We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Senator Motor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
2 Childers Road, Gisborne 4010 , New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Senator Motor Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Senator Motor Inn
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
54
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The minutes we stepped into the motel's room, my friend and me were surprised! We booked this motel the last minute before the easter holiday, so we didn't put much faith into it, we thought as least we got someplace to crush in! This motel is definately worthy of 5 star motel title!

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sorry I can't review this place, couldn't get past the grumpy reception. Gave it a miss, went round the corner! Who wants to have an old grump as a host? There is nothing worse after a 7 hour drive than stumbling into a place you think looks half decent only to be given attitude as soon as you open the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel you were treated badly. As you will see from previous reviews it is not our policy to appear grumpy and rude, and in fact we are very caring helpful people that will go the extra mile for our customers. We do our very best to give all our customers the professional courteous service they deserve.... More 

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly owner who made us so welcome and prepared us with an excellent booklet for our drive round the cape.Lovely outlook on marina and it was so handy to the north rd to go round cape too.Plenty of restaurants etc too handy.Unfortunately rained but felt the area needed it.free wifi great too

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

So very glad you enjoyed your stay, and were able to use the information given. Look forward to your next visit. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I booked this by phone mainly because the lady I spoke to was so friendly and accommodating .We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived nice clean unit and lovely views of the harbour.And the bed has this amazing soft toppa pad it was lovely We loved the openness to the street and river ..felt like we had a little gisborne... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay, and our very comfortable beds. We look forward to your next visit. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We chose Senator because of the high ratings and there are a few good things about it: clean rooms, proximity into the town centre. There are a couple of small negatives: the outside area to the ground floor room was too close to the footpath (Lack of privacy) and there was a bit too much noise from the lively restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. All our rooms are fitted with net curtains and drapes for your privacy. Although we do find guests who love the interaction with passers by, nets do provide privacy should you prefer. Being situated close to the Harbour does mean on occasion we can get interruptions. More 

Hawkes Bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Have stayed at Senator many times. Always had upstairs room. Large units with with basic cooking facilities. Plenty of restaurants close by. Very clean and owners make you feel very welcome, nothing is too much of a problem. Bathroom well appointed, but toilet in an odd position behind bathroom door. We also stay here when visiting Gisborne

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

So very glad your enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to tell others of your great experience. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Very clean and spacious unit on upper level. Walking distance to shops and many restaurants. Compact kitchen very convenient. Large balcony has a wonderful view of the marina, logging harbour and river.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed our central location and wonderful views. The Harbour is ever changing and always interesting to view More 

Preston, Lancashire
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
187 hotel reviews
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Nice location with good views of the marina which can be enjoyed from a spacious balcony. Kitchen is only equipped with a microwave so self catering is a little more restrictive but there were a good selection of utensils and plates/cups/glasses. Bedroom and bathroom both huge. There isn’t a great deal of furniture in the room but there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review our motel. Our rooms are kept clutter free so as our customers have plenty of room for themselves. We do have a fry pan that is available from reception should you require it. Glad you enjoyed our very central location and our wonderful views. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Nice motel overlooking the river in the centre of Gisborne. We had a studio on the upper floor and it was very clean and spacious with an outside balcony and a very large bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is brought in from a nearby cafe or you could just walk there (2 minutes walk). The owners were very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Very glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our wonderful ever changing views from your private balcony. More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I booked this online and was very happy with our room, which overlooked the river and fishing club on the far side. As the motel runs alongside the road, there is no privacy though, and sitting on the patio, the public were walking past looking at you and hearing conversations from only 2 feet away. The other disappointment was cigarette... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed our lovely spacious rooms and our very central location. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities