We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quest on Ward

#11 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
42-47 Ward Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Ward
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quest on Ward
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    48
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
25
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Working on a project in Hamilton Quest on Ward became my 2nd home. Robert is an amazing host, he really would go out of his way to make sure my stays were always comfortable and the rooms were always spotless. I have stayed in rooms on all floors and have been in Studios and 1 bedroom apartments. For a single... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Kenneth M. - Assistant Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear talulah32. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us! I'm very glad to hear that we have been like a 2nd home for you. Robert and the rest of us in the team have enjoyed having you here as our regular and will definitely miss having you around. Hopefully we will see you again some... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
349 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Such a pleasure to have large, clean, well furnished and appointed rooms right in the centre of town. We struggle to find even a scungy place during Fieldays; Quest saved us this year. Right next to Starbucks in the middle of the night action in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Kenneth M. - Assistant Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear David T. Thank you for taking your time to write a review about us! I am very pleased to here that we could help make your Hamilton trip a better one. It is always nice to know when you have made a positive impact on someone's stay. Hopefully we will see you again some time soon. Once again, thank... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Two of us (both women) arrived at 9.30pm in the freezing cold and had to ask to be let in through an intercom system. There were 3 men drinking on the ground beside the door and the 'voice' through the intercom asked for our full names, where the car was parked and gave the code to get into the security... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Kenneth - Assistant Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear Tricia. Thank you for taking your time to write a review for Quest on Ward. I am sorry to hear about the 3 men you have mentioned in your review. I understand your concern regarding safety and we have reported these people you mentioned to the City Safe patrol in Hamilton who patrol the streets after-hours. As for your... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

When I stayed at this hotel, I had not long written a review (Little America, Flagstaff) and said how disappointed I was when the hotel did not make an effort to contact me when I had left something behind. At Quest on Ward I experienced just the opposite and it was appreciated. Not too long after checking out I received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Kenneth M. - Assistant Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear Murray H. Thank you for writing a review to us and for choosing Quest on Ward! I am glad that you have enjoyed your 1 night stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future and maybe even for a longer stay. Again, thank you for taking your time to write a review. See you next... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Whilst the hosts were very helpful this apartment was noisy, small and needs a renovation. The bed was uncomfortable, air conditioning from the lounge did not go through to the bedroom yet you couldn't keep windows open because of the noise from the streets below in the early hours of the morning. Dirty towels were left in the bottom of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Lovely staff, clean and tidy. Excellent after hours service, handy to town and everything you need. Would stay again, only thing we would stay two nights to get the full benefit and value for money and maybe rest staying the next floor up. We had room 119 on level one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear King0903. We enjoyed having you visit Hamilton and thank you for choosing Quest on Ward. 1 night is definitely not enough for a break away as there is lots to do in our area. Victoria Street South has great places to dine at night and the wonderful Browser's Books is open until 9 pm. I hope you enjoyed one... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Quest on Ward is well located and also well equipped. The standout for us was the great service from the Manager on duty. You don't necessarily expect an apartment hotel to have a high service level but the manager couldn't have done any more to help. We did find the hotel extremely difficult to find as Ward Street is split... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear Chris. We really enjoyed your visit recently and so glad you found us! Ward Street has been cut in half by the wonderful new Centre Place Mall which still seems to confuse the car navigator systems, so it is best to drive in from the Victoria Street side. We are next to the Starbucks and parking is behind us... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Self sufficient apartments centrally located in Hamilton city. Shopping Stores – K Mart and The Warehouse (Walking distance) Grocery Super Market- ( Countdown and Pak n Save – about 1.5 km) All major restaurants –(Hood St. , Victoria St. and Alexander St.– Walking distance) Subway – across the road Burger King and Pita Pit – Walking distance Best Value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear acute_traveller_39. It seems you explored all the shops, restaurants, boutiques and Malls surrounding us. We are happy to see you loved our location in the heart of the city and enjoyed your stay with us. With day light saving time at the moment, magic evening walks along the river or around the lake really add a lovely end to... More 

Coromandel Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Even with a GPS it is hard to find and we were lucky to get a park outside. They have their own car park but it is too far to carry your bags. The room was nice with a view of the car park. But such friendly service made it worth while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear eBigAl250. It is great you found Quest on Ward for your Hamilton stop over and we thank you for your review. Ward Street is cut in half by the Centre Place Mall which means the best approach is from Victoria Street side and there we are, next to Starbucks! We enjoyed your visit and hope to be of service... More 

Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We (4 adults) found ourselves travelling to Hamilton at short notice, and during the Christmas Holiday time and chose the Quest guided by the TA comments and were not disappointed! There was a minor issue with our booking but we were impressed with the way Robert, the manager showed us the various options and found something that suited us. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert H, Manager at Quest on Ward, responded to this review

Dear Drurolnz. We were happy to be of service last week for your visit to sunny Hamilton. Now you have found Hamilton's best location we look forward to seeing you return again as one of the many members of the Quest on Ward extended family. Next time you may get time to explore Browser's Books in Victoria Street with a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#13 of 63 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#20 of 63 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quality Hotel Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#4 of 63 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#9 of 63 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay