We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Hotel website
5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    23
    88
    69
    36
    20
See reviews for
43
133
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a clean motel with reasonable facilities, love the cookware but taps are inconvenient to use (hot and cold water taps are separate). There are no wifi and it's actually another hour drive to the East Cape lighthouse so unless you can get up at like 4:30 - 5am to drive up there. However there are no better off options... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to split our travel around the east cape and this is about the only well placed stopover point. The view is pretty nice and the units are quaint and clean, however the whole place seems to be in a little time warp, I don't think things have changed in 25 yrs, from the bathrooms to the shrine to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hick's Bay is a good middle point to stop for the night. Unfortunately, there is no other accommodation here. We had a two bedroom unit for $195 for 1 night for the 4 of us. It was very basic with fantastic views. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom and toilet was rather cramped and old. The stove works on gas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Gisborne hotels

Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
68 hotel reviews
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelling State Highway 35, aka Pacific Coast Highway, from Opotiki to Gisborne, and meandering along this spectacular coastline, Hicks Bay Motel provides a convenient bed for the night. We chose to stay 2 nights as we wanted to explore this area. "The East Coast is one of the last parts of the country where visitors can see and interact with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbys England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We have stayed in many many motels in NZ, Canada and USA and this was by far the worst.The accommodation was like going back to the 1950's, but not in a good way. To begin, the kettle would not boil while the fridge was switched on, the bedroom door would only open to 45deg because the bed was in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you were so unhappy. There are a lot of other places to stay while traveling The Pacific Coast Highway, so please check them out. Our 12 motels have a three star Qualmark rating and the layout of the rooms are small. I would suggest to future clients to read this comment carefully. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We had a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. There is not much choice for accommodation on the East Cape on your way to the lighthouse but we were very happy with the cleanliness and comfort of the room. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. We ate at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

As other reviewers have already stated, this accommodation is basic and overpriced, but has a great view and is a convenient midway stay on the Opotiki to Gisborne trip. We stayed in a bay view cabin which from the outside looks like the kind of utilitarian building that may remind you of a school camp dorm room. Once inside, however,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

It's pretty much the only place to eat in the area so choice was not an option. The meal seemed to be basically a case of straight from the freezer to the microwave and was very disappointing. Certainly not worth the money. It was noticeable how much food was left on the plates that were being collected so clearly we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The Te Araroa Motor Camp has takeaways and there is also food in Te Araroa. Im not sure where you were staying? On occasion we have our days in the Restaurant. A lot of our items are frozen and make no mistake it is the only way we can operate being so isolated. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

This is the only place to stay in Hicks Bay, old 60ths furnishing with musty odou, old mixed China car boot style. We didn't want to get into bed as hair in sheet & dead fly on spare bed. Depressing place restaurant grade D. Our overseas guest said after travelling around NZ this was the worst place they stayed at.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry you were unhappy. Gee if this was your second stay in four years why did you return? We are three stars and want future guests to know this. I just had an industry inspector in Room 12. She did not have the same opinion as you. Sorry again you did not like room 12. Hicks Bay is not... More 

Burton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Hicks Bay is a great place to stop over especially if you intend to do the 40 minute drive out to the East Cape lighthouse and then climb the 750 steps for fab views. The room we had was clean and tidy, comfortable bed with good linens. The price is a bit high but there is no competition. Tea &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay