road Burger King and Pita Pit – Walking distance Best Value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear acute_traveller_39. It seems you explored all the shops, restaurants, boutiques and Malls surrounding us. We are happy to see you loved our location in the heart of the city and enjoyed your stay with us. With day light saving time at the moment, magic evening walks along the river or around the lake really add a lovely end to... More 

Coromandel Valley, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Even with a GPS it is hard to find and we were lucky to get a park outside. They have their own car park but it is too far to carry your bags. The room was nice with a view of the car park. But such friendly service made it worth while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear eBigAl250. It is great you found Quest on Ward for your Hamilton stop over and we thank you for your review. Ward Street is cut in half by the Centre Place Mall which means the best approach is from Victoria Street side and there we are, next to Starbucks! We enjoyed your visit and hope to be of service... More 

Wellington NZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We (4 adults) found ourselves travelling to Hamilton at short notice, and during the Christmas Holiday time and chose the Quest guided by the TA comments and were not disappointed! There was a minor issue with our booking but we were impressed with the way Robert, the manager showed us the various options and found something that suited us. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear Drurolnz. We were happy to be of service last week for your visit to sunny Hamilton. Now you have found Hamilton's best location we look forward to seeing you return again as one of the many members of the Quest on Ward extended family. Next time you may get time to explore Browser's Books in Victoria Street with a... More 

Levin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Quest on Ward was an excellent choice for a recent 4 day business stay in Hamilton. An ideal central CBD location, very comfortable, well appointed and spacious apartments; reliable wi-fi; easy access to good cafes; and outstanding service from staff. I've stayed elsewhere in Hamilton on other business trips, but Quest on Ward is by far the best all-round value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear MWG_NZ. Wonderful to see you enjoyed your stay with us supporting your busy few days in Hamilton. Levin is not so far away so we look forward to welcoming you back again when you next need the central CBD accommodation at Quest on Ward. warm regards Robert and Chern More 

Taranaki Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

What a great location if you want restaurants and shopping on tap. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room had everything you could need although the couch was a little uncomfortable after a while. Bed was very comfy. And very quiet considering it is located in the middle of the CBD.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear caley66. Thank you for choosing Quest on Ward once again. We enjoyed having you visit with us last week and it is great to see you enjoyed our most central location. With the Mall surrounding us and loads of cafes so close by, it is easy to leave the car and wander around. Did you try the Milk and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay