We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Senator Motor Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
2 Childers Road, Gisborne 4010 , New Zealand
Special Offer
Speacial Weekend Offers!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Senator Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    72
    31
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
58
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Staff were all incredibly friendly. The room was huge, and very clean. Obviously had bathroom 'done' recently. Lovely first floor view over the harbour from great balcony. Catering facilities limited to microwave - not an issue for our stay but worth bearing in mind if waiting to cook 'at home' and planning on being at hotel for a longer stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay here two weeks ago. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Great views from the rooms over the Gisborne harbour.. lovely to wake up to. Very convenient as it is walking distance to excellent cafes, restaurants and the beach walkway. Welcoming, friendly service. Highly recommend this motor inn and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Very glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

A great location, views are stunning. Large room and bathroom all very clean, only thing was the bed could have done with being replaced. Very soft, no support, could see it as soon as we arrived as the bed took a dip under the quilt on both side like two bodies were still in it. Which was shame. Highly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We have a very soft toppa comforter fitted to all our beds, which do make the bed snuggly and soft and most of our customers really enjoy it. However they are removable so when you stay again just ask and we can remove it for you. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

We were Pleasantly surprised right from the beginning .. very spacious room with balcony.. Very clean and had Super comfy bed & friendly service throughout our stay. This place has all you need and more. We will be back to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to your next visit. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

The minutes we stepped into the motel's room, my friend and me were surprised! We booked this motel the last minute before the easter holiday, so we didn't put much faith into it, we thought as least we got someplace to crush in! This motel is definately worthy of 5 star motel title!

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Sorry I can't review this place, couldn't get past the grumpy reception. Gave it a miss, went round the corner! Who wants to have an old grump as a host? There is nothing worse after a 7 hour drive than stumbling into a place you think looks half decent only to be given attitude as soon as you open the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you feel you were treated badly. As you will see from previous reviews it is not our policy to appear grumpy and rude, and in fact we are very caring helpful people that will go the extra mile for our customers. We do our very best to give all our customers the professional courteous service they deserve.... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Friendly owner who made us so welcome and prepared us with an excellent booklet for our drive round the cape.Lovely outlook on marina and it was so handy to the north rd to go round cape too.Plenty of restaurants etc too handy.Unfortunately rained but felt the area needed it.free wifi great too

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

So very glad you enjoyed your stay, and were able to use the information given. Look forward to your next visit. More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I booked this by phone mainly because the lady I spoke to was so friendly and accommodating .We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived nice clean unit and lovely views of the harbour.And the bed has this amazing soft toppa pad it was lovely We loved the openness to the street and river ..felt like we had a little gisborne... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay, and our very comfortable beds. We look forward to your next visit. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We chose Senator because of the high ratings and there are a few good things about it: clean rooms, proximity into the town centre. There are a couple of small negatives: the outside area to the ground floor room was too close to the footpath (Lack of privacy) and there was a bit too much noise from the lively restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. All our rooms are fitted with net curtains and drapes for your privacy. Although we do find guests who love the interaction with passers by, nets do provide privacy should you prefer. Being situated close to the Harbour does mean on occasion we can get interruptions. More 

Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Have stayed at Senator many times. Always had upstairs room. Large units with with basic cooking facilities. Plenty of restaurants close by. Very clean and owners make you feel very welcome, nothing is too much of a problem. Bathroom well appointed, but toilet in an odd position behind bathroom door. We also stay here when visiting Gisborne

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
smgltd, Manager at Senator Motor Inn, responded to this review

So very glad your enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to tell others of your great experience. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.2 mi away
Portside Hotel
Portside Hotel
#9 of 26 in Gisborne
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Emerald & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Teal Motor Lodge
Teal Motor Lodge
#11 of 26 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#15 of 26 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.0 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 26 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
2.5 mi away
Champers Motor Lodge
Champers Motor Lodge
#3 of 26 in Gisborne
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay