We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Hotel website
5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    87
    67
    35
    20
See reviews for
43
131
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
Derbys England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in many many motels in NZ, Canada and USA and this was by far the worst.The accommodation was like going back to the 1950's, but not in a good way. To begin, the kettle would not boil while the fridge was switched on, the bedroom door would only open to 45deg because the bed was in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you were so unhappy. There are a lot of other places to stay while traveling The Pacific Coast Highway, so please check them out. Our 12 motels have a three star Qualmark rating and the layout of the rooms are small. I would suggest to future clients to read this comment carefully. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a most comfortable and enjoyable stay. There is not much choice for accommodation on the East Cape on your way to the lighthouse but we were very happy with the cleanliness and comfort of the room. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. We ate at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As other reviewers have already stated, this accommodation is basic and overpriced, but has a great view and is a convenient midway stay on the Opotiki to Gisborne trip. We stayed in a bay view cabin which from the outside looks like the kind of utilitarian building that may remind you of a school camp dorm room. Once inside, however,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's pretty much the only place to eat in the area so choice was not an option. The meal seemed to be basically a case of straight from the freezer to the microwave and was very disappointing. Certainly not worth the money. It was noticeable how much food was left on the plates that were being collected so clearly we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The Te Araroa Motor Camp has takeaways and there is also food in Te Araroa. Im not sure where you were staying? On occasion we have our days in the Restaurant. A lot of our items are frozen and make no mistake it is the only way we can operate being so isolated. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

This is the only place to stay in Hicks Bay, old 60ths furnishing with musty odou, old mixed China car boot style. We didn't want to get into bed as hair in sheet & dead fly on spare bed. Depressing place restaurant grade D. Our overseas guest said after travelling around NZ this was the worst place they stayed at.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

So sorry you were unhappy. Gee if this was your second stay in four years why did you return? We are three stars and want future guests to know this. I just had an industry inspector in Room 12. She did not have the same opinion as you. Sorry again you did not like room 12. Hicks Bay is not... More 

Burton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Hicks Bay is a great place to stop over especially if you intend to do the 40 minute drive out to the East Cape lighthouse and then climb the 750 steps for fab views. The room we had was clean and tidy, comfortable bed with good linens. The price is a bit high but there is no competition. Tea &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Had a very good night there. Lovely high quality beds and linen. They have modernised 1960's style accommodation and done it well. Good price too and nice people. Meal a bit too big and a bit plain. Go down the gully and visit the glow worms. Wild and beautiful East Cape is a special trip. Brenda and Keith.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Whilst this property has been around awhile it has been maintained to a good standard and our room was freshly painted and comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant which had a basic menu but the food was tasty and plenty of it. There is a nice walking track down through the bush covered cliff to the lovely Onepoto Bay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Although our night at this hotel was probably the least enjoyable of our three weeks in New Zealand, some of this was down to personal preference rather than the hotel itself. The hotel owner and restaurant staff were very friendly, but in truth we felt that the restaurant prices were slightly too high for the level of food and service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Amazing view over the bay and really friendly staff Pros: - good views - restaurant on site - wifi (although can only use in dining area) - tidy room - tea making facilities in room - fridge in room - TV - towels provided - large room with a double and a single bed Things to know: - dated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question